Oh? Jamaica face Olympic expulsion

No problem with this whistleblower's revelations...but for context she should have stated that:

1. Jamaica is in a severe financial crisis and money is almost not available for such things as a vast testing program

2. Jamaica does not have a culture supportive of PEDs (if she believes that to be true)

From Willi's site:

maroon
      here is my list of action items. this shld be easy to fix.
      Thu Aug 22, 2013 08:04

suspected. there isn't much to address. a lot of it is historical and has already been fixed or cannot be undone.

1. non-independent board -- fixed.

2. dr. elliott -- probably shld be fired. the friction appears to have been btw them.

3. dr, elliot non-discloure of ooc testing numbers. we now have that info.

4.number of ooc tests leading up to london. very misleading -- she focused on 3 months leading up to london. numbers not provided for october-december 2011. isn't that when conte says athletes are doping heavily? also, she fails to note 15 ooc tests in february 2012, which again is when you would want to do ooc, not a month before olympics. plus, most athletes are in europe june, july so jadco can't test them. the issue here for the pm will be to look at the numbers for fall 2012 and earlier this year. are they ok? is jadco filling in the gaps? no need to waste resources doing ooc tests on athletes already on iaaf list. what is plan for upcoming season?

5. staffing/budgetary issues. (a) she describes what she found when she got there, but no mention is made of whether staff was obtained. they have a $600,000 overall budget. what are they spending it on?
      (b) whereabouts officer. this doesn't have to be a full time job, but they should just fill this position.
      (c) committee to review athlete prescriptions -- i assume theapuetic use exemptions? this sounds like a per-diem type committee so should not be expensive.

(d)other staff -- doesn't seem like there is any need for more than whats there (doping technician and education junior staff only. ) sounds like she wanted a huge fiefdom, lol. those people are probably twiddling their thumbs most of the time anyway. obviously need accounting staff -- but for such a small org, no more than one person -- could be a combination office manager/account type. surely this has been remedied by now.

6. follow up on memo accusations. when i first read this i didn't pick up on the juxtaposition of that with the recent positive tests. now that i see it, i had to put it in the category of misdirection. she was basically suggesting that she told them to follow up on memo, they didn't and see what happened, asafa tested positive. what a woman wicked, lol? among other things, as dentycracker pointed out on the other forum, stimulants are ok out of competition. anyway, i still think that her underlying point is not unreasonable -- chase down rumors. it might be as simple as putting a suspicious athlete on the targeted testing list. or (and this is where money comes in) subject them to the more expensive blood testing and carbon isotope testing if you have credible evidence. also, she could share/get info from sister agencies in other countries. but none of this requires input from the sports minister. she had the power to do it herself.

7. athletes purchasing supplements on the internet. i don't get this at all. why does she need input from cabinet? it was her job to educate the athletes! she needed permission from the minister to send e-mails?

8. dr. elliott says anti-doping is sufficient. she does not dispute this in the article. she just says that he shouldn't be making such grand statements. she of course ignores her letter to the editor defending jadco's testing record and says they undereported to wada. lol.

summary, there aren't a lot of action items here and some of them have already been done. 1. beef up the ooc program -- status unknown. 2. hire necessary staff (whereabouts and office manager) -- status unknown. 3. organize prescription review committee -- status unknown. 4. beef up athlete education -- this does not need to be expensive and i recall seeing a huge allocation in the budget for it. most of that money can be redeployed to other areas. 5. not on her list, but they need a functioning website -- a facebook page is not a substitute for a website. 6. review status of dr. elliott and dr. wright. 7. develop strategy for following up on suspicious athletes. 8. not mentioned, but need to beef up ic doping. 9. drop proposal to test high school athletes as a matter of course
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No problem with this whistleblower's revelations...but for context she should have stated that:

1. Jamaica is in a severe financial crisis and money is almost not available for such things as a vast testing program

2. Jamaica does not have a culture supportive of PEDs (if she believes that to be true)
        Weeeelllll....

1. Jamaica's delegation to the Olympics last year costed north of 120K. That could have paid for over 200 tests!? We did none!?

2. We don't really know if Jamaica has a culture of PEDs. Not enough testing...

Huh?

The money for Olys is not all from Guvernment!

The Budget in 2011 was JA$6m (US$60O)and in 2012 it was $63m ($USD630k). That means a 10fold increase. Macky posted the link to the GOJ budget on the CTFF and pointed us to page 22.

Over the sam period, when Anne S took over, testing only increased 100%, ie double. So what she do with the money, set up fancy office, drive big cyar and ting?

Jamaica has been specially monitored and tested by the iaaf of years and we dont see any culture of Peds.

What di pickney dem a dope too? We just mash up world yute games, is PEDs do that?

Comment, you a senior man inna di Trax game, come better than that.

Don1, I have MAJOR problems with the SI article when she a try link Bolt with Memo (the convicted PED Peddler) saying that him bredrin was Bolt's weights trainer. Dyam lie that has been disproven on line long ago. Agein she allow them to link stimulants to some culture of hard drugs, forgetting that every major bust of a Jakan has been done in competition in Jamaica!! We nuh hide result nor delay them like America.

