Taken from next door

I agree that we get all the nutrients and vitamins from food, however it can only help to take multi vitamins. I got my annual physical in the winter the other day, and my doc said my vitamin d levels were low. She said black people get less vitamin d in the winter time in the north east, due to much lower levels of sunshine. In the winter time I take an extra vitamin d pill, in addition to regular multi vitamins.

Nutritionist will tell you there is no need for a supplement if you maintain a proper diet...how many of us eat fruits, nuts, pasta, fish, chicken, drink the recommended amount of water etc each day? that is why the average person needs vitamins etc...

Bolt doesn't eat like that again boss...that was when he was a youngster...man have chef and dem ting catering to his needs...

"Nutritionist will tell you there is no need for a supplement if you maintain a proper diet..."

How many of our athlete coming from poor, uneducated home know what poor diet is? Doctor will tell you that people have different condition that requires different nutrients. Our body is build up different as Hortical doctor tell him below. Now couple that and tell me when you working out 2 times a day for 3-6 hours and all that body lost and tell me you don't need recovery.

As I said you just have to get what you eat or used tested and make sure it is legal.

No brick ! I work with nutritionist , supplements are needed if a patient/individual cannot absorb a proper diet because of whatever metabolic dynaism, be it illness or genetic hemodynamic unsustainability.

Also based on goals and regimen of their needs, athletes goals and needs are of the body going through physical stressors which require a quick time to recover to compete along said rapid physical stressors in daily living.Nothing that the avergae Joe goes through.

Do they need it , I dont know , its based on the individual.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

yeah not all the athletes can afford Bolt's Chef. Let us all hope him never get a new Canadian Chef without the proper certification. LOL

I disagree...no way you can tell me you can't get the same nutrients from food grown in the ground...

sounds like economics to me...

Isnt everything ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Leave It Alone - We Are Not Blameless!

yeah not all the athletes can afford Bolt's Chef.
                      I am sure that Usain Bolt was not the only athlete whose name I mentioned above!

Look man, the reason why I posted that 2002 4x100-meter relay video last night was simply to provide some visual relief on this board from this constant drug talk!

Trust me, Dwain Chambers shot the first warning shot several years ago when he described how he had not been tested -- not even once -- during his several months in Jamaica training. That should have been JADCO’s cue to get its house in order re: adequate testing AND transparency! But no, we are the “irie” country, laid back and enjoying weed and reggae music and jerk chicken, unaware that our dominance of world sprinting starting in 2008 should have signalled greater responsibility on our part. But no, we thought that life would just go on as usual even as we dominated the world of sprinting!

‘Sass, there are reasons why I have kept out of this drug discussion. I won’t say anymore; instead I suggest you read the Daily Gleaner editorial that I posted yesterday.

I’m out.

I agree with you on many front on this. However my point is that supplements is not all bad and I will never encourage the use of illegal drugs but I can't see why using tested supplement is bad.

That would require the athletes to eat even more than the average person because they work 10 times as hard?

Some a dem would have to eat like 5 pound a yam fi get the nutrients they need. LOL

...there you go Hortical. I do my physicals during the last quarter of the year and I always come up short on Vitamin D. Now if I were an elite athlete living in cold climes, i would probably need to take my multivitamins (which I believe is to perform at my optimum.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Why would we test Dwain Chambers, isnt that british athletics problem ? 2nd Chambers barrage was nothing more than crab in a barrell.

Use him as references at your peril, how do we know Jadco doesnt have its house in order ? They have been doing testing , the positives came about because of Jadco ,VCB , SS and Powell , as for transparency ,it doesnt seem to me they are hiding anything , on the contray they are very forthcoming !