A 4x100 Team to Watch (Women)

• A 4x100 Team to Watch (Women)

There is no doubt in my mind that the USA women will win the 4x100-meter gold medal. Between their 100-meter and 200-meter runners, they are overflowing with talent.

With Annie McLaughlin’s injury today, Jamaica’s chances look somewhat dim at this time.

One 4x100-meter team that I’ve not seen anyone on this forum mention is the Bahamas women. The last time they medaled was in 2009 in Berlin when they got the silver medal behind Jamaica. In 2013 they have a brand new team of fast young women. Don’t be surprised if they medal, as they have a strong contingent of talented sprinters:

Shaunae Miller
    Anthonique Strachan
    Sheniqua Ferguson
    Cache Armbrister
    Nivea Smith
    Debbie Ferguson (the veteran)

With safe baton passes, this team can do much damage!

It shall be an interesting race.
    The US is strong if it includes a fit Jeter....if not, I think ripe for the taking with a 42.00+ time.

Even when we had better talent on paper, we repeatedly came up short. 3rd is likely....

Re: 3rd is likely

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        Even when we had better talent on paper, we repeatedly came up short. 3rd is likely....
        Quite possibly so, Hortical.

But this women’s 4x100-meter relay final is the event that has me really, really nervous! Our A team has been decimated so badly –VCB, Sherone, Anniesha out - that I cannot even imagine an ideal replacement team on paper!

The USA is also badly shortened – no Jeter or Felix, and Knight and Madison are not there – but that does not make me feel any better. Madwoman English Gardner might make a dent somewhere (anchor?), but whatever the case is, the USA generally turns up with their A game.

In the case of the Bahamas, Shaunae Miller’s run in the 200-meter final yesterday was outstanding! She came from virtually the back of the pack and ran down people on the last 50-60 meters, ending up in fourth position. In addition, her teammate Anthonique Strachan missed a place in the finals by the narrowest of margins – 100th of a second. I will not write off that team’s chances.

As far as our Jamaican team is concerned, I still maintain that Sherri-Ann Brooks can play a valuable role tomorrow.

Cant bet against the black, gold and green , with all the kinxes against the women in moscow, i expect them to take it out on the 4x100.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I didn't have to open the thread to know that is Bahamas you were talking about ....

I am sure you follow track

I didn't have to open the thread to know that is Bahamas you were talking about ....
              Gamma, my team is the black, green and gold. Everyone else comes lumped in a bag labeled “Others.”

But you need to understand that track and field is my baby – I follow this sport extremely closely, just like how you no doubt follow soccer. I can also tell you that, more than any other CARICOM country, I never take the female sprinters from the Bahamas lightly, and history is on my side: 1996, 1999, 2000, 2002. All except the first year the result was gold medals (1996 was silver), and in each case Jamaica, with strong teams, crossed the finish line after them.

Let me ask you this: Could you have guessed that they would have won the silver medal in Berlin in 2009 (with a mixture of aging women and one teen), with the anchor woman finishing just a few meters behind Kerron Stewart?

The fact is I continually make reference to their women’s 4x100-meter team because, aside from Jamaica, they have the fastest team in the region. This is obvious from the level of Carifta to the Olympics. Their track and field achievements are more impressive than Trinidad or any other English-speaking Caribbean country, save for Jamaica. Globally, they have been there and done that, and so I never take them lightly.

I hope this answer is sufficient. We might revisit it after the relays tomorrow afternoon.

The Night I Met Bolt

By the way, I spoke to Usain Bolt a year before he became famous. I was in Barbados at the 2001 Carifta Games when he and Simone Facey first made their regional appearance. Bolt was a lanky 14-year-old then. I hugged and congratulated Simone on winning the Under-17 Girls 100-meter dash (that was a wonderful race!), and I later shook Bolt’s hand and briefly congratulated him on his 200-meter silver medal.

I never imagined for even a second that the fellow would become the fastest man in history!!

