Marlon Samuels injury

• Marlon Samuels injury

When people make fuss about how some players are unpatriotic reh reh and all they want is money, I have to shake my head because in a blink of an eye (no pun intended) you could go from star to has been. I sincerely hope there is no permanent damage to Samuels' eye.

http://m.couriermail.com.au/sport/cr...-1226549798769

Me dun say dat long time. People cuss Asafa bout him a fake injury, cuss Sandy Richards-Ross because she choose fe represent the US, and now i bet dem a cuss Sterling too. Ask when they sacrificed their profession for the national good and them start look round and act like Scooby-Doo.

I have a bredren used to say him know many patriotic Jamaican footballers from back in the day, and if you go down Boys Town them will beg you a money.

If Sterling plays for Jamaica how would that affect his huge salary with Liverpool?

The question is what career benefit does he get by playing for Jamaica? Why should he put up with all the inconveniences that comes with that? He is a product of English football so it makes sense that England should be his first choice.

I don't necessarily agree that because he is a "product" of English football that England should be his first choice. IMO he is equally a product of Jamaica which provided the "raw material" so to speak. Not because I attended a Canadian university means I should feel an allegiance to Canada; in fact Canada should probably have paid compensation to Jamaica for me when I started to work there and pay taxes... Canada made no investment in my education prior to university (except for one year), Jamaica did and essentially they got nothing for that investment.

Sterling's choice is a personal one and I'd leave it at that.

Looks like Marlon will be charged for his encounter with warne.

Surely it is his choice but personally I don't give as much significance to the location where your mother pushed you out as most people do. Its the society and culture that makes you what you are that counts the most in my ranking system.

He learnt his trade in England from the youth level. That doesn't mean he MUST play for them but to me it makes sense that his football loyalty would be with them. That doesn't make him a non-Jamaican in my view either.

All my education and upbringing was in Jamaica so in my mind I owe Jamaica's education system and society a great debt. If I left JA at 8 and was raised in another country I doubt I would feel that way although I would still respect and celebrate my Jamaican heritage.

I realize its an issue that people will see differently though.

On the flip side of that I also think it is immoral to deport youths back to a country they left as children, regardless what their legal status is. They are products of the society they grew up in and that society should deal with their issues.
              Last edited by Islandman; January 9, 2013, 10:02 AM.

That's another question. I thought we were talking about going for the money when you can because you never know what can happen to you in the future.

Sterling's money, if managed wisely, can't done if he has a 10 year career in the EPL. Throw in 6 more pickney wid 7 baby modda and him still spose to safe.

So, playing for Jamaica, instead of England would not have negatively impacted his pocket.

Remember the talk when Usain did buss? "Can't stay a Jamaica"; "haffi leave Puma", and the rest of it.

I think a good case could be made for Sterling to play for Jamaica. Unless he takes the game by storm, and start vying for ballon d'ors, he will become another "also ran" in England.

Imagine representing Jamaica! Hero status for generations!

(Of course, we have to learn how to make simple tournaments like the Gold Cup, at least, for this to make sense.)

Considering how much we used to love Johnny Barnes, that may well be true.

Still think it would have been a risky career move.

Don't you think he gave some kind of assurance to Liverpool about national duty during negotiations?

Sterling's money, if managed wisely...
                      Now that is a BIG if, based on what we know about professional athletes. Yout already have 2 baby momma to rhatid. Not a promising sign.

it all started with the captain saying that they would 'low him ....

Sure would be risky! Not blaming him for going the England route.

Don't you think he gave some kind of assurance to Liverpool about national duty during negotiations?
                            Who holds the handle here?

That's another question. I thought we were talking about going for the money when you can because you never know what can happen to you in the future.

Sterling's money, if managed wisely, can't done if he has a 10 year career in the EPL. Throw in 6 more pickney wid 7 baby modda and him still spose to safe.

So, playing for Jamaica, instead of England would not have negatively impacted his pocket.

Remember the talk when Usain did buss? "Can't stay a Jamaica"; "haffi leave Puma", and the rest of it.
                              That's like saying Usain should just run the Grand Prix circuit and forget about the Olympics...because that is what Sterling will be doing if he came to play for Jamaica