Javon 'Donkey Man' Francis gallops

• Javon 'Donkey Man' Francis gallops

If you don't believe that our forums are read by reporters and that what we say here can effect changes....then think again.

Javon 'Donkey Man' Francis gallops into imagination of track & field world

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

As part of the intriguing culture of Jamaica, nicknames, or aliases, come aplenty. Some of them are vulgar, offensive, cute, weird, interesting and some simply don't make sense at all.
    But most, if not all nicknames, have stories behind them.

Javon Francis

1/1

Javon Francis, the 18-year-old who by sheer guts galloped like an equine thoroughbred on the final leg to give Jamaica silver on the line of the men's 4X400m relay at the 14th IAAF World Championships, has a nickname that in a sense defines his amazing performance.
    With a relay split of 44.00 seconds, Francis, also known as 'Donkey Man', announced himself not only to Jamaica but to the world.
    And his nickname, 'Donkey Man', is sure to become as famous over time as his christened names and his World Championships exploits.
    People will no doubt recall how this youngster propelled Jamaica from fifth to second spot with a burst of speed, then showed unbelievable courage to hang on for the silver medal under extreme pressure from the renewed challenge of the Russian runner who was being cheered on by his compatriots.
    They will also recall that it was 'Donkey Man' from the impoverished settlement in Bull Bay called 'Bobo Hill' who lit up the Luzhniki Stadium, demonstrating the spirit of competition like few others at the games.
    But how did this talented youngster get his name nickname?
    According to Francis, he was given the nickname while attending St Benedict's Primary School by his then football coach, who said he resembled someone called 'Donkey'.
    But the name really didn't stick with him and only got popular while he was going through intense preparation for 'Champs' as a Class Two athlete for Calabar High School.
    One of his Calabar coaches told of an incident that was funny but which forever endeared Francis to his teammates and coaching staff.
    "We allowed a younger runner to run off seconds before him and told him to chase him," said the coach who wishes to remain anonymous. Francis failed to catch the youngster and when asked why not, Francis replied. "Him fast, sir."
    That youngster was no ordinary runner; it was one of the top Class Three athletes but Francis was told to catch him the next time.
    Again the same formula was used: The Class Three runner sprinted off in the distance and Francis chased him down and almost caught him.
    "How you don't catch him?" the question was asked again of Francis. "Mi a nuh donkey sir," a tired and irate Francis replied. From that day the name 'Donkey Man' never left him.
    Francis recalled two warnings from two of his coaches: "If you come in the kitchen you will get burn" and "if you want something your nose will have to run like river".
    Despite being extremely exhausted, Francis said he was offered a financial package if he could run the last 200m in 22 flat or 21 plus.
    "I said to myself, $400 could do me well and I could stop at Mother's (Patties) or anywhere. I was tired, but I ran the time like I wasn't even tired in 21 something," he remembered.
    But that coaching style has turned a talented youngster into a star who loves to chase, and not only has he done it once in recent times, he did it at the Penn Relays, chasing and catching none other than the super talented Delano Williams who just represented Great Britain in the 200m at the Moscow games.
    The stage was set at the 2013 Penn Relays as Munro College, being anchored by Williams, had a near 10-metre lead but Francis went into overdrive and surpassed Williams to secure an unlikely victory for Calabar High. He was timed at 44.8 on that leg.
    Then months later, he did it again, this time on the world stage, sweeping past not junior athletes, but the best in the world and has now etched his name into Jamaica's track and field folklore.
    "Now they want to call me Super Donkey," Francis told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2cckJ0HwE
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

*Historian is Holding His Head in Despair*

I’m suggesting once again that the rather silly and juvenile name “Donkey Man” should be dropped as soon as possible! Some things that seem funny within the borders of Jamaica just do not translate well on the international scene; in fact, the opposite -- embarrassment -- can result.

I cringe even as I play in my mind a picture of commentators like Peter Matthews or Steve Ovett or Katharine Merry or Tom Hammond talking about “There goes the Donkey Man” or “The Donkey Man is on pace with 200 meters to go.”

Certain things are fine within the cultural context of Jamaica, but have markedly different connotations in the wider world.

This hugely talented young man needs a nickname (that is, if one is necessary) that reflects his superstar status. Is this so hard for us to understand? We are now big players globally, at least in terms of the sprints, and our thinking should reflect this reality.

(Jamaicans, for example, did NOT assign the name “Lightning Bolt” to Usain, but this pun nickname is obviously appropriate, and translates well internationally.)

Well he is now "Super Donkey". So there you go...

And in lane 4 is the Super Donkey.....lol!

Mosiah and others don't think much of Yohans Beast antics, so can you imagine if somebody tell this youngster to bray like a donkey? Now THAT would be a sight to behold! Lol!

