• MVP commits to JAAA's World Games camp

MVP commits to JAAA's World Games camp

Tuesday, July 23, 2013 | 1:21 PM

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2ZvY9YaaI

MONTEGO BAY, Jamaica -- Members of the MVP Track club will be attending the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association’s (JAAA) optional pre-championships camp to be held in Moscow a week before the start of the IAAF World Championships on August 10th, club president Bruce James told the Observer earlier today.

“We are making plans to be in the camp as soon as it is possible for the athletes that will be name don the team,” James said.

“This is no different from any other times and we are doing what is best for the athletes,” he said confirming that the club had received communications from the JAAA regarding the dates and venue of the camp that is to be held in Moscow between August 2 and 8.
    -Paul Reid

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2Zv1Lz74C

Willi, I need you...as only you can walk me through

the thinking that a few years past was violently opposed to what I defended as rational - The JAAA arranged camps before International meets was necessary? ...and today those same person are now thinking the camps are reasonable or ones that must be attended?

Remember the 'I will withdraw all my athletes'?...and 'I will not allow my athletes to attend'?

Help? Pleeeeease?

“We are making plans to be in the camp as soon as it is possible for the athletes that will be name don the team,” James said.

as soon as possible, means when Franno is ready for them to join the camp, therefore, business as usual.

Don't be fooled Mouth mek fi say anything!

Simple, he is significantly weaker right now.

So is Jamaica.

The huffing and puffing of the JAAA is not seen when the press is slaughtering u about drugs.

The solution in Jamaica is to test lass 4 and class 3 champs athletes.

I am not in argument with anybody.

Just sitting on the sidelines watching out athletics empire crumble like Windies cricket and having an internal ironic chuckle.

Who the gods would destroy, they first drive mad...

We get exactly what we deserve.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
              Don't be fooled Mouth mek fi say anything!
              So true... especially when the Mouth belongs to a Horse

I dont see it crumbling more like alinging in the right direction , look we have a target on us , it comes with the territory , I am not into the conspiracy thing because history has its precedence in the americans and east germans , in fact whomever was at the top i.e Ben Johnson.

I dont see anything out there than can match our production lines of talent - champs ! NOTHING! what we lack is professional organizations that can nurture that line , MVP and Racers are but two , we need at least two more of those nurturing stables , because it will be siphoned on to the supplement-steriod capital of the world the USA and our nurtured ones will suffer dearly.

BTW Tyson failed twice (steriods )and his issues is now being blown up by babylon media , Safa failed a stimulant test once and police raid im camp in Italy immediately ?

These nurturing lines need a media PR line ,it goes with the territory...We juss affi shape up.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

U dont have a clue.

U haffi understand what happening in the UK.

When the Sky lead story is of a Jakan footballer failing a drug test and when the UK athlete dem a parade pon TV saying Asafa fi get life ban....is a fre for all there. Even one UK pal who was pooh-poohing conspiracy mek a 180 degree turn when him see the full onslaught...

You woulda think seh wi athlete dem ah terrorists! So U can tan deh.

lol...welcome to the real world , you have arrived , we live in the internet age , you think it would pass Jamaica bye bye ?

Expect more from sky, bbc etc , question is what is our P.R machines doing about it ?...what sells in the media ? ...bias !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Ridiculous to think our Track and Field program is going to be destroyed by this latest 'bump in the road'. Our base is the schools' organisations...and nothing can turn that back. Talent abounds!!!!

Ridiculous to think that talent alone means anything. When they exclude our team or even just our star athletes on frivolous grounds, you will see.

Look how England soak wi with the limits they placed on county cricket and limits to how many bouncers can be bowled...

Babylon release di chain, but dem a use dem brain...

As ah seh, our useless Sports Ministers only response is to test class 3 and 4 athletes. We are a rudderless ship and we deserve what we get.

No way, no how have I ever supported an argument that talent is everything. ...and the entire RBSC readership knows it.

Lazie bawls blood everyday trying to refute my refrain of "Talent Abounds" by trying to give the impression that talent is everything. My responses to his feeble attacks on and statements questioning that in our Jamaica talent abounds has been answered so many times even he must have 'the little men' in his brain going crazy.

