Men's 4x400

Germaine Mason. Wolmers and MVP. Won indoor bronze for Jamaica and Oly Silver for GB.

Bah have many HJ Champs.

James Beckford was fast?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Wint was 800m Oly Champ, no?

Straight outta champs, man can talk bout yam , dumpling , genes , if yuh nuh put dat inna champs, we not even see Olympics.

CBARRRRRR !
          Javon Francis practicing the 5th to 2nd move in the 4 x 400m at Champs 2013.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ib4oE0uK1zQ

Jangle, you sounding like X now.

Speed matters more in long jumping than in high jumping. Hence in a talent pool of people with a propensity for sprinting you will most likely find more talent for long jump than high jump. That is logical.

Nowhere did I say every long jumper is a world class sprinter. We are talking correlations here, there is more of a correlation between the raw talent for sprinting and long jump, than sprinting and high jump.

No, silver

Javon Franice 'Run Down Special' served at Penn Relays.
                Javon Francis recipe - Run Down Special served on foreign track.
                http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWi8uGc8FSg

Iman, I sound like X because I agree with him 100%. Let me ask you a question, if Cristiano Ronaldo, Theo Walcott or Aaron Lennon grew up in Jamaica, which sport would you think they would be playing? I never jumped into that mumbo-jumbo argument about genetics because I thought that was just bull. Our culture, the achievements of our past T&F heroes and most importantly, Champs is why we run so fast. We are socially engineered to run fast because that is where all the glory is.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Coaching have a lot to do with it....hey even I did some amateur coaching back in the day with some good results....

No problem with you agreeing with him, just argue logically.

If I say long jumpers tend to be fast runners, naming a long jumper who is not a sub-10 sprinter is not a counter argument. Anybody that Follows track knows that there are more sprinter-long jumpers than sprinter- high jumpers, more at every level, any country. Not a Champs or Jamaica thing.

Football, cricket, etc are much more complex physical activities than running, hence you will not hear me saying Brazil or Argentina has any football-specific gene, I don't think that can be determined, too many variables involved . Sprinting is simple, as raw an physical activity as you can get.

Nowhere did I say every long jumper is a world class sprinter.
                        Neither did I.

No problem with you agreeing with him, just argue logically.

If I say long jumpers tend to be fast runners, naming a long jumper who is not a sub-10 sprinter is not a counter argument. Anybody that Follows track knows that there are more sprinter-long jumpers than sprinter- high jumpers, more at every level, any country. Not a Champs or Jamaica thing.

Football, cricket, etc are much more complex physical activities than running, hence you will not hear me saying Brazil or Argentina has any football-specific gene, I don't think that can be determined, too many variables involved . Sprinting is simple, as raw an physical activity as you can get.
                          So why are you sidestepping my question above?

Put it this way, if you think the reason 95%+ of the sub 10 100m runners are West African has nothing to do with genes then I can see why you would want to make an argument disputing the obvious relationship between long jump and sprinting.

About what sports they would be playing? Probably football and track. Maybe cricket, who knows.

What does that have to do with whether Jamaicans and West African descended people in general have a propensity for sprinting?

Being a fast runner is not a prerequisite to being a world class long jumper. However, it stands to reason that being a fast sprinter does improve the distance a long jumper would sail through the air....that's just plain logic.