Great, great job, showed courage and heart in her first world champs, really make me very proud to see her put her heart and soul into it, almost had a bronze, but I have noticed she struggles in the last 50 consistently in all her races. Willi is that something fixable with weight and endurance training, if she gets stronger at the end she will be a terror on the track for a while.
Stephanie McPherson
I think this time it was not about the 'struggling' in the latter part of her race...but inexperience. She thought the Bronze was in the bag and was unaware that there was someone who could/would have caught her if she shutdown as she did.
Think she just did not see that Russian(? ...it was?) wide from lane 8.
Very impressed with her. She looks destined for great things. ...a 48 change relay leg at these Champs? ...and low 48s in her future?
...and she is so young???!!! Talent Abounds!!!
...as wi used tuh she back innah di dazes - Go deh, young lady!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
In this particular race...or her present condition?
The way she finished is not indicative of being complete exhausted. I know when that happens, how the body feels...I have been there. You get wobbly and 'stagger' about! You always feel the effects of oxygen deprivation...you become 'dizzy'=you get a buzzing...a high!!!
She had enough to run through at a faster pace but for her experience and awareness of her surroundings i.e. not being aware of where the Russian was."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."