Regardless of attacks by petty individuals on the international scene or even some of our locals, talent abounds and dedicated workers within our ranks coupled with the unending stream of top quality talented track athletes will ensure the continued life of our Track and Field programs and our place on the international scene.

How dat going to stop us dropping off the high pedestal we on since Beijing?

Talent always abounded, but to translate that into global hi-colour medals is another thing...

How dat going to stop us dropping off the high pedestal we on since Beijing?

Talent always abounded, but to translate that into global hi-colour medals is another thing...
                              It could not be expected of us to remain as dominant in the sprint events and on (our) overall performance as we were in Beijing?

Those total achievements were incredible.

Let me remind you of our achievements as per Wikipedia:

Jamaica sent a delegation to compete at the 2008 Summer Olympics, held in Beijing, People's Republic of China from August 8 to August 24, 2008. This was, by far, Jamaica's best showing at the Summer Olympics; it was the nation's largest delegation yet, and its athletes nearly doubled its total gold medal count in addition to breaking the nation's record for number of medals earned in a single games. Jamaica's appearance at Beijing was its fifteenth consecutive appearance and appearance as an independent nation, although it had previously participated in four other games (including its 1948 debut) as a British colony and as part of the West Indies Federation. In the 29 events that included Jamaican athletes, there were 26 cases in which a Jamaican athlete or relay progressed to a final round. Usain Bolt won three of Jamaica's six gold medals at Beijing, breaking an Olympic and world record in all three of the events in which he participated.

Summary - Track & Field
                              Men:
                              Twenty-one athletes composed the male Jamaican track and field team that participated in Beijing, comprising over a third of the Jamaican Olympic delegation at the 2008 Olympics. Of those twenty, eleven (Anderson, Williams, R. Phillips, Wignall, I. Phillips, McFarlane, Buckley, Sappleton, Smith, Scott, McGregor) only participated in individual events; four participated only in team events (Carter, Thomas, Fothergill, Spence); and six competed in both individual and team events (Bolt, Frater, Powell, Blackwood, Chambers, Ayre). Over a quarter of the medals won by Jamaica in Beijing were won by its male track team, including two singular events (men's 100 meters and the men's 200 meters, both by Usain Bolt) and one relay team (men's 4x100 meters relay, including Thomas, Frater, Carter, Powell, and Bolt). Usain Bolt held the record for medals won by a Jamaican at the Beijing games, medaling gold in every event in which he participated.

Female:
                              24 athletes competed in the women's track and field team that Jamaica sent to the Beijing Olympics in 2008. Of those, nine athletes participated only in individual track events (Dixon, Ennis-London, Foster-Hylton, Stoddart, Walker, Wilson, Sinclair, Hinds, Hyman), four participated only in relay track events (Bailey, Brooks, Willkins, Lloyd), seven competed in both individual and relay track events (Fraser, Simpson, Stewart, Campbell, Whyte, N. Williams, S. Williams), and four competed in field events (Hammond, Smith, Northover, McKoy). Of the 11 medals won in Beijing by Jamaican athletes, eight of them were won by female track athletes. Three gold medals were won, with one each by Shelly-Ann Fraser (100 meters), Veronica Campbell (200 meters), and Melaine Walker (400 meters hurdles). Three silver medals were also won, with one received by Sherone Simpson (100 meters), Kerron Stewart (100 meters), and Shericka Williams (400 meters). Bronze medals were won by Kerron Stewart (200 meters) and a relay team that included Bobby-Gaye Wilkins, Shereefa Lloyd, Rosemarie Whyte, Novlene Williams, and Shericka Williams (4 x 400 meters relay).[2]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamaica...ummer_Olympics

It takes time to really appreciate the heights scaled!

Having said that based on our ever improving development process, juniors through seniors, it is not a stretch to expect that we could replicate or even surpass that 2008 set of performances in the future. But I have to repeat; it would be a bit much to expect us to consistently remain at that 2008 tremendously high level performance.
                              Last edited by Karl; August 2, 2013, 02:19 PM.