Four More Jamaican Athletes Test Positive For Banned Substan

Same ting me seh...spare us the histrionics...

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      Idiots, they should be banned for life...no excuses....
      absolute rubbish

Good one!

Is a mild stimulant extracted from bitter orange.

Could only work in weight loss with massive dosages...
          What is a mild stimulant?
          ...and as I await your answer; let me just say that the substance that Asafa and Sherone are said to have tested positive for are, for a runner, extremely dangerous as heart beat could be elevated to levels where a heart-attack is induced.

...it sure as hell makes for running faster!!!

btw an aside:- Care to comment on all the previous comments on MVP thumbing nose at Racers re: drug taking?

Willi, I am echoing Karl's question. What exactly does a "stimulant" stimulate?

stimulation

Thats what I was saying its a joke , even chiney brush, irish mosh and peanut punch soon get ban, people use it in the states to work in the USA , they have a new one 5 hour energy work booster..

kissteeth...joke ting ...dat said , how MVP mek it pass dem ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

It is very disconcerting that the sport of T&F has to undergo all this rigidity regarding the use of illegal performance enhancing drugs that the other professional sports do not have to go through. Since most of these banned drugs that T&F athletes are being caught using are stimulants, why aren't we hearing about swimmers, tennis players, footballers, basketballers etc. getting caught. After all, many of these stimulants are found in many over-the-counter drugs and supplements. Don't other professional athletes use some of these products too? Many of these same stimulants and other diuretics, by themselves, have no positive effects on some of these athletes (namely sprinters) that are testing positive. However, I do understand that they may act as masking agents for harder drugs. I cannot imagine just how difficult it is for an athlete who is clean and pure at heart to monitor every piece of food or drink, or even a "likkle" lotion fi tek off the ashiness off a him elbow, that goes into his mouth or on his body. Can you imagine the parents of a junior athletes not allowed to give their child some cold medicine to ward off a fever.

The real tragedy however, is the perception that is being cast over the sport and the athletes by lay-fans. Accidents can happen, and even doing due diligence sometimes does not catch these banned substances because many of these drugs go by different names.

I really am now concerned, after hearing Franno's interview where he is adamantly stating that Asafa and Sherone went against his wishes about hiring this trainer. The media, as usual, who is quick to report hearsay, is saying that the MVP camp was raided and over 50 forms of drugs found, when it was the trainer's room which was raided. This piece of false news is extremely damaging. Maybe JAMAICA as a whole should consider withdrawing from the upcoming world games.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It is very disconcerting that the sport of T&F has to undergo all this rigidity regarding the use of illegal performance enhancing drugs that the other professional sports do not have to go through. Since most of these banned drugs that T&F athletes are being caught using are stimulants, why aren't we hearing about swimmers, tennis players, footballers, basketballers etc. getting caught. After all, many of these stimulants are found in many over-the-counter drugs and supplements. Don't other professional athletes use some of these products too? Many of these same stimulants and other diuretics, by themselves, have no positive effects on some of these athletes (namely sprinters) that are testing positive. However, I do understand that they may act as masking agents for harder drugs. I cannot imagine just how difficult it is for an athlete who is clean and pure at heart to monitor every piece of food or drink, or even a "likkle" lotion fi tek off the ashiness off a him elbow, that goes into his mouth or on his body. Can you imagine the parents of a junior athletes not allowed to give their child some cold medicine to ward off a fever.

The real tragedy however, is the perception that is being cast over the sport and the athletes by lay-fans. Accidents can happen, and even doing due diligence sometimes does not catch these banned substances because many of these drugs go by different names.

I really am now concerned, after hearing Franno's interview where he is adamantly stating that Asafa and Sherone went against his wishes about hiring this trainer. The media, as usual, who is quick to report hearsay, is saying that the MVP camp was raided and over 50 forms of drugs found, when it was the trainer's room which was raided. This piece of false news is extremely damaging. Maybe JAMAICA as a whole should consider withdrawing from the upcoming world games.
                    you were doing okay, till the last sentence...

withdraw ? why ?
                    to cement the perception that we are cheats ?
                    let get the facts before we act like ediots.

Well that sentence was deliberate. What would be the outcome if a super power in the sport like Jamaica withdraws from a major championship? Firstly, let's look at how we will be perceived if we participate. Every athlete and medal won would be under that cloud of suspicion with certain countries and personalities having a field day. This latest "bust" has put us, Jamaica the little Third World upstarts, back several years, not to mention the sports itself.

What if we withdraw? We would be validating, in the eyes of the haters, that we have a drug problem. There is no win in any situation.

I think the real problem lies with the WADA list and forces behind the scenes.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well that sentence was deliberate. What would be the outcome if a super power in the sport like Jamaica withdraws from a major championship? Firstly, let's look at how we will be perceived if we participate. Every athlete and medal won would be under that cloud of suspicion with certain countries and personalities having a field day. This latest "bust" has put us, Jamaica the little Third World upstarts, back several years, not to mention the sports itself.

What if we withdraw? We would be validating, in the eyes of the haters, that we have a drug problem. There is no win in any situation.

I think the real problem lies with the WADA list and forces behind the scenes.
                        with or without, this recent "bust", those countries and personalities would still have their disparaging comments...every medal that we win is always under a "cloud" at the senior level, in the eyes of those other countries.

Nope....The Game has now changed

The cloud is now producing thunderstorms....diffrant ting now

Yep , we are at war , who nuh waan ear aguh feel it. a suh it set and babylon start it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nope....The Game has now changed

The cloud is now producing thunderstorms....diffrant ting now
                              TRUE !!!

Is a minor ingredient in a nutritional supplement. its not a stimulant suopplement, but a vitamin supplement with a trace of stimulant in deh. Dat should be obvious.