...the spokesperson for the chiropractor who Doyle went to for a reference told him that he was not licenced in anything but that he had good hands...turns out this guy was injecting Asafa with vitamin shots among other things...a reporter for Globe and Mail was just on Nationwide Radio..
Asafa Trainer Not Even A Licenced Masseuse
Lol yute late. Mi bredin in Canada knows him and trained at the same club. Him seh Chris is a talented body worker but he cheats at everything, including having forged qualification docs hanging up on his wall. The yute get in trouble with fake currencies and all. Him mouth sweet though.
Got all this lowdown from the weekend.
When me a talk, unno fi understand that the network is large and impressive inna dis track thing.
Mi hardly play domiguess. Is mostly dominKNOW.
Canadian at centre of Jamaican doping scandal connected to controversial Toronto clinic
Tu Thanh Ha and Greg McArthur
The Globe and Mail
Last updated Tuesday, Jul. 16 2013, 5:10 PM EDT
Canadian physical trainer Christopher Xuereb, who worked with Jamaican sprinter Asafa Powell and has been implicated in a doping scandal. (twitter)
The Canadian at the centre of an emerging track and field doping scandal was a long-time employee of a Toronto sports medicine clinic operated by Dr. Anthony Galea, who pleaded guilty in 2011 to importing “misbranded” drugs, including human growth hormone, into the United States.
After two top Jamaican sprinters, Asafa Powell and Sherone Simpson, acknowledged that they had tested positive for a banned stimulant, Mr. Powell’s agent blamed the test result on Chris Xuereb, an athletic therapist who had worked off and on for several years at the Institute of Sports Medicine and Wellness Centre in Toronto.
The west-end Toronto clinic is operated by Dr. Galea, a celebrated sports physician whose past clients have included Tiger Woods, former National Football League rushing leader Jamal Lewis and former Canadian Olympic champion sprinter Donovan Bailey.
Mr. Xuereb was fired from Dr. Galea’s clinic three years ago after he allegedly provided advice to patients that he wasn’t qualified to give, said Brian Greenspan, a lawyer for Dr. Galea. In a telephone interview, Mr. Greenspan also said that Mr. Xuereb had been telling prospective employers that he was a relative of Dr. Galea, a claim that the lawyer called false.
“The only thing they have in common is their Maltese heritage,” Mr. Greenspan said.
The agent for both track stars, Paul Doyle, said that Mr. Xuereb gave supplements to the sprinters that caused them to fail their drug tests, but in Ontario Mr. Xuereb isn’t qualified to design a physiotherapy treatment plan. He is not registered with the College of Physiotherapists of Ontario, the self-regulating body that ensures people who hold themselves out as physiotherapists have passed the necessary competency test and have at least an undergraduate degree. The college does allow unqualified practitioners to hold themselves out as “assistant physiotherapists” as long as they are acting only in a support role.
Dr. Galea treated Mr. Powell once, a year ago, for a hamstring problem, which he gave the sprinter PRP, platelet-rich plasma therapy, Mr. Greenspan said.
It was four years ago that Dr. Galea and his clinic became the focus of police investigations on both sides of the U.S.-Canada border when his assistant, Mary Anne Catalano, was pulled over by a curious U.S. border guard and admitted that she was transporting misbranded drugs, including the banned-substance human growth hormone, to treat professional athletes.
Mr. Greenspan said Mr. Xuereb was last paid by the clinic in July, 2010.
Mr. Powell’s agent said Mr. Xuereb was hired on the recommendation of a Canadian chiropractor. “I know that the people he [Mr. Xuereb] trained under are very good,” Mr. Doyle said in an interview.
“I’ve got no evidence to suggest he was trying to sabotage anybody or anything like that. I don’t think that’s the case at all. I think he was trying to push the limits a little bit, trying to do the best he could for Asafa and have the best supplements he could. I don’t think he thought they were illegal or that there was anything negative in them.”
In a statement, Mr. Powell has confirmed that a urine sample he gave last month at the Jamaican National Trials tested positive for oxilofrine, a banned stimulant. But he said he did not knowingly take a supplement containing an illegal substance. “My fault here … is not cheating but instead not being more vigilant.”
When the test results came out, the two sprinters and Mr. Xuereb were in the northern Italian town of Lignano Sabbiadoro, where they have a training base. The police raided their rooms, seizing drugs and supplements. According to Mr. Powell’s publicist, Tara Playfair-Scott, police took Mr. Xuereb for questioning.
Journalists who have seen Mr. Xuereb’s Facebook account before it was taken down, reported that he is in a relationship with sprinter Esther Akinsulie, who now lives in Toronto. Last month, she was suspended for six months after testing positive for hydrochlorothiazide, a prohibited diuretic, the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport announced.
On his LinkedIn page, Mr. Xuereb says he trains current and former elite and Olympic athletes from “Canada, USA and the Caribbean.”
The LinkedIn page also says he worked for the Toronto Argonauts in 2004. Eric Holmes, spokesman for the Argos, said there is no record of Mr. Xuereb’s employment but he confirmed that Dr. Galea was the team physician at the time.
Since his 2011 conviction, Dr. Galea found himself and some of his unconventional medical procedures under a microscope. He admitted that he instructed Ms. Catalano to lie to border guards about the reason for her trips, that she was in fact delivering the drugs to NFL players, and that the drugs had been purposely disguised. But U.S. prosecutors acknowledged that there was no evidence the doctor was trying to help athletes enhance their performance through doping – rather that he was helping them heal with unapproved methods.Last edited by Karl; July 18, 2013, 02:58 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Bricktop View Post...the spokesperson for the chiropractor who Doyle went to for a reference told him that he was not licenced in anything but that he had good hands...turns out this guy was injecting Asafa with vitamin shots among other things...a reporter for Globe and Mail was just on Nationwide Radio..
You know the sad thing about all this, the publicity of the association with these people is worse than the failed test. This Dr Galea sounds like a really shady character. Asafa must really be an idiot."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I guess we can concur
He is no masseuse or masseur
That is for sure- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Islandman View PostYou know the sad thing about all this, the publicity of the association with these people is worse than the failed test. This Dr Galea sounds like a really shady character. Asafa must really be an idiot.
Asafa doesnt think for himself, his agent makes all decisions for him.Sunday, August 28th, 2011. We will never forget !!
Why yuh thhink Franno livid.
Mo all a run him mouth and dont know bout the Toronto BBQ?
This Galea breddah, is him Walter Dix and Jeter wnet to see last year...straight. I have 2 track bredrin in Toronto. One knows Chris and the other was near Galea office and saw both Dix and Jeter enter.
Why unno think seh Franno said NO CANADIANS fi come near him camp?
Dick Pound is Canadian! Dick Pound and Victor Conte a fren fron the 1980s. Dick Pound was Ben Johnson lawyah...
Dick Pound form new Alliance with Conte fi ketch crook. Wada now tek 4 years and more to keep up with new steroids. Dick Pound keeps running him mouth bout drugs, but Dick Pound is for years now no longer the Head of wada.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostHe better not be a masseuse, if he is a male trainer. Could be a masseur though!
Hellllooooo!
That is the crux of the argument and that is what we have been saying.
Now that I know what i know, i fear Asafa will be bruk by the age of 40. He is a soft touch, just look at how woman eat him out and how him into some sketchy investments that likely wont go anyway. Nuff sharks in jamaica ready to fleece. hard ears must feel.
Merlene, ratbat and nuff athletes get carried down by shady white man agent in the late 1990s and still our athletes dont learn. Sigh.
New friend.....never know yuh when yuh was nutten.