• Shelly tell Babylon Media fi guhwhey

Fraser-Pryce, Jeter Walk Out Of Monaco Press Conference

Published: Thursday July 18, 2013 |

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce – File

Jamaica’s two-time Olympic champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and American Carmelita Jeter walked out of a press conference in Monaco today after reporters insisted that they would ask about this week’s doping revelations.

Fraser-Pryce’s MVP teammates Asafa Powell and Sherone Simpson were among five Jamaicans who tested positive for banned substances.

Jeter, who won gold, silver and bronze medals in London last summer, has been rocked by the news that fellow American Tyson Gay’s out-of-competition test in May was positive.

Fraser-Pryce and Jeter left the room after a reporter disobeyed the press conference director who had earlier announced that athletes would not answer any questions about doping.

Simon Hart of the Daily Telegraph tweeted: "To get round ban on drug questions I asked Frasere-Pryce (sic) how Jamaicans at Lignano camp who didn't test postive were handling it. Cue walkout".

Jeter reportedly walked out first, followed by Fraser-Pryce.

Fraser-Pryce and Jeter are in Monaco for tomorrow night’s Diamond League meeting.

They will face off over 200 metres

Good Move, Shelly-Ann and Carmelita

Athletes need to do this more often! Quite clearly this reporter was intent on circumventing the already established press conference guideline. Talk about having a deliberate and desperate agenda!

I’m tempted to say that journalism has gone to the dogs, but it in fact was ALWAYS sleeping with the dogs, from even way back in the late nineteenth century with its yellow journalism! Publishers William Hearst (the New York Journal) and Joseph Pulitzer (the New York World), the masters of yellow journalism, certainly set the standard for much of the nonsense we see in today’s media.

Fourth Estate my foot!

Muckraking is always in style

But dem outright lie now. Asafa under investigation...yet still he is back in Jamaica

Asafa room raided....lie him hand over 2 bokkles

Asafa found with 50 bottles of supplements and is too much for one man...lie
        Asafa found with 1 bottle of Aleve with 50 tablets (and an energy drink) and dem have photo to prove it!

Nesta busted...lie...yet no retraction

Nesta injured...lie proven by his tweet...still no retraction

So where are the libel lawyers?

Thank yuh sah , tell Paul Doyle fi find one , im live inna babylon nest, im must ave im spin arm.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I love it, when the question was asked to Carmelita, she picked up the mike said "Thank you" and then walked out!!

Bad move! Very bad move!

Babylon media frighten yuh ? so much so yuh ave mad journalist down deh a sell babylon line,yuh wouldda think Jamaica a steriod factory !

Boss if wi nuh know yet wi affi feel.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Why, so they can just make up more lies, no matter what the facts are?

The alternative would have been a worse move

Perhaps, but wi not looking like this nation of natural athletes who have grown up on yam and dasheen.

We are very critical of others when they are caught but wi have a bag of excuses when we are. Some have been calling for life bans after the first positive test. Wonder what they are saying now? Huh, Juliet Cuthbert?

And now wi walking out on journalists. How dare they question us about it. Dem not even know what dasheen look like!

Bright!

Why not. VC busted with a medication she declared. AP and SS for a OTC stimulant as were the Blake 5 and back then the stimulant was not even on the list. Dom. Blake was also stimulant.

Except for the 2 throwers and HJumper, I cant tell when last we had androgen class bust (Except for Mullings). This lump all together thing is just plain WRONG.

For the amount ah medal we win, these numbers are NOT significant.

and who are we? Who are they? We must be the only country so quick to fling our own under a bus! Canada loved Ben Johnson until, then he was Jamaican born .... Where was Dominique Blake born? Do you see us making an issue of that?

Unapologetically Jamaican, first and foremost! If at the end they are cheats, disappointed and will cuss them but not to placate anyone else! We deal with it "inhouse"

Dyam strait!