Camp's not entirely mandatory' JAAA relaxes position for WC

• Camp's not entirely mandatory' JAAA relaxes position for WC

Double Olympic champion and World record holder Usain Bolt, and Olympic 200m bronze medallist Warren Weir are expected to arrive in Moscow on Sunday, six days before the start of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) World Championships of Athletics.

A number of Jamaica's athletes and officials are already in Moscow for a training camp ahead of the August 10-18 championships, but despite Bolt's seemingly delayed arrival to the group, president of the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association Dr Warren Blake, underlined that there was a compromise this time around.

Blake, who left the island yesterday en route to the Russian city, told The Gleaner that difficulties in securing a base for the camp and the last-minute nature of those confirmations meant it would have been unreasonable for the JAAA to demand that athletes arrive at a specific time.

"Because we were not able to confirm the details of the training months in advance, we understand that the clubs and managers could have difficulties putting everything in place in time for their athletes to arrive at a particular point," Blake said.

"The camp is not entirely mandatory, we had some issues with the venue and so we didn't want to be unreasonable because the clubs did not have enough time to make their preparations," Blake continued. "Put it this way, we want everyone to come in for five or so days with the team, but we are not holding a hard line on it."

The Jamaicans will train at the competition venue, the Luzhniki Stadium.

"We were having problems securing a venue for a camp and the Local Organising Committee stepped in and helped us, so for the camp we will train at the competition venue and, of course, stay at the hotel that we are staying at during the championships."

Facilitate practice

Blake was quick to point out that the athletes listed in the relay pool were asked to arrive in Moscow "five or six days" before the start of the championships to facilitate practice.

"We just stressed to the athletes that they need to come in early enough to practise the relays," Blake outlined.

The JAAA on Monday named a 45-member team to the World Championships, headed by Bolt and Olympic champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce.

Jamaica won nine medals (four gold, four silver, one bronze) at the last IAAF World Championships in Daegu, South Korea, in 2011.

- André Lowe

Oh no, not after Franno bow....Monkey know which tree to climb.

No man..is suh the thing set once one party is aggressive then aggression meets aggression ...

...but for all TDowl and Gamma said; it is a reasonable stance!!!!

Is only just now reasons LE or would have been reasonable on those other occasions too?

I thought previously the JAAA had acted in a reasonable matter but Francis was playing the fool. I posted same both forums...(certainly on Willi's forum i.e. Caribbean Track & Field forum).

If only for a brief moment, think! Do not let your preconceived biases cloud that process.

If you cannot do it, while I may not fully understand, I have grown accustomed to it

...I shall ask you to do same - Please think???!!!

What has changed that now makes it not necessary to be mandatory? Let's start there.

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                    Oh no, not after Franno bow....Monkey know which tree to climb.
                    The camp was never mandatory. MVP knew that when it decided to go to camp.

Karl?

Him ah run!

What has changed that now makes it not necessary to be mandatory? Let's start there.
                          When the boss says, "can you lend a hand here" you can act like 'Nandi in Mexico and say 'go to hell'...but we all know such request is an order...such nice conciliatory words = mandatory!!!

The camp is still mandatory!!!
                          ...but even as it is, surely there must be circumstances where an athlete could be excused? To interpret such as meaning 'not mandatory' is going down a path of 'no return'....or at most optimistic, a path where to be allowed a return a 'singing of a sankey and a finding of way home'.

Sir Gamma: Nuh badda wid dat!
                          Yuh a di counselor!!!

Him ah run!
                            Run, Will?
                            I just saw Gamma's challenge to commonsense.

Hey...it is the JAAA and the JOA that has final word on those of our athletic ambassadors who enter the largest of our international meets even as we (the citizens) demand that good sense prevail during decision-making at the highest levels.

Franno made bad choice then and good one now. Who among us has never made a 'boo-boo'? Happy to see Franno and the JAAA on the same page now!!!! Nothing to lose sleep over... Hopefully the parties learn from the pass 'cass-cass'. We (the citizens), Franno, our athletes and the JAAA move on!!!

FORWARD!!!

Steeeupps.

If you only knew...tan deh. LoL