Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Speed matters more in long jumping than in high jumping. Hence in a talent pool of people with a propensity for sprinting you will most likely find more talent for long jump than high jump. That is logical.
Nowhere did I say every long jumper is a world class sprinter. We are talking correlations here, there is more of a correlation between the raw talent for sprinting and long jump, than sprinting and high jump.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Iman, I sound like X because I agree with him 100%. Let me ask you a question, if Cristiano Ronaldo, Theo Walcott or Aaron Lennon grew up in Jamaica, which sport would you think they would be playing? I never jumped into that mumbo-jumbo argument about genetics because I thought that was just bull. Our culture, the achievements of our past T&F heroes and most importantly, Champs is why we run so fast. We are socially engineered to run fast because that is where all the glory is.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
No problem with you agreeing with him, just argue logically.
If I say long jumpers tend to be fast runners, naming a long jumper who is not a sub-10 sprinter is not a counter argument. Anybody that Follows track knows that there are more sprinter-long jumpers than sprinter- high jumpers, more at every level, any country. Not a Champs or Jamaica thing.
Football, cricket, etc are much more complex physical activities than running, hence you will not hear me saying Brazil or Argentina has any football-specific gene, I don't think that can be determined, too many variables involved . Sprinting is simple, as raw an physical activity as you can get.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Nowhere did I say every long jumper is a world class sprinter.
Neither did I.
No problem with you agreeing with him, just argue logically.
If I say long jumpers tend to be fast runners, naming a long jumper who is not a sub-10 sprinter is not a counter argument. Anybody that Follows track knows that there are more sprinter-long jumpers than sprinter- high jumpers, more at every level, any country. Not a Champs or Jamaica thing.
Football, cricket, etc are much more complex physical activities than running, hence you will not hear me saying Brazil or Argentina has any football-specific gene, I don't think that can be determined, too many variables involved . Sprinting is simple, as raw an physical activity as you can get.
So why are you sidestepping my question above?
Put it this way, if you think the reason 95%+ of the sub 10 100m runners are West African has nothing to do with genes then I can see why you would want to make an argument disputing the obvious relationship between long jump and sprinting.
Being a fast runner is not a prerequisite to being a world class long jumper. However, it stands to reason that being a fast sprinter does improve the distance a long jumper would sail through the air....that's just plain logic.