In Simone’s case, those who read my posts will no doubt realize that I have a soft spot for her. Simone is -- and will always be -- my baby! Unfortunately, she never made a successful transition to the senior level. I take consolation, though, in the fact that she has an IAAF World Championships gold medal.

Mi cyan believe yuh mek this rookie mistake!

No felix, no Jeter? Who was going to beat us with Shelly Thunder and the recovering Kerron?

On top, the Kraken was there ro be released and Schillonie looked great in the 100m in every area but her start. Her chronic injury prevents her from doing too many explosive block start, but in a flying start? Well you saw for yourself...

I was looking for 40point myself...

Lol !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

It shall be an interesting race.
                      The US is strong if it includes a fit Jeter....if not, I think ripe for the taking with a 42.00+ time.
                      The race proved the USA without Jeter could have been taken...but who saw our low 41+ time? I certainly did not!!!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                        Gamma, my team is the black, green and gold. Everyone else comes lumped in a bag labeled “Others.”

But you need to understand that track and field is my baby – I follow this sport extremely closely, just like how you no doubt follow soccer. I can also tell you that, more than any other CARICOM country, I never take the female sprinters from the Bahamas lightly, and history is on my side: 1996, 1999, 2000, 2002. All except the first year the result was gold medals (1996 was silver), and in each case Jamaica, with strong teams, crossed the finish line after them.

Let me ask you this: Could you have guessed that they would have won the silver medal in Berlin in 2009 (with a mixture of aging women and one teen), with the anchor woman finishing just a few meters behind Kerron Stewart?

The fact is I continually make reference to their women’s 4x100-meter team because, aside from Jamaica, they have the fastest team in the region. This is obvious from the level of Carifta to the Olympics. Their track and field achievements are more impressive than Trinidad or any other English-speaking Caribbean country, save for Jamaica. Globally, they have been there and done that, and so I never take them lightly.

I hope this answer is sufficient. We might revisit it after the relays tomorrow afternoon.

An aside: Yes, the Bahamas has turned up top athletes before the 1990s (anyone remember Tom Robinson?) - but a little known fact is that an influx of Jamaica Teachers College graduates sped them on the way to their current status. These JA teachers have made and are still making tremendous input to their track program.

I saw 40point from they ran 41.87s without SAFP!!!!

My Friends Willi and X....

Well, gentlemen, I will say this: You saw the 4x100-meter semi-final results, and so you both no doubt realize that my prediction wasn’t something to be taken lightly! (None of my predictions should ever be taken lightly, as I do NOT play guessing games with track and field.)

The team I mentioned in the thread starter - the Bahamas’ 4x100-meter women – did not make it to the finals because they were disqualified after a first-leg lane infraction by Sheniqua Ferguson (she took a couple of steps into the inside lane). Here are the results from the three semi-finals:

Winners of the Three 4x100-meter Semi-finals:

Semi-final 1: Jamaica

Semi-final 2: The Bahamas

Semi-final 3: The USA

I started a thread about this team, not necessarily because I believe they would have won a gold medal in Moscow (I did not believe they would have done so this time), but because I pay close attention to the stats from several Caribbean countries, and I use their results for my predictions. I was not guessing with my “A 4x100 Team to Watch” prediction!!

I suggest you continue to watch this team (minus the aging Debbie Ferguson), as by 2016 Brazil, like 1999 Seville and 2000 Sydney, they will be the team to be reckoned with.

In the meantime, I would like someone to archive this thread until 2015 Beijing or 2016 Brazil.

I have no problems with 2015, but this is 2013 and a bunch of just out of high skoolers cant be a factor against our seasoned pros. Neither against the Yankee college kids. NR smashed, as I expected!

The Bah has a squad for the future, but them not in 41point league yet and they are short a leg.

Woody and Shaunae are bankable and Q will rise to the position. i guess they will pull for Cox or Ambrisster to fill the gap and they should be contenders for a medal by Rio at least.