A Question for the Forum

• A Question for the Forum

Willi, TDowl, or any other track and field historian, I have an urgent question: Which country won the Carifta Games in 1983?

The facts are as follows:

1. Jamaica failed to win the title a total of only five times;

2. Bermuda won in 1975, when the Carifta Games was held in Bermuda;

3. The Bahamas won in 1980, 1981 and 1984.

My question, therefore, is this: Was it Martinique, or was it the Bahamas, that won the overall Carifta Games title in 1983?

I keep seeing where its being published that the Bahamas won four times, but I’m not sure whether they won in 1983 (in which case it would be four times) or whether Martinique did (in which case it would be three times for the Bahamas). Incidentally, the 1983 Carifta Games was held Martinique.

Thanks in advance, gentlemen.

I think Martinique won.

1983 Bahamas won in Martinique, 2nd JA, 3rd Barbados.

TDowl....

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
        1983 Bahamas won in Martinique, 2nd JA, 3rd Barbados.
        Thanks a million, TDowl and Mo. I appreciate the feedback from you gentlemen.

By the way TDowl, I see that the media has therefore been correct in stating (recently) that the Bahamas won a total of four times. I was wondering if an error was being made. Thanks for putting it into perspective.

I name myself “Historian” but the fact is that, as far as Jamaican track and field is concerned, I have NEVER encountered a greater historian than you, either on the Internet or off. Literally!

It’s a pity many/most posters here do not know the immense body of work you have carried out in your efforts at archiving details of Jamaica’s performances at every level of track and field! Much respect for your impressive work, Mr. Dowl.

Why thanks, Historian! But my knowledge of T&F is really only average. I'm but a mere and humble silver medalist at the august sports festival called Boys Champs!

Huh?! A neva me yuh wenna talk? Heh heh!

Yeah man, TDowl know him ting!

Wasn't that when your event was called hop-scotch?

Many thanks Historian, for more about Carifta Top Three - http://www.talawah.com/CariftaTopTeams.htm

No, Hop Step and Jump, don't forget Broad Jump, hop off a Mo...

If it was held at Boys Champs, what does it matter?

Badmind and grudgeful! Gwey man!

Thanks, TDowl!

Low him still, badmind a go kill him!

Lol....gwaan mi 'hurglar'....(rhymes with burglar)...

BTW yu a know a youth name Roach from St Jago? Man nevva train at all..2 weeks before champs mi see him set up couple hurdles then come a Champs and get medal...real talented..quiet youth...had real potential..never seemed to take it seriously...

HAHA! Mi neva tief nuhbody medal!

Do not know Roach from Jago.

That was me. Did it a few times and was naturally good at it. Started training harder after that success, but the hurdles height was not working wid my plans!

Ha...shld be around your time..I think..Class 1 though...circa 75/76..