• Our young sportsmen and women

Watch from 7:16

http://televisionjamaica.com/Program...x/Videos/25394

Compare with:

http://televisionjamaica.com/Program...x/Videos/25393

At least Seaton sound confident. The rest sound like them trying to translate then speak.

Originally posted by Me View Post
      At least Seaton sound confident. The rest sound like them trying to translate then speak.
      Glad yuh put it that way - translate then speak. Because that is what most of us do when we try to speak our non-native English. Seaton just give it us plain. I bet if he were talking to an interviewer from DC United, he would not sound like that. But I am happy he just spoke to us in a language we can all understand, and we could listen without cringing.

Those Interviews....

Glad yuh put it that way - translate then speak. Because that is what most of us do when we try to speak our non-native English. Seaton just give it us plain. I bet if he were talking to an interviewer from DC United, he would not sound like that. But I am happy he just spoke to us in a language we can all understand, and we could listen without cringing.
        I realize that this subject of public speaking (interviews, etc.) is somewhat of a controversial one of sorts on this board, but I’ll make a comment here.

First, I must confess that I completely agree with poster Me’s view that “Seaton sound confident.” The youngster definitely handled himself with confidence in that interview, and his pleasant, easy-going persona is an added bonus.

Mo, have you listened to Simoya Campbell or Megan Simmonds? Both young ladies are VERY articulate and, indeed, impressive in interviews.

Watching Oral Tracey’s commentary just now, it’s a pity that we didn’t see the rest of the interview after the “mi foot a hat mi” comment from Jamaica’s first leg runner. The next person in the lineup who spoke was Campbell, and she more than made up for the weakness of the previous interviewee. Simoya knows how to handle herself in front of a microphone and lights, like others such as Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce do so well.

In the case of hurdler Megan Simmonds, I could watch and listen to her all day! Not only is she very articulate, but she exudes even more confidence than the person conducting the interview! Megan genuinely impresses me!

Oh your are talking about Princess Simoya Campbell, my girl that, there is a rumor that she is being groomed in the 400M mold.

I dont have a problem with it, its expected , patwa is our dominant language ,but english is the official one .Only the educated can verse in both cc( X Post who is the coach) .I have heard black americans express themselves as such , not in the standard english of a university but of the streets and even so , some express themselves better than some.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

No doubt, there are some who simple amaze me, especially when they did not attend MC or some such school!

Pullen from Calabar and several young ladies have been quite impressive.

But there are some who need some work. If it was just about handling interviews, that would be one thing, but to me, it speaks to a bigger question - what is their overall academic achievement like? I mean, some a dem just sound chupid, nah lie! I could name names, but won't!

I was hoping to get some views on the use of patois by Seaton, and to hear whether or not we should encourage it by our athletes, esp. those who just cannot speak a lick of English!

I prefer when they speak in their first language, whatever that may be. Not sure ebonics is the first language of black Americans. Is it?

To hear our people struggle thru interviews, needing to translate their sentences from patwa to English, is sad. If only we would embrace our first language and then teach English as a foreign language, we all could be bilingual like so many people across the globe!

What I prefer Is they speak as best they can , be it English or patwa .I agree that they need to be taught how to conduct interviews, as for our language being embraced in what capacity ? isn't patwa our national language ? its just not the official national language,why do we need to teach English as a 2nd language ? that implies teaching patwa as our 1st ?

1) What is to be taught about patwa ? I am sure you know there are so many strains of Patwa from Kingston to country .I have heard some patwa in the country side I don't understand.Then yuh ave rasta patwa.

2) We are already bilingual , we understand English and patwa very well , some express it better than some , be it English or patwa.Some verse in both fluidly cc: (Who is the coach post...)

3) Our problem is a literate problem , that has nothing to do with making English a 2nd language, because even if we do as you say make patwa our 1st language , we still need English literacy to communicate in the global world , and that is the problem.

4) Isnt patwa embraced already , why do you think these youths feel comfortable expressing themselves as such ? its embarrassing to the educated because it says our nation has failed to bring them up to English literacy standard of formality (interviews, speech , mannerism ) , not patwa standard, we are doing a damm good job and I am sure they would say the same.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

2) We are already bilingual , we understand English and patwa very well , some express it better than some , be it English or patwa.Some verse in both fluidly cc: (Who is the coach post...)
                    Disagree! We cannot speak English and some of us don't understand it. Yuh know di amount a time mi haffi break it down fi some people who look pon mi like mi come from Mars?!

Thats a class issue ,where when english is spoken in certain classes you are looked at like an outsider, and they will treat you as such,pity yuh neva twang , den yuh would see how dem understand how yuh yankee dollars strong.Seriously as a youth growing up i leant quickly , you dont speak english in certain areas, if you value your life.

Seaton speaks just like me. If he was speaking with an American interviewer, he sounds as if he could easily make the switch to Yankee. The comfort in speaking stems from having a good grasp of the English language, which many Jamaicans lack.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That's It!

Seaton speaks just like me. If he was speaking with an American interviewer, he sounds as if he could easily make the switch to Yankee. The comfort in speaking stems from having a good grasp of the English language, which many Jamaicans lack.

I suspect you are absolutely correct here. In fact, even if Seaton could not “easily make the switch to Yankee” in the same way that, say Usain Bolt or Aleen Bailey do, the fact that he seems to understand the fundamentals of the English language would indeed make a huge difference.

Good point, Jangle!

The fact is we are not grooming our athlete. They may speak good if they are from educated families, naturally good in English, or trained.

The fact is too many of our athletes are not trained to handle any press or public speaking. Most are just lucky to make the Carifta team. How many of these schools actually trains athletes or their students to do public speaking etc. except a few bright sparks who represent them in School Challenge, festival and a few other events?

This is more on the school system and our broken homes, more than the athletes and that is why I feel sorry for these kids rather than criticising them.

It is about preparation. Can't use these interviews to judge them academically on a whole but it may tell a sad tale. Believe it or not but some a dem brethren might be bigging them up for their interview that we "john public" don't like.

I knew a few people who could speak decent english and couldn't pass "o" Level and some patwa speaking youth surprise you. LOL