Speed Gene Mumbo Jumbo

how they can determine its the fast twitch as opposed to the european/chiney/cooley mixed gene

Dis deserve its own thread....

Lol

Thanks Jangle. I am actually tired of hearing this genetic explanation as the chief reason for our success, we of all people shouldn't be propagating this tripe. This is Straight up racism talk locked inside what may seem to be a compliment, but it really is the opposite of a compliment it is a a straight up and direct insult to our inclination to develop ideas, invest in people, work hard, organize, set goals, measure results and overachieve which we have done in multiple fields outside of track and field.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            Thanks Jangle. I am actually tired of hearing this genetic explanation as the chief reason for our success, we of all people shouldn't be propagating this tripe. This is Straight up racism talk locked inside what may seem to be a compliment, but it really is the opposite of a compliment it is a a straight up and direct insult to our inclination to develop ideas, invest in people, work hard, organize, set goals, measure results and overachieve which we have done in multiple fields outside of track and field.
            Whoever said that?!?!?!

Relax, Stoni! The fast twitch theory is a much sounder one than your snow and discrimination one!

Mi did think a di soccer(football) gene wi born wid but these days we can't beat nobody.

When Viv, Holding, Lloyd and them did a play I was convince it was the cricket gene but now it seems like we need a genie fi win a game.

ah bwoy
              Good one!

Whoever said that?!?!?!

Relax, Stoni! The fast twitch theory is a much sounder one than your snow and discrimination one!
                Lol

I am not going to specifically call out anyone, but the evidence is all there in all the 'what makes Jamaicans great athletes' line of shows and all the people talking foolishness are all university trained and highly regarded in Jamaica. Enough on that. I know you all love the snow business and love to attribute that to me, however it comes full circle to the central concept of working harder than the rest and adapting to new conditions, two things Jamaicans excel at when crunch time comes. The ability to work hard through variable conditions is a bedrock yard principle.

Again if fast twitch is such a great theory why is it only Jamaicans having this kind of success, you mean Haiti can have exactly the same success if only they would focus on sprinting and track, Brazil and Nigeria should have the greatest sprinting success with the numbers they have, explain to me again why fast twitch accounts for Jamaican success over brazil , Nigeria, Ghana and Haiti.

Fast twitch theory is fools gold, no amount of fast twitch going to win no gold medal, everything come back to what you put into it, no magic business.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                    ...no amount of fast twitch going to win no gold medal, everything come back to what you put into it, no magic business.
                    On this we agree!

However...!

And that is the point. I have never heard anyone on this forum suggest that we could have had any of our success based on talent alone.

Stoni and others are arguing a point that we are not in disagreement with. But I am not going to subscribe to the "don't EVER mention genetics and sprinting the the same sentence" mindset. No way.

Stoni you're a puzzle on this one

..For a man who places much emphasis on measurement aka the scientific method, it is quite a mystery why on this sprint issue you are so myopic

Consider:

1. NO ONE claims that natural physiology is the primary driver of success in sprinting. For you to continue this fallacious line is borderline disingenuous... even as it purports to the non-discerning ....to support your position. Kindly desist

2. There is general agreement that the primary basis for Jamaica's and any other nation's (USA for example) success in sprints is preparation and support

3. When persons speak of the well established science which points to a muscle type that predominates in top sprinters.... be not afraid of science. Facts are facts.

4. Speaking of such science in the context of acknowledging the primacy of preparation as a success factor does NOT devalue said primacy. It merely notes what science has established.

5. Yes it is true that certain persons may use scientific results to try to justify some sort of twisted anti- Black or anti-Jamaican eugenic or other Babylon philosophy. Where this is so it should be highlighted and condemned.

6. Where persons posit or discuss the science of physiology or kinesiology on their merits and assign them their proper, secondary role in sprint success... it should NOT be conflated with the rantings of the eugenics set... to do so is unworthy and borderline disingenuous at best. Kindly desist

7. Thanks in advance... on behalf of all persons who recognize that science can help to explain nature even as such persons respect nurture to di MAX
                        Last edited by Don1; August 22, 2013, 10:46 AM.

this gene is in sprinters. Are they also in other sprinters too? Does ordinary people carry this kind of genes????

Why is it Jamaicans have this gene and the Kenyans distant runners have a have another.

How does this gene work for 400 and 800 runner??? Which one they need to be great??

there is no sprint gene...please see where this fallacy is addressed above...thanks

alright the twitch Gene that you talking about.

explain it to me. How it work for 400 and 800 runner???? Why Jamaicans and not the runners from Kenya.

It seems like man can find gene for anything.

You see , I have now realized that when Assasin makes a post like that and X asks about "fast twitch gene vs ******/chiney gene" it confirms to me that they have not even made the slightest attempt to understand the topic.

You cannot hope to explain the Theorem of Pythagoras to someone who refuses to grasp the basic properties of a triangle. The only outcome will be frustration.