Bruce, the Masters....

• Bruce, the Masters....

Thought i would attend on Friday or Saturday BUT!

Least expensive ticket I see is for $1,700.00!!

I have seen tickets for up to $7K!!

I have decided to get a front row ticket in front of my TV instead!

mek sense!!

HL,

Are you serious about those ticket prices?? or is that after the fact and is a scalper you're talking 'bout?

Reason I ask is I ran into a friend of my wife at the airport on Wednesday morning when I dropped my son off (his football team is on another trip to Decatur Alabama (The Open Cup) after their disappointing Dallas Cup...anyway). She told us, wife was with me, that she was off to Augusta to watch "Tiger Woods"... I knew the wife's friend was well set (and she's single ), but I should watch her a little more closely... airfare, hotel, the obligatory shopping trips, TICKETS TO THE MATCH so to speak, she have some coin in her pocket...

Very serious about the prices:

It's like any other sport of event that is in high demand. Normal priced tickets are sold out months before the event. Folks with tickets will contact brokers like Amazon Tickets or StubHub to sell their tickets at several times the actual price. (I would not be surprised if the promoters of popular events are in on the 'scalping').

Example: I got my ticket for The USA v. Costa Rica from StubHub. It was for a ridiculous price (that I am ashamed to tell you). Suffice it to say, I will not be bashful to buy premium seat tickets at regular price for any future football game.

Last year a friend who is also "well set" stayed by my house to attend the Masters. He was in charge of a golf course in Dubai for several years. He merely flashed his badge and he enjoyed the rights and privileges at the Masters.

You will notice that this crowd at the Masters is more 'cultured'. There is no running around, the cheering is more subdued (no 'get-in-the-hole!!!' ) is not really allowed.

Ticket price for Sunday is now brushing 8K!!

Oh BTW: have you decided on the bike race in Jamaica? I think if you are in condition--you should do it.
        Last edited by HL; April 12, 2013, 09:36 PM.

Well, I suspect the wife's friend must have bought her ticket in advance as she said it's her third time 'going, but anyway, me, I'd be joining you in the front row before the TV

Regarding the bike thing in JA I haven't decided yet; it isn't a race but a charity ride to raise funds for the ICU at UC (I think). All I would like to achieve is to finish the ride in one piece. The hard part would be crossing Mt. Diablo, after that it should be a breeze ( I hope ). I'll keep you posted on how that "project" develops.

Smart move. Save your money and watch the regular PGA tournament in Atlanta or the grand finale, The Tour Championship, which is also in Atlanta.
            Last edited by Bruce; April 13, 2013, 10:22 AM.