Time to look in the mirror!?

• Time to look in the mirror!?

Is it merely a coincidence that Asafa, Sherone, VCB, Blake, Mullings, and a host of other lesser names have tested positive for something, big or not so big but all named, identified, listed and distributed or is it as some say that there is a massive conspiracy aimed at the rock and its athletes. Well I have seen enough and it is clear that there is more to this than some wicked conspiracy, not even Machiavelli coulda a cook up this one and force all them people to voluntarily ingest what has been found.

There is a old saying that where there is smoke there must be some fire and it look like sey we have plenty of fire burning. We not as pure as wi think we are and the evidence is mounting.

If this is not dealt with soon by implementing an aggressive testing program at the senior level and a strong education program from the junior levels up, this will have a serious effect on Jamaica's reputation. Nothing worse than developing a reputation as a cheater, especially on a group/ country level especially when the country has had the best performances in the history of our sports programs in the present and recent past.

All I see everywhere is denial and conspiracy theories, pure foolishness, time people step up and take responsibility for what has happened and develop counter steps to address this issue. Lets see how this develops, somehow it seems we have no will power to deal with the real problems.

Larger issue
    There is also a strong, overwhelming need to make the Wada process more transparent to the public, categorizing levels of drugs, stimulants etc etc, with a clearly defined step process of penalties, timeline to address and resolve these issues. What is currently going on is pure chaos on the Wada/IAAF/regional/country association levels.

Who exactly is driving the bus and what is the plan. If there is a conspiracy it seems that conspiracy is aimed at just creating chaos, I don't see any sense of purpose in cleaning up any of the sports with the process currently in place. Nothing but a messy, blurred vision of what is really happening in sports from cycling, to track etc etc.

I don't believe we have any organized cheating going on in our major camps but I think we have to accept that the criticisms about Jamaica having not being serious about drug testing in the past has some merit. Even if these were mostly unintentional transgressions I find it hard to believe they just started recently.

I agree with your post. However, as the Gleaner blogger said, in Karl's post below, "maybe it’s time for track and field athletes to form a union and push back." There is a major problem with that WADA list of banned substances. Why is it that T&F is so vilified in comparison to other professional sports. Isn't it one list that is adopted by all sports? Why don't we hear of drug "busts" in those other sports. I am sure other professional athlete, need to take some of these same supplements to perform at their optimum. Something is just not right here.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

From next door:

Enigma
        Forumites all we have a hard task ahead to educate the
        Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:47

gullible public about whats going on in the sport of T&F that we love so much. It's our burden and we mustn't shirk our responsibilities.
        A Dominican higler on the beach looked very distraught this morning as he tried to understand the sudden unexpected state of affairs that has befallen Jamaica's T&F fraternity.
        I patiently enlightened him, then I summed it up with this analogy...
        The IAAF is the homeowner, Jamaica is the fly. The IAAF has this big party and the table is laid out with all kinds of delicacies. Jamaica has a well deserved place at the table but the IAAF sees us as a fly. So what does the homeowner do, he runs pass the fly swatter, pass the rolled up newspaper, and grabs the sledgehammer.
        He swings, all the other guests cry out No! The homeowner is so hate filled he heeds no one, swings, misses and destroys the feast/sport.
        He then assures his guests that it will cost him nothing to replace the food but before he closes his mouth the fly lands in it, takes a **** and escapes unharmed....

WADA is an acronym for... Who's Accessing Dick's Ass ets?
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jamaica will come out stronger and better , through it all,like i said its good for us.

Wi need fi grow up fassst , and understand wiself and di game.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Alphonso Cunningham - Gold and WR at the Paralymics. Question: Are Paraolympians subjected to the same WADA banned substances list?

You choose to live in a fantasy world and always HOPE for the best, but when you have a crab at the helm of the national body ........

Jason Morgan will not be chosen, says Dr Blake

BY PAUL A REID Observer writer
              Friday, July 26, 2013

MONTEGO BAY, St James — It is highly unlikely that former national discus throw record holder Jason Morgan will be part of the Jamaican delegation to next month’s 14th IAAF World Championships, according to president of the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA), Dr Warren Blake.

The list of athletes who made the team is expected to be released next week. “At most two days,” according to Dr Blake, after the July 29 deadline for athletes to make the qualifying standards, but it is unlikely the USAbased Morgan will compete at his third IAAF World Championships after participating in Osaka, Japan, in 2007 and Daegu, South Korea, in 2011.

