Random thoughts on Penn Saturday afternoon.

• Random thoughts on Penn Saturday afternoon.

1. What a run by Nolan on the 4*400 anchor, 44.4 I think I heard, one more strong leg from jamaica and that would have been a win.

2. Women's 4*400, don't think kaliese have the killer instinct, in the last leg the USA and Brit ran away from her, that is not supposed to happen, worse case is she should have cut into the lead, I am not sure why the utech newbie could not have run on the jamaica side, that would have made a great difference.

3. Can't help but say how refreshing it is to hear Ato Boldon's Caribbean voice in commentary besides the Americans, almost sounds like they are from different planets from sound to what they bring to the table in terms of knowledge and perspective.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    3. Can't help but say how refreshing it is to hear Ato Boldon's Caribbean voice in commentary besides the Americans, almost sounds like they are from different planets from sound to what they bring to the table in terms of knowledge and perspective.
    I was thinking how American he sounded! But yes, he knows an awful lot more than some of those other commentators.

Mo, Please Chill

I was thinking how American he sounded! But yes, he knows an awful lot more than some of those other commentators.
      Mo, don’t bother with that crap today!

If Ato Boldon didn’t have the ability to “sound American,” why on earth would NBC even consider employing him to broadcast to its American audience?

If this comment sounds a bit harsh, it is nothing personal, boss. However, I am sick and tired of Jamaicans dissing Ato when he, more than any other person in the media in America, has brought to the fore details of the successes of Jamaican athletes! Give the man a break! He is doing an excellent job when we consider the likely circumstances of his job.

Much, much respect, Ato Boldon!!

Nice post, Stonigut, and thanks. As usual, I won’t worry about our women’s 4x400-meter team. As in the past, we’ll no doubt get it together by August in Russia. The mile relay for men? Now that’s a whole different matter, and one which I have long lost interesting in commenting on! And yes, I am still angry at our showing at Beijing 2008!!

By the way, Stoni, why didn’t you post a comment on our Shelly-Ann Fraser-anchored 4x100-meter women’s performance?

Ato is a first class professional....he is well prepared, knows the sport, the athletes & the history.

Ato is the best thing happen to Track and Field coverage since Hubert Lawrence.
          People like to complain. I heard one man saying Hubert sound too fancy. Mi ask him if him prefer him to speak like the Lloyd Doyley sound a likes (E. Bailey, P Reid).

Yes he is not totally Trini, but the first few points I heard on turning on the tv was commentary from other people then his voice came in and my brain wave literally turned on to actually listening to what was being said and I realized that his being there made a massive difference in me listening to what was being said.

Unfortunately, I missed that race.

Ato has come a long way. Yes we didn't like him at first because he seemed to be trying too hard to be Yank. But he has settled and is the most knowledgable of our athletes on the NBC team
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  Mo, don’t bother with that crap today!

If Ato Boldon didn’t have the ability to “sound American,” why on earth would NBC even consider employing him to broadcast to its American audience?
                  But what I said was not a diss! I realise that he has to sound somewhat yank for him to land the job in the first place! Afterall, he spent quite a few years in the USA.

So, I was not dissing Ato one bit, but to say that he sounded Caribbean...that is stretching it a likkle bit!

Alto Bolton is a born Jamaican (born in Trinidad but still a Jamaican at birth) and I am reasonable sure if he really wants to he can speak with a 'more Jamaican' accent from but most broadcasters have an 'on air accent' and his on air accent 'American Trini' plus he is speaking to an american audience. Give the man a flipping break nuh!

Originally posted by Me View Post
                      Mi ask him if him prefer him to speak like the Lloyd Doyley sound a likes (E. Bailey, P Reid).
                      wooiiee mi belly!

Is wha wrong wid di whole a unnu? Who was getting on Ato's case?!? Di man sound like a yankee to my Jamaican ears! Nutten nuh wrong wid dat! Wasn't trying to diss him!

Fact is, most a unnu pon dis site sound same damn way! Nutten nuh wrong wid dat eedah!

And if unnu cyaan undastan wha mi juss write, fling it eena Google Chanslate. Mi 'ear dem have Patois < > English capability now!

Zas Crise!

Please don't get hang up with the "Speaking like a Yank", his he too hard to understand? Does he brings across T&F knowledge correctly? How many T&F media people covering T&F give us our dues?

Brethren yuh slip, and I am reaching down with a helping hand..

Can't be Jamaican except his mother applied for his citizenship while he was in her belly...so he is not a born Jamaican...him hafi bawn a Jamaica..!

"Under Chapter two of the Jamaican Constitution, persons born in Jamaica and persons born outside Jamaica of Jamaican parents have an automatic right to Jamaican citizenship. Applications for Jamaican Citizenship are done in different categories".

or

Registration (Minor)
                            Under the Jamaican Nationality Act, the minor of any citizen of Jamaica may apply to be registered as a citizen of Jamaica by a parent or guardian.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                              Can't be Jamaican except his mother applied for his citizenship while he was in her belly...so he is not a born Jamaican...him hafi bawn a Jamaica..!

"Under Chapter two of the Jamaican Constitution, persons born in Jamaica and persons born outside Jamaica of Jamaican parents have an automatic right to Jamaican citizenship. Applications for Jamaican Citizenship are done in different categories".

or

Registration (Minor)
                              Under the Jamaican Nationality Act, the minor of any citizen of Jamaica may apply to be registered as a citizen of Jamaica by a parent or guardian.
                              Nah, don't let the paperwork requirements fool you. There are three ways to get automatic Jamaican Citizenship. These are birth, desent and marriage and only the marriage route takes effect when the paperwork is complete. The birth route takes effect the moment he popped out of his mother's womb even if she never completed the application.

http://www.wipo.int/wipolex/en/text.jsp?file_id=214629

Section 3C.
                              Every person born outside Jamaica shall become a citizen of Jamaica -
                              a. on the sixth day of August, 1962, in the case of a person born before that date; or
                              b. on the date of his birth, in the case of a person born on or after the sixth day of August,
                              if, at that date, his father or mother is a citizen of Jamaica by birth, descent or registration by

virtue of marriage to a citizen of Jamaica.

Lets take it a step further. Guess what? Alto is not only Jamaican, he is a natural born Jamaican! agree or disagree?

Hint - Most Americans including Donald Trump believe that you have to born in America to be a 'Natural born american' and to be qualified to be President but they are wrong!