Men's 4x400

Exactly, hence if you have a talent pool of sprinters, with more or less the same quality coaches, facilities, etc. would you expect , on average, to find more talent for long jump or high jump?

All I am saying is that this idea that genetics does not make a difference in sports doesn't make sense to me. It matters. Some things being tall is an advantage, some things having low center of gravity is an advantage, some things being slim is an advantage , some things being muscular is an advantage. All of those have a genetic component, populations have them in varying amounts so why is it so hard to believe that sprinting has a component of that as well?

True:

Medal 800M Name Year Site
      Silver 1:49.50 Arthur Wint 1948 London
      Silver 1:49.40 Arthur Wint 1948 London
      Bronze 1:47.10 George Kerr 1960 Rome

We could be doing better there though. We had Newman as well. Great 400/800 talent.

I don't think we could dominate in the same way as the short sprints, but it is within our ability to do much better.

Islandman

Bout time di bwooy start mek sense.Gi im credit.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

DWL. Alright sah.

Anyway mek we put dis pon pause again nuh. I know we will continue this ongoing debate come next track season when the Chineyman run him 9.99 along with another dozen new West African. LOL.

So explain dis to me: Dem nuh run 800m and 1500m and do shot putt and discus a Champs? High jump?

How we nuh dominate all a dem deh event if all it takes is Champs?

It nuh kinda strange dat the events dat we excel inna all have a top end speed component? sprints, hurdles, long jump to an extent? Coincidence i guess.

Champs is the special sauce dat you add to the raw material (genes) my bredren. But no raw material and the sauce might as well be ketchup, we not going nowhere.
              TALENT ABOUNDS!
              ...but it has to be 'found' and developed for it to...

I never jumped into that mumbo-jumbo argument about genetics because I thought that was just bull. Our culture, the achievements of our past T&F heroes and most importantly, Champs is why we run so fast. We are socially engineered to run fast because that is where all the glory is.
                It is mumbo-jumbo to you perhaps because you have not studied the issue and become open-minded enuff to appreciate the science of kinesiology

Most experts now accept that world class sprinters mostly tend to come from a genetic pool of fast twitch musculature .... when this cohort is combined with the cultural support and expectation level extant in Jamaica, world class coaching, energy rich food intake, early childhood development and intense organized competition from primary level thru to a World Class competition like Champs (nurtured by certain schools for over 100 years ) .... the result is the phenomenal Sprint Machine that Jamaica has created

ALL or MOST of those elements are required to create a Sprint Machine.. with a constant production line of world level sprinters. Only JA & the USA have this ability currently

However to get the odd world class sprinter here and there...like say Britain & Nigeria produce... ALL the aforementioned elements are not required....

Put another way... because those countries don't have ALL those elements to the extent Jamaica has...they will NOT create a Sprint Machine... but they may generate the occasional world class sprinter

Ah suh di ting set
                Last edited by Don1; August 17, 2013, 02:11 PM.