• JAA couldn't afford two more tickets?

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports4.html

What Can I Say?

Good question!

The JAAA never fails to amaze me, just as much as the Jamaican voting delegates who continue to make the same mistakes over and over (Forbes in 2004; Grace Jackson in 2012)!!

As far as Jason Morgan is concerned, it’s instructive to note that the ONLY male discus thrower on the USA team to Moscow, Lance Brooks, has a season best throw of 64.02 meters, a B standard: (http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/united-...74#progression )

Jamaica’s Jason Morgan has a season best throw is 65.94 meters!
    (http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/jamaica...09#progression )

In other words, if Jason had tried out for the USA team, he WOULD have been selected to represent the USA. To make matters worse, the JAAA knew of his peculiar circumstances: he was in the process of receiving his USA citizenship at the time of the Jamaican national trials and so was unable to attend the trials. He had no choice! And the JAAA knew this (ask those members of the JAAA with USA citizenship and they will explain the legal process and the stupidity of leaving the USA during the process).

Remember the Trinidadians and a young javelin thrower by the name of Keshorn Walcott? Remember the 2012 London Olympic Games? Remember the final result for Walcott? Could anyone have seriously predicted that javelin result? And we wonder if the Trinis are smarter than us?

By the way, in the case of Kenia Sinclair, I don’t anyone seriously expected that she would be on the team, so that situation is more understandable. She is recovering from injury, and there is nothing special about her 800-meter times recently.

The JAAA could have at least contact Kenia. She has been a good rep for us over the years. Why not contact her and talk to her?

You are back..welcome back!

The JAAA could have at least contact Kenia. She has been a good rep for us over the years. Why not contact her and talk to her?
          talk to her about what ????

during her recovery process. It is obvious the woman was facing depression and needed some support from JAAA.

Oh..Okay !! you are only as good as your last win....
              sad !

Thanks, Boss

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                You are back..welcome back!
                Thanks, Exile. Actually, I wasn’t gone anywhere, I was just unusually busy over the past couple of days. I did not get much of a chance to even read the posts here at the RBSC.

This is probably the first IAAF World Championships that I am not overly excited about.

Sinclair Moves To Clear Air

André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

Depression and disappointment. Jamaican 800 metres standout Kenia Sinclair has endured a rough few weeks.

After being involved in a car accident that has effectively ended her season, the 33-year-old also missed out on a spot on Jamaica's team to the IAAF World Championships in Moscow.

But the 2008 Olympic finalist has moved to clear the air, pointing out that her disappointment does not lie with missing out on the team, but rather with what she regards as demotivating neglect from the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA) at a point when she needed them more than ever.

Sinclair, who has been representing Jamaica since 2003, missed the National Championships in June, which serves as a pre-requisite for selection consideration, after she failed to recover in time from injuries sustained in a motor-vehicle accident earlier this year.

JAAA's selection policy meant that the athlete would have first had to receive medical exemption, ranked in the top three in her event, and also proven competitive fitness in time to be considered for the team.

"I want to set the record straight because everyone believes I am upset because I did not make the World Championships team. My whole thing is, when I tried to reach out to the JAAA and sent them a letter telling them that I met in an accident and that I wasn't able to compete at the championships, no one ever reached out to me at all to even check on me once," Sinclair said.

"I swear, I found myself in a state of depression. They (JAAA) need to support their athletes more whether they are medal contenders, or whatever and I think the support of the JAAA is what helps to build athletes more than many persons can ever imagine," Sinclair added.

"Just motivational support. Sometimes when an athlete is down and out of it, just a simple call or an inspirational chat goes a far way. It doesn't have to be financial. This thing is mental. Once an athlete is mentally in the right place, they can do wonders," she said, noting that several emails to the association went unanswered.

"I sent an email and copied everyone I know at the JAAA, including (president) Dr Warren Blake, Ms (Marie) Tavares, and Garth Gayle. I also gave my doctor the JAAA's email address and he sent them a letter, which he also forwarded to me, and nobody tried to reach out to me, to find out how I was doing or even find out if I was trying to make the team, or stuff like that," Sinclair added.

Demotivating

"I got no response from anyone, and that made me a bit upset because I felt like I didn't have any support from my own federation," said Sinclair. "It honestly demotivated me. Even though it's an individual sport and I am doing this for myself as well, it's my honour every year when there is a championship to wear my country's colours, and it's something that keep us driven and reminds us we also do this for many others."

When contacted about Sinclair's concerns, president of the JAAA, Dr Warren Blake, said he had not seen an email from the athlete. He had also not been notified by anyone of any correspondence from the athlete.

Sinclair has won silver medals at the IAAF World Indoor Champion-ships and Commonwealth Games.

NP
                    Meet USA lone Discus representative...
                    Mon Aug 5, 2013 15:26

This might be a bit difficult to read considering that the guy didn't even throw as far as our Jason Morgan who won't be making the trip.

Olympian Lance Brooks saves best for last chances.

THE ASSOCIATED PRESS.

A year ago, Lance Brooks earned a spot on the United States Olympic Team with a personal-best throw on his final qualifying attempt.

The State Journal-Register

Posted Aug 03, 2013 @ 10:42 PM

It’s getting to be a routine for Lance Brooks. Earn a spot in a major international track and field meet in last-chance fashion, then prepare to span numerous time zones to compete against the world’s best discus throwers.

A year after earning a spot on the United States Olympic Team with a personal-best throw on his final qualifying attempt, Brooks took it down to the wire again. On the last possible day he could do so, the 29-year-old New Berlin High School graduate qualified to compete for the United States in the IAAF World Championships Aug. 10-18 in Moscow.

Brooks planned to leave his Denver home today, with stopovers in Minneapolis and New York before getting on a plane to Russia. Qualifying for the men’s discus takes place Aug. 12, with the top 12 advancing to the finals Aug. 13.

In a competition July 20 in Claremont, Calif., Brooks launched a season-best throw of 64.02 meters (210 feet) on his next-to-last attempt. It was just past the “B” standard of 64 meters.

Since no other American thrower had met an “A” standard (66 meters) or B standard during the qualifying period, Brooks will be the lone American in his event.

“I think I have a lot more to prove now because I’m the only (American) going,” Brooks said Friday. “There’s definitely a little more pressure, but I expect good things of myself.”

No surprises

It will be Brooks’ second World Championship appearance in three years. He also qualified for the 2011 event in Daegu, South Korea, followed by his Olympic experience last year.

He did not make the top-12 finals in South Korea or London. But Brooks said he’s grown to feel more comfortable in the major-competition environment.

“I know what to expect, what’s coming my way,” Brooks said. “There’s not a lot of anticipation anymore. From that aspect, it makes it a little easier.

“You’re on a world stage, which can be intimidating. But you learn to get over there early and get into a routine.”

Similar to Daegu and London, Brooks’ main Moscow goal will be to make the 12-man finals. It’s a daunting task against elite throwers like last year’s Olympic gold medalist, Robert Harting of Germany, and top-ranked Piotr Malachowski of Poland.

Read more: http://www.sj-r.com/sports/x36994463...#ixzz2b7d70dEW
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015