Stephen Francis/Michael Frater

• Stephen Francis/Michael Frater

MICHAEL Frater says despite proclamations by MVP Track and Field Club head coach Stephen Francis that he may find himself without a training base after being elected third vice-president of the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA), he is determined to continue along his chosen path.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2EkSYDiAU

“I was very disappointed when I saw the comments made by the coach, but I made a decision and I’m sticking with my decision. This is what I chose to do... and for me it’s just (that) I’ve finally found a way where I can actually help the athletes... this is the path I’ve chosen and I’m going to stick with the decision I’ve made and if coach Francis has a problem with that, then so be it,” said Frater.
    Frater is no fool and no puppet.

True but Francis nuh want a VP inna him camp. Don't see how will work with a VP inna MVP camp while the coach making decisions that will be opposite to JAAA. Will Frater listen to his coach, or act in his possition as VP?

I don't see it as workable thing.

True but Francis nuh want a VP inna him camp. Don't see how will work with a VP inna MVP camp while the coach making decisions that will be opposite to JAAA. Will Frater listen to his coach, or act in his possition as VP?

I don't see it as workable thing.
        VP was always in that camp...wha duh yuh

i cannot believe what i am reading to rhatid! willi, can you explain? you usually have an answer for all things asafa and franno ....

was he always a VP? while in MVP?

It's an intrinsic ting.... nuh fret ova dat

well is just like MVP widout di "M"

i cannot believe what i am reading to rhatid! willi, can you explain? you usually have an answer for all things asafa and franno ....
                  Unfortunately, conflict between MVP and JAAA is not going to end overnight.

Let's say, at a date in the future, Franno makes a decision that MVP not reporting to JAAA training camp and has an technical excuse to do so. Frater is known to show up at JAAA camp when other's gone with Franno to camp. Will Frater vote to take action against MVP?

Franno makes a decision that MVP not practising any fast baton change. Frater is know to go to relay training. Will Frater vote to take action against MVP?

Franno makes a decision that MVP not showing up a major event unless paid a specific amount. Will Frater vote to take action against MVP?

It's a sad state of affairs. Frater, Steven, Paul , Bruce and Dave Myrie knows each other very well and used to work together for the good of Wolmer's. They won't do anything to deliberately hurt each other. Frater may also use his influence to make sure the JAAA is fair to MVP but Frater may have to take a stand against MVP and there lies the conflict.

I hope Frater can succeed in his role. Franno need to go see Aggrey Irons

What I don't understand is why this would not have been dealt with before he ran of office? Surely he must have run it by Franno and got some kind of a reaction?

What a mixup and blender.

Myrie, the KC headmaster and 1st VP of the JAAA, is also a director of Racers!

A man wrote this cross suh:
                        There was always going to be a conflict of interest.
                        A number of posters alluded to the fact that there would be a serious conflict of interest if an athlete from MVP or Racers won a spot on the JAAA executive panel. After all, if recent history is any guide, the JAAA will be at odds with athletes and their clubs.

And lo... it has come to pass.

Warren Blake seems to conveniently forget that the relationship between the JAAA and MVP has always been ...strained, to put it mildly. I remember in 2008 and 2009, Dr. Blake was very strong in advocating a ban of the MVP athletes when they did not turn up to camp.

----------------------
                        “That is the way I’m leaning unless something else can be worked out. If he (Frater) can explain how my issues will be addressed satisfactorily and how he can convince us that he will not allow those on the JAAA executive to sabotage us (he can stay),” Francis said.
                        ----------------------

Now I do not know if both parties have buried the hatchet, but based on Franno's statements, it seems is if he does not have any trust in Dr. Blake and the JAAA.

Now comes the dilemma. If he remains with MVP, he will be in a position to harm the club if he decides to side with the JAAA in controversial situations.

So when things "come up to bump", will Frater defend the JAAA position, or will he be in MVP's corner? You cannot serve two masters, especially when both parties are at odds with each other.

Ian Fobes is the only voted in member who was NOT on the Blake ticket. This was written by another poster:

Well this has happened faster than even me, a cynic, thought it would ... the "Inclusive JAAA" managed to have a press meeting (to strategically plan the way forward for Jamaica's athletes WITHOUT the 3rd Vice President one Mr Ian Forbes) HE WAS NOT INVITED TO THE MEETING!!!!!

Now I know that there are people on this Forum who believe that Team Dr Blake can do no wrong!! But this is really unacceptable behaviour ... Ian Forbes got over 150 persons to vote for him at the recently concluded JAAA General Elections ... he is therefore a legally elected member of the executive ... so NOBODY HAD THE RIGHT TO LEAVE HIM OUT OF ANY JAAA DISCUSSIONS!! Like it or not he is an integral part of the JAAA executive deliberations.

Are these the same people who said over and over, they want what is best for Jamaica's track and field programme? ... then they have a "strategic planning meeting" published in today's Observer newspaper ... those present were Dr Blake, President, Dave Myrie, 1st VP, Michael Frater 3rd VP, Vilma Charlton 4th VP ... NO IAN FORBES ... what the hell is going on?

Does this seem inclusive to anyone? Is Dr Blake suffering from early onset Alzheimers? What about venerable Miss Charlton did she ask where was Mr Forbes? What about Mr Myrie who has been at pains to tell everyone how much integrity he has? Does his integrity not spread as far as ensuring that a board member is included in a strategic meeting? What of young Frater? Did he ask for Mr Forbes? (I am prepared to give Frater a brake, he's new and has no idea what manner of people he is among (lol)

Buck up fellows ... this is not "cricket" ... it certainly isn't "track and field" either

This is a **** poor start to an administration which has a 4 year term in office ... Team Dr Blake remember Ian Forbes, the guy who is MD for Sherwin Williams? He's in Jamaica and I'm sure his email address and his cell phone numbers are available to the JAAA hierarchy --- Howard Aris must be turning in his grave .. obviously this is not a good start Team Dr Blake ... Send a bearer with a message if you cannot find his phone numbers

But then Ian can always report this unconstitutional behaviour of the JAAA to Track & Field's governing body the IAAF

A poster responded like this:
                          ----------------------
                          I respect him for standing up and going against his coaches sentiments.
                          --------------------------

I will respect him if he shows that he is all about the rights of the athletes, will not be a "yes man" to the senior JAAA members, and will not be afraid to "rock the boat" when needed.

I will further respect him if he is able to curb and expose the corruption that is rumored to be rampant in the JAAA (quite a few members left the incumbent ticket because of this) and to ensure that the promises of making the organization more transparent are kept.

But time will tell an we will see if "respect is due".

Is ah KC ting.... Blake dem cyaan tek Faro like ow is JC im seh

maybe, maybe not. who knows