MORGAN… a plain slap across my face from my country saying, ‘I don't appreciate all you have done for me Jason ‘Dadz’ Morgan

Morgan, a multiple national champion, missed the JAAA National Senior Trials as he was to be sworn in as an American citizen that same weekend, and did not have his travel documents for the June 20-23 event held at the National Stadium.

In an email to the JAAA pleading his case, Morgan wrote: “I don't have my travel documents at this moment. Unfortunately, I cannot travel without my American passport. It won’t be in my presence until a later date. My other travel documents, eg, Green Card that I used to come home for the May Invitational had to be turned to the US Homeland Security.

“I am still ranked top five in the world at this moment. Also, I am the only Jamaican discus thrower so far who has achieved the World Championships standard.”

Morgan told the Jamaica Observer on Wednesday he got the letter from US Homeland Security on June 15, and the swearing-in was on the 19th at a location which was a five-hour drive from where he lives.

Dr Blake, however, told the Observer on Tuesday that Morgan does not have any chance of being named. “There is no case to be made for him, he must come to Trials and he did not, so we can’t choose him.”

The JAAA boss said Morgan’s reasons for not coming to Jamaica for the Trials were not sufficient for him to be included. “There are exemptions from the JAAA if an athlete is not able to compete at Trials, but his reason does not fall into the criterion and the rules are clear.”

Morgan was at a loss for words at the decision. “The only reason I did not show up to compete at Trials is because at last minute, I didn't have travel documents to do so. I register and fill out the application for trials, even packed (my bags) to travel home.”

He said given that he has thrown past the ‘B’ standard three times already this season and is the only Jamaican qualified, his non-selection was “a plain slap across my face from my country saying, ‘I don't appreciate all you have done for me Jason ‘Dadz’ Morgan’”.

The former Calabar thrower said he was “very disappointed” as he was trying to pave the way for young throwers coming after him.

With the suspension of national record-holder Traves Smikle after he failed a drug test at the National Trials, and national champion Chad Wright not making the ‘B’ standard, Morgan, who threw a personal best 65.94 metres at a meet in Ruston, Louisiana, in March, well over the 64.00m ‘B’ standard and just short of the 66.0m ‘A’ mark, has the best mark by any Jamaican male and is ranked at number 11 in the world, after not competing since the Jamaica International Invitational in May.

Morgan said he was still hoping the JAAA would accept his explanation and take him to Moscow where he says he expects to do well.

“I am training well these past few weeks and I know I have it in me to throw over 67.00m in Moscow.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2aBbvPQk4
              Last edited by Karl; July 26, 2013, 05:01 PM.

On the contrary, we are on a certain path to destruction unless we wise up fast.

We have been played!

You have been played ad have fallen into the trap.

Conte and Pound are friends/partners from the 1980s. Pound was Ben Johnson's lawyer. Balco in business for decades.

Digest that and stop form the fool.

Babylon release the chain, but him a use him brain.

Wada was/is run by Tony Soprano! Imagine the total budget was USD$24m in 200 and the exec office spent $2.8m of that! Read up the play!!!!!

It amuses me that you seek much higher standards from "dumb" athletes than you do from "smart" politicians.

We are quick to thrown our own under the bus to please, ourselves? If not, who?

That is why I love Bob Marley lyrics so much, it cuts right to the chase. What Bob say, "every man have a right to decide his own destiny and in this judgement there shall be no partiality" you can't get better than that. Every man decide him path and must pay the consequences for his own decisions.

And we should play our part by heaping it on?!! How does showing suppor for your own minimize the consequences?

Easy Gamma , I am with you on this ,the worst of us before the best of them ...wi need international PR savvy people ...ow Tyson steriod Bust get out same time as Asafa ?

That i dont think is coincidence ...we will come out betta , wi aff to ! Di factory caan stop produce dem (champs) the worst thing we can do is follow babylon and test wi youths, basically stygmatising them from childhood, busting them fi cough drops etc , suh when babylon media cite im C.V ..as youth from Ja tested positive as a youth , now in the olympics etc etc .....man muss site di rake , look at the future .

Wi nuh ready PR wise ? wi affi get ready, money fi mek gamma, 33% fi all suit !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Him also seh, dont let the skool yuh or even try to foool yuh...Oh NO!