Kobe, mother fighting over clothes

• Kobe, mother fighting over clothes

Money causes people to fight over the strangest things.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------

CAMDEN, N.J. -- Kobe Bryant is in a court battle to try to keep his mother from auctioning off mementos from his high school days in Pennsylvania and his early years with the Los Angeles Lakers.

A New Jersey auction house filed a lawsuit in U.S. District Court in Camden on Thursday for the right to sell the stuff after the NBA star's lawyers wrote the firm telling it to cancel a planned June auction.

The disagreement is a high-value, high-profile version of a question many families face: Can Mom get rid of the stuff a grown child left at home?

Pamela Bryant intends to sell: the NBA star's jerseys, practice gear and sweatsuits from Lower Merion High School; varsity letters; a trophy for being the outstanding player at the 1995 Adidas ABCD basketball camp; and a signed basketball from the 2000 NBA championship game.

And then there are rings, for the 1996 Pennsylvania high school championship, a pair that the Lakers made for Bryant's parents for the 2000 NBA championship and one from the 1998 NBA All-Star game.

According to court filings, Pamela Bryant struck a deal in January with Goldin Auctions in Berlin, N.J., which earlier this year sold a rare Honus Wagner baseball card for a record $2.1 million.

She got $450,000 up front, which she intended to use for a new home in Nevada.

A source told ESPN that Kobe Bryant offered to pay his mother up $250,000 toward a home she wanted.

She refused, saying she wanted $450,000. When Kobe Bryant turned her down, the source said that unbeknownst to Kobe Bryant she struck a deal to get the $450,000 advanced through the auction company.

The source said Kobe Bryant was unaware that his memorabilia was being auctioned until hours before the auction company released the news of the sale.

Sources close to Kobe Bryant confirmed to ESPNLosAngeles.com that before learning about the auction through news reports, the Lakers star has given his parents "millions of dollars in financial assistance" throughout his 17-year career.

Bryant's parents decided to sell his high school memorabilia without his consent in order to purchase an additional home, sources said. Bryant offered to buy a house for his parents, but they wanted a larger one.

In its court filings, Goldin says Pamela Bryant told the auction house that she asked her son five years ago what he wanted to do with the items that were in her home.

"Kobe Bryant indicated to Pamela Bryant that the items belonged to her and that he had no interest in them," the auction house's attorneys wrote. So she put them in a $1,500-per-month New Jersey storage unit.

The challenge came Tuesday when Goldin sent a news release announcing the auction. By day's end, Kobe Bryant's lawyer had sent a cease-and-desist letter telling the auction house to call off the sale and return the items to him.

Kenneth Goldin, owner of the auction house, says he can't cancel the auction because he's already advanced $450,000 to Bryant's mother and put money into advertising the auction.

Kobe Bryant's lawyer Mark Campbell said in a statement, "Mr. Bryant's personal property has ended up in the possession of someone who does not lawfully own it. We look forward to resolving this legal matter through the legal system."

Bryant has had a sometimes icy relationship with his mother and father, Joe "Jellybean" Bryant, a former pro basketball player who is now coaching in Thailand.

Here is something you won't find happening in the Marshall family.

Unfortunately?

Oh?

Here is something you won't find happening in the Marshall family.

Unfortunately?
      Why not? You have no nice clothes?

This is shameful! If he has in fact given them millions of dollars in assistance why is the sale necessary? He should have taken his stuff long time as they belong to him! But it's family "bizniz" let me stay out...

Good one! Wonder what happened to the champs jersey and spikes? I also get the feeling that mosiah ran wearing a headband ....

And you know him still a wear the medal so the family have no chance getting them hands on that!

Good one! Wonder what happened to the champs jersey and spikes? I also get the feeling that mosiah ran wearing a headband ....
              ...yes the bright pink headband, that was like 2.5 inches wide, with the initials BM.

And you know him still a wear the medal so the family have no chance getting them hands on that!
                the same medal that his parents bought for him? well he was seen at the OFFICE wearing it, but now it look kinda RUSTY !! was it bronze ??

I don't think he has given them anything...he cut them off when he married the hispanic chick...which was quite awhile ago...;

Nuh di parents buys the clothes back when he was a high skooler?

The clothes yes I suppose,the trophies and other awards I think would have to be considered his.

Either way though, the whole episode is sad.

BM?!! A suh him did brave in those days?!

Willi, if your son/daughter was moving out of the family home to live on their own , would you claim the clothes you bought them as yours? I certainly wouldn't.

I would expect them though to remember where they came from and to do the right thing; no child (usually) achieves success without parental or guardian input.

Anyway, the stuff I was referring to was more the trophies and mementos, that kind of thing.

You have to believe there is a bigger issue going on, either Kobe feels like he has given her enough or she feels like Kobe hasn't taken care of her as he should, or maybe all of the above.

When he got married I remember them not being happy and him saying the Bible says the wife comes before the parents, or something like that.

How much is he obligated to give them though? Suppose he gave them say a million before he got married, and says the rest is ours? Is that disrespectful?

Kobe has given them millions of dollars...according to one of his friends this all started because the mother wanted a second house and Kobe told her he would giver her $250K towards it but she wanted $450K...he told her no so she went this route...