Correction

I have not checked if that 2009 time of 54.42 sec. was run and at what meet...but I am thinking her time that held as the 2nd fastest in history was 52.00 change...right?
    Karl, I just read your post and realize my error. It was a genuine typo on my part! Melaine’s run in 2009 in Berlin was 52.42 seconds (the second fastest time in history by a woman), NOT 54.42 as I incorrectly stated (lol).

I laughed at the way you subtly corrected me.

I apologize for that typing error, boss.

Which event Yendi used to compete in?
      Discuss? Cah she sure love to chat!

An exception would have been made for Asafa. He can use any help he can get!

She HAS OLY gold, but no WR...

WR now means Katching! !!!

Why not wait until 2014? - Hubert Lawrence

If she is making a "mistake" why is it fatal? Note I put "mistake" in quotes I do not see her pursuing HER DREAM as being a mistake. Francis said she is a "big woman", at 30 she is no longer wet behind the ears and so her decision to pursue a dream (no matter how "fatal" others see it) is something I say she should go for. Nothing ventured nothing gained. If she falls flat on her face (whether by tripping over a hurdle or figuratively) I think at this stage of her life she must be making a decision knowing all eventualities, good and bad.

I say, more power to her. She has already made a significant achievement and contribution in her career, so I say "you go for it girl!" cause you only have one life to live...and you're not getting any younger

Why not wait until 2014?

katch it...then next week a young 20 year old star bruk it

I would be more afraid of 20 year olds in the sprint hurdles and 100m!

In the 400mH, the 20year old has the disadvantage of learning her craft against a vet like MW. In the sprint, MW starts about equal in experience but lags in youthfulness.

Not sure why I am discussing the obvious here. Anyone with even basic logic an knowledge of the sport would see this as a slam dunk regiment. It is not even debatable.

KaChing, is the sound of the cash till opening to accept $$$$$!

well...she is not money motivated...we need to accept other people sdifferences

Willi is Correct!

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
                  well...she is not money motivated...we need to accept other people sdifferences
                  Aside from the correction I made to my error regarding the time (a factual error that Karl and Willi obviously recognized), I had no interest in making any other post on this topic after my “Fatal Mistake” post above!

However, this “need to accept other people’s differences” can reach absurd levels, including dictating to one of the world’s most knowledgeable and (as a result) successful coaches! Stephen Francis did not succeed by being handed tremendous talent on a platter; he succeeded by working with virtual non-entities and taking them to the uppermost levels of success! Melaine is one of his success stories, starting from her days as a St. Jago student.

What else is there for him (Francis) to prove? Shouldn’t his wisdom in this debate count for something?

That aside, Melaine has already won BOTH Olympic Games (2008) and IAAF World Championships (2009) gold medals! If she is just a few hundredths of a second – literally speaking - off the world record, why not work towards that and thereby cement her name once and for all among the TRULY GREATS?

And yes, I completely agree with what Willi said to you above, Skengy.

The only light at the end of a potentially dark tunnel is that she will try the sprints, realize its past here and take the speed training back up to the 400mH in 2014.

If she has digest all the prior programs and methods she initially claimed she did not learn at MVP, she may come back with one clear advantage. She jjust needs to avoid the pitfalls of all the clear disadvantages. MW lives on her own planet, but the good part of that is that she fears no challenge and will make a huge run at whatever target she aims at.

Final point is about Franno. What most dont seem to realize is that he is an immensely data driven coach, not an intuitive touchy feely one. His programs are based on intense research and experimentation and he uses high tech tools to prepare his athletes programs, while using low tech for the actual training. He is a difficult task master, but he builds champions from mere potential and he loves a challenge and he loves to prove people wrong when he thinks they are off base.

I knew it must have been a typo...or if like me the years are catching up a mental lapse. Knew you knew better.

Respek!

Strange she does not run well on a 400M relay leg. ...but iffa suh, a suh!

Re: If she is fine with it.
                        Yuh seit, tuh!

Nothing is more depressing and embarrassing than seeing your sporting heroes broke and struggling after they stop competing. I
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

that's usually from financial mismanagement...not from spending a season or two doing a race you LOVE...

She has finances to mismanage? Yuh think she can retire and live comfortable from 400MH?

comfortable is relative...