Some will eat and drink with you...

Originally posted by Comment View Post
              Weeeelllll....

1. Jamaica's delegation to the Olympics last year costed north of 120K. That could have paid for over 200 tests!? We did none!?

2. We don't really know if Jamaica has a culture of PEDs. Not enough testing...
              1. So Jamaica chose to spend its money on competition rather than a vast test program. That may not be the best decision but I can understand it

2. There is no "culture of support" for PEDs in Jamaica. If yuh nuh know dat by now mi cyaan help yuh

Huh?

The Budget in 2011 was JA$6m (US$60O)and in 2012 it was $63m ($USD630k). That means a 10fold increase. Macky posted the link to the GOJ budget on the CTFF and pointed us to page 22.

Over the sam period, when Anne S took over, testing only increased 100%, ie double. So what she do with the money, set up fancy office, drive big cyar and ting?

Jamaica has been specially monitored and tested by the iaaf of years and we dont see any culture of Peds.

What di pickney dem a dope too? We just mash up world yute games, is PEDs do that?

Don1, I have MAJOR problems with the SI article when she a try link Bolt with Memo (the convicted PED Peddler) saying that him bredrin was Bolt's weights trainer. Dyam lie that has been disproven on line long ago. Agein she allow them to link stimulants to some culture of hard drugs, forgetting that every major bust of a Jakan has been done in competition in Jamaica!! We nuh hide result nor delay them like America.
                Haven't read the article but dat sound bad puppa

Another one Willi ? Fortune 500 ? ...aah sah , yuh ave Ben , Miss-torian, now dis bredda ..Fortune 500...lol....Claim to be experts now seniors .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Huh?

a not quarreling gentlemen. a not quarreling...

and I don't believe we have a PEDs culture but...

I only make the point to say that we have to be VERY serious about a testing program. FAR more serious than we are being now. It cannot be that leading up to the most important Olympics in almost 20 years, with the strength of our team and the plethora of high profile superstars therein, our local authority conducted NO (!!??) out of competition tests... if that bizarre and unbelievable statement is even true! I don't believe lack of funds was a serious reason. It was not. It was ineptitude, extremely bad management and incompetence, born of a lack of will.

It has to change. We can find the money...just as we found the millions for travel...

It will be money well spent...

Originally posted by Comment View Post
                      a not quarreling gentlemen. a not quarreling...

and I don't believe we have a PEDs culture but...

I only make the point to say that we have to be VERY serious about a testing program. FAR more serious than we are being now. It cannot be that leading up to the most important Olympics in almost 20 years, with the strength of our team and the plethora of high profile superstars therein, our local authority conducted NO (!!??) out of competition tests... if that bizarre and unbelievable statement is even true! I don't believe lack of funds was a serious reason. It was not. It was ineptitude, extremely bad management and incompetence, born of a lack of will.

It has to change. We can find the money...just as we found the millions for travel...

It will be money well spent...
                      true ting

...so the jokers cussing of Anne Shirley has stopped and the work at creating a professionally run excellent JADCO has started? Right?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/oth...-failings.html

How dare WADA!!!! How many "adverse findings" of USA professional athletes are made public? What say Germany or Russia? They have strength for likkle Jamaica because we have crabs who are willing to disgrace and bring down our country to advance in their public lives. Ann Shirley is an ex-employee, and as such her comments and views should be taken with a grain of salt until proven. This WADA clown should not be talking to any media house and issuing threats based on a magazine article that has not been investigated. That is the heights of their arrogance and disrespect. I don't see WADA threatening to shut down the MLB or communicating with President Obama about flagrant use of PED's in US professional sports.

JADCO needs to get their act together and fast. However, people like Ann Shirley and Dr. Paul Wright are loose canons who shoot from their lips. I guess money needs to be earmarked in the national budget for drug testing in Jamaica. WADA should just come set up a lab in Jamaica and end all arguments.

http://www.runnersworld.com/elite-ru...nned-for-kenya
                          Why would you believe that WADA would not be privy to *'our testing' and the results?

*stats generated by same?
                          btw - Who do we report to on our anti-doping testing operations?
                          Just ourselves?

I agree they should be investigated, and we do have a culture attacking the messenger instead of addressing the message.

However this does come across as bullying by WADA. Whose athletes will be expelled from the Tour De France for the next 10 years for the systematic doping they were unable to detect for an extended period?
                            Were corrective measures taken and same declared or increased transparency on anti-doping oversight and testing?

Just asking as the answer may determine or tell why expulsion or no?

Check Anne Shirley's statements...that may just shed some light on the matter.
                              ...as with FIFA you can receive a 'green light' one year and the very next there are some slips or you fail to follow through on/along stated path and you are suddenly afoul of the controlling body.

Anne Shirley laid out easily understood path she wished to follow and claimed they were not. Perhaps WADA thinks she was on the right track????

Video - Anne Shirley

http://www.televisionjamaica.com/Pro...x/Videos/28716