Track Season in full swing

• Track Season in full swing

Here's a post taken from our neighbors next door. The question is being circulated is "Should the rules be bent for certain athletes?"

fmr star
    Jamaicans!! You are your worse enemies! & it's a damn shame!
    Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:51

Bianca Knight; was 7th in the US trials Last year and obviously, based on rules was and should not have been a part of the United states relay pool, but unlike some of the ignorant administrators and selectors in Jamaica, the US selectors understands the athletes ability to execute good curves, and hence; she was selected as a part of the women 4x1 relay team running the critical 3rd leg, and she remained on the said leg all the way to the finals and helped her team broke a long standing world record!! Would a decision or something like that be done in Jamaica?!! I doubt it!! Not with some of our tribalistic people!!

Another example, yesterday; Tyson Gay made several steps on the line, enough steps to affect the runner to his left had the person been close. Mr Gay didn't make one or two steps, but quite a few. Enough to have him disqualified from the event, but guess what? The Americans knew he is their best hope and come hell or high waters?!! He would not have been disqualified!! As Otto rightly pointed out, in any other competition, one step on the line, is enough to get a disqualification.

Carl Lewis is said to have false start twice in the finals of the us trials somewhere around 88. "Not sure of the details"
    But he was not thrown out of the race after the second infraction; because the country realized he was their best hope.

So the questions that is always asked up here; is? Should the rules be adjusted from time to time to accommodate certain athletes?!! The Answer is, a big YES!

I believe it was the 09 trials, Bolt probably fast started in one of the early rounds of the 100m, had it been left up to some of these "dutty bad-minded" poster up here, he be left off the 100m team, and we all know what Bolt went on to do at the 09 world championships.. Including world records.. Another example, 2011 trials, VCB was presumed by some to have false started and should have been thrown out according to some of the same no good posters!! and truth be told, This same woman went on to almost win the sprint double, at the 2011 Worlds, she barely lost the 100m finals to Jeter and return to to win the 200m, better yet. She was Jamaica's only medalist in both individual sprints, had it been left up to some people, that would have never happened. Smh..

Now; it is without a doubt, that Asafa Powell is the best starter Jamaica has ever produce and without a doubt, a true track and field expert will tell you, that the world record in the 4x1 men has a very high percentage chance to be significantly lower; if an Asafa Powell is picked and placed on the starting leg for Jamaica in the 4x1.. Yes, I said it.. He should be picked for Moscow and remain the starter on the men 4x1 relay. Along with the best 3 sprinters available. And if VCB is not back in time for Worlds! Anny Mac, should be considered for the 3rd leg of the women 4x1. But who are we fooling here, THIS IS JAMAICA AND POLITICS IS ALWAYS AT A HIGH, eg. Look who is JAAA president?!! And I am not knocking this man too much; but he can't even give a proper address or statement without sounding like he just had a stroke...

With every country; it should always be about what is best for the country; USA track and field always seems to make good use of this strategy. Country first.. But Jamaica?!! Too many sick people wanna run things!!
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Merlene Ottey & Peta-Gaye Dowdie?

The debate has been going on for decades, whenever a favorite athlete does not do well or turn up at trials for one reason or another.

Quarrie Seoul '88
      Grace Jackson's Rome '87
      Juliet Cuthbert Stuttgart '93

I am sure there are more before that.

My view is that there are times when exceptions should be given but the case being made for Asafa in the OP is very weak.

The debate has been going on for decades, whenever a favorite athlete does not do well or turn up at trials for one reason or another.

Quarrie Seoul '88
        Grace Jackson's Rome '87

My view is that there are times when exceptions should be given but the case being made for Asafa in the OP is very weak.

Bordering on suicidal!

Asafa has not made his case. ...nd he is the only one who

...can.

If he returns to nine-eights or lower with some consistency - say 3 meets - then he should be in the relay pool. It would be difficult to argue against that nine-eight change or lower times!

I am thinking that even the displaced athlete would cheer for him and JA!!!

Quarrie Seoul '88
          Grace Jackson's Rome '87

these are good debate to be having and as long as we are a progressive track and field country it will continue. There is always the if, buts and "mi did know" but a good management team just have to try to manage it properly by setting some standards.

Even if he runs 9.8x I wouldn't put him in the relay team unless we have major problems with injuries.

He is .....

.....getting older,
              .....getting slower,
              .....has mostly underperformed at major meets

It is a tossup as to whether the relay team would be better with or without him. With a 9.8x for a flat 100m he would make it better on paper but if medals were won on paper we wouldn't have to go on the track.

An Irrational Post!! (Not you, Jangle)

With every country; it should always be about what is best for the country; USA track and field always seems to make good use of this strategy. Country first.. But Jamaica?!! Too many sick people wanna run things!!
                Jangle, this poster who you’re quoting is nothing but a clown! Why on earth is he/she raving about Jamaicans being their “worst enemies” and then providing support that rebuts his/her claims?

The same thing he/she praises the USA for doing is the same thing that he/she shows that the Jamaican decision makers do! The poster is clearly confusing an opposing view by fan(s) on the message board (where this was originally posted) with those of track and field authorities in Jamaica!

There is no reason for that post except to argue a case for Asafa Powell. Asafa’s problem this week had nothing to do with the USA examples this poster cited (Gay and Lewis) and the Jamaican examples (Bolt and VCB). Quite simply, Asafa did not make the team because of the position he came in the finals (second to last).

Silly!

I agree 100% this is a thinly disguised poor attempt for Asafa who himself has. now said that he was no fit! It would be irrational to at this stage include him in any team!

That's Right

I agree 100% this is a thinly disguised poor attempt for Asafa who himself has. now said that he was no fit! It would be irrational to at this stage include him in any team!
                    That’s right.

I’m just surprised that our colleague posters above apparently didn’t see this imposter (“fmr Star”) for what he/she is.

Even if he runs 9.8x I wouldn't put him in the relay team unless we have major problems with injuries.

He is .....

.....getting older,
                      .....getting slower,
                      .....has mostly underperformed at major meets

It is a tossup as to whether the relay team would be better with or without him. With a 9.8x for a flat 100m he would make it better on paper but if medals were won on paper we wouldn't have to go on the track.
                      On TEAM - He loses the individual weight on his shoulders (that gets him underperformances). On each and every relay he has run since his 'coming of age' he has been a beast!!!

NB: The 4 × 100 metres relay or sprint relay is an athletics track event run in ... The fastest electronically timed anchor leg run is 8.70 seconds by Asafa Powell.

...and...

Seven days later, Powell finally got his first Olympic medal as he anchored the Jamaican 4×100 m relay team to victory, helping establish a new world record in the process. His split time was recorded at 8.70 s (USATF High Performance Registered Split Analysis), bettering his previous record of 8.84 s set in Osaka, 2007.

http://speedendurance.com/2008/10/10...st-100-meters/

1. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=MVvwx3ctQz4

2. http://www.caribbeantracklife.com/ne...ay-win-at-penn

Last edited by Karl; June 25, 2013, 11:23 AM.

Yes but putting him in the relay pool means taking someone else off and dealing with the distractions and fallout from that.

Just not worth it in this particular instance in my view.

Give the other youths the experience!!