[B]
        One of his Calabar coaches told of an incident that was funny but which forever endeared Francis to his teammates and coaching staff.
        "We allowed a younger runner to run off seconds before him and told him to chase him," said the coach who wishes to remain anonymous. Francis failed to catch the youngster and when asked why not, Francis replied. "Him fast, sir."
        That youngster was no ordinary runner; it was one of the top Class Three athletes but Francis was told to catch him the next time.
        Again the same formula was used: The Class Three runner sprinted off in the distance and Francis chased him down and almost caught him.
        "How you don't catch him?" the question was asked again of Francis. "Mi a nuh donkey sir," a tired and irate Francis replied.

Well he is now "Super Donkey". So there you go...

And in lane 4 is the Super Donkey.....lol!

Mosiah and others don't think much of Yohans Beast antics, so can you imagine if somebody tell this youngster to bray like a donkey? Now THAT would be a sight to behold! Lol!
          I hated his finger nail gimmicks, yes, and the name was a contrived one. So this is a lot different, it seems than Donkey Man.

And trust mi, from now on, I know not the other name for Donkey Man!

DWL....OMG unuh too funny
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Nothing Funny About the Matter!!

DWL....OMG unuh too funny
              Trust me, there won’t always be anything funny about it. Read my post above again (the second post in this thread) and think a little bit about it.

It’s also a bit ridiculous for us to compare the name “The Beast” to the name “Donkey Man.” A name such as The Beast can sell an athlete. Personally speaking, while Yohan’s antics at the start of races are a bit ridiculous, his nickname suggests immense power, and it is definitely a marketable one! Same thing with “Lightning Bolt,” a name given to him by a foreign commentator, and which has stuck.

On the other hand, as far as the wider world is concerned, a donkey is another name for an a_ss, a creature with absolutely no prestige. It is a name that does not provide any connotation of respect whatsoever. Again, is this what we want for our budding superstar? Well, if we are okay with reading the UK Telegraph or the UK Guardian or the Trinidad Express and seeing headlines such as “Donkey Man Shatters Stadium Record,” then there is nothing else I guess I can say.

Some names are so juvenile that they should be left within the confines of the high school environment! I have a funny feeling that Javon will soon come to this realization as well.

But.... I strongly suspect we will revisit this topic in 2014 or 2015.

Nothing is wrong with "Donkey Man" unless you thinking something else. LOL.

We use to talk bout Donkey lengths in Ja, and also say "you strong like donkey". "donkey breath" used for long breath and also smell.

I would like to suggest to Donkey man to try not only the 400 but the 800 metre too.
                Last edited by Assasin; August 22, 2013, 09:46 AM.

I think the heading would be something more like:

"Donkey Man Gallops to New Record"

I think I come down more on your side on this one Historian. It doesn't distress me in quite the same way but I do agree with you that it is not the most flattering name.

Nicknames being what they are, you cannot totally shake them that easily though, especially locally. However you can work with it and try to put a positive spin on it. Even finding a way to use stallion instead of donkey would be a big improvement.

Maybe "Donkey Man" can set a trend and beat the negative stereotyping of Donkeys. It has been going on for too long. Donkey can run very fast and over long distances, plus carry heavy load.

My brethren would tell you that a Babylon work that(stereotyping of the donkey).
                    Last edited by Assasin; August 22, 2013, 09:59 AM.

remember ariel ortega who starred for argentina, boca juniors and ... some serie A team ... his nickname was "el burro" ..... not sure why .... but it was what it was ... should javoun re-invent himself as the einsten of 400m?

lightening bolt was a no brainer .... wallace spearmon also tried give usain the nickname "insane" .... i think that it is much ado about nothing and that any marketing campaign be used to presnt the name in a catchy way as opposed to calling him "TRFKADM" (the runner formerly known as donkey man)

thouroghbreds, dark horses and donkeys with ambition, ignore the donkey with ambition at your risk ... my bredrin was a **** genius!!

francis had no business running anchor in that race much less to perform as he did, after all him is a 18 year old high school yute

Nothing is wrong with "Donkey Man" unless you thinking something else. LOL.

We use to talk bout Donkey lengths in Ja, and also say "you strong like donkey". "donkey breath" used for long breath and also smell.

I would like to suggest to Donkey man to try not only the 400 but the 800 metre too.
                          There's nothing wrong with the name Donkey Man.... if he confines his career to Jamaica

Internationally the name will expose him to ridicule. Being the butt of Horse's Ass jokes does not translate well from a marketing perspective

Juss aks Ben

Something is indeed wrong with the name if you allow foreign dictates to dictate to you!

Thanks for pointing out, Gamma, that Ortega's nickname was el burro. Doubt if Argentine people had a problem with it. That's because they don't have an identity crisis as we do.

As for the nickname Lightning Bolt - is Historian serious!!? Given to Bolt by a foreigner? Jamaicans are to daft to have seen that relationship between a bolt of lightning and...give me a frikkin break!

I guess the Chinese should consider renaming they're years too. Who would be happy to have a child born in the year of the RAT!

what you call that child??? Ratty. LOL