Carifta Medal Tally (After 2 Days)

[quote=Time;416239]Wolmer's girls sprinters are on lockdown because most of the team is doing final exams. The not even allowed to go the Penn Relays.[/quote]

at least we know that the academic growth of the students count!

They did the same at the swimming. Out in numbers and very vocal. Some to the point of rudeness, a minority though

Didn't know that... how come? or why wouldn't they have seen about that before... anyway, does it mean the records set on the track don't count at all?

Just a Sidebar Here....

I am wondering if you see the irony of your post! I am hugely entertained! A legacy from 1948 until when? So JAM did not win every single gold silver and. Bronze, oh the horror!

reminds me of a line from the movie 'life of Brian' ..... So what exactly have the Romans done for us"
          Feel free to quote from any movie you wish.

Now, although the focus is on Carifta, let me just input here that on a global athletics level, Jamaica’s legacy at the 1948 and 1952 Olympic Games was lost somewhere in the mix in the decades that followed! And I mean lost!!

We did not begin to really show the promise of 1952 until that turnaround year 2006 in Australia (although the signs of a positive change were shown from as early as the 2004 Athens Olympic Games).

However, it was not until the Beijing Olympic Games in 2008 that this 1948/1952 legacy was finally successfully continued at the global level.

We can continue this discussion all day if you wish, boss.

A lie yuh a tell!

And that meet is bigger than Champs?!?!?

Even Western Champs may be giving Carifta competition to rah!

The point of my wanting to send our B team to Carifta is not to water down the meet but to give encouragement to our athletes. Imagine, Asafa could have won at Carifta had they sent the B team in his time. Think about what that could have done to his confidence now!

Billy Miller, don quarrie, Merlene and others may not agree 100% with you overlooking their achievements, but that aside. Assuming you are correct, seeing that we are on the up, the best time to have made observatin would have been in the 50's and 60's ..... Not when we are top.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  Now, although the focus is on Carifta, let me just input here that on a global athletics level, Jamaica’s legacy at the 1948 and 1952 Olympic Games was lost somewhere in the mix in the decades that followed! And I mean lost!!
                  Lost??? LOL

The legacy was not lost...just not fully consummated. Jamaica did not have the material base to continue at that world class level sprinting we started at in the 1948-52 Olympics (in the 400m mainly) ...we just happened to have a group of 3 extraordinary 400m runners at that time...and lucked into a great coach, Joe Yancey

If the period between 1952 and 2004 is regarded as "lost" this implies total disrespect (not wilful I'm sure) for some magnificent athletes developed in the interregnum .. often competing unfairly against drugged-out Europeans and Americans.....Keith Gardner, Mel & Mal Spence, Dennis Johnson, Lennox Miller, Quarrie, Ottey, Juliet Cuthbert, Grace Jackson, Ray Stewart, Mike Fray, Colin Bradford, James Beckford, Deon Hemmings, Bert Cameron, Greg Haughton etc etc

Also we should not regard the current era of sprint dominance as our birthright ...it is not...and it will not continue like this indefinitely

History is cyclical Historian...tudeh fi mi...tommorow fi yuh
                  Last edited by Don1; April 2, 2013, 03:08 PM.

Only class 2 certified:

http://www.thenassauguardian.com/ind...7582&Itemid=50

Not class 1, only class 2..so Carifta records stand, but not sure that WR and WJR would stand.

Nuh dehso di Reggae Boyz going to play Tottenham? And it not even meet FIFA standard?!?!

A weh di?

$$$ talk...

Actually, Jamaica still "cleaned up"... I saw the 4x400 U20 set a new Carifta recod on the live stream... something like 3:05ish...

One thing I must give the Bahamians credit for besides the athletes' performances, is how they came out in their numbers and supported this meet... the stadium was pretty full and the organizer said it was sold out; the gaps in seating he said, that were opposite their grand stand were reserved for athletes , trainers, et al.
                            Actually, it was filled by the Jamaican crowd. The camera was only showing the section where most of the Bahamians were sitting. It was not sold out.
                            The Bahamian crowd left the stadium when they realised that the 4x400m boys were reinstated after they were DQ'd for nothing. Most of them were gone for the closing ceremony.