I would have run for Jamaica

• I would have run for Jamaica

Disgraced former Jamaican-born sprinter Ben Johnson now claims that he would have run for the country of his birth, and not Canada, if he could somehow turn back the hands of time.

The former track star, recently featured in the tell-all documentary 9.79, aired recently on US television network ESPN, as a part of its 30 for 30 series, has accused the maple leaf nation of leaving him in the cold after doping allegations surfaced.

"I probably wouldn't run for Canada. I probably would have run for Jamaica," Johnson told Canadian news agency CBC (http://www.cbc.ca) at the film's premiere.

"Canada never protected me or tried to reach out," Johnson went on. "They just left me in the middle of the river and said 'Swim, buddy."

The film produced by British film-maker Daniel Gordon, and aired on the US network this month, chronicles the meteoric rise and then dizzying fall of the sprinter, the sport of track of field's biggest name in the late 1980's. Johnson won the 1988 men's Olympic 100m final in a blistering time of 9.79, a mark, that had it stood, would not have been equalled until eleven years later by the United States' Maurice Green and not broken until 17 years later by Jamaica's Asafa Powell (9.77). However, Johnson, who also set a world record at the 1987 World Championships, was stripped of the gold medal and the time after his urine samples tested positive for stanozolol, a drug used on horses.

Johnson was born in Falmouth, Trelawny , the same parish as Jamaican sprint legend and current world record holder Usain Bolt, but emigrated to Canada in 1976.

Thank God for small mercies.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

read it again and see what he is REALLY saying....notice dem draw for bolt and trelawny....

Me nuh too brite so you will just haffi explain it to me.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

tek people fi idiot. because Jamaica inna the limelight now him woulda run for us. Bem Johnson is canadian athlete and nothing else. He is Jamaican but I don't think at any time he would have worn the Jamaican colours. In hindsight(now that things turn out bad) he would run for Ja. HAHA, what a joke.

...he believes he was hung out to dry by Canada... I think he's saying that given the treatment he (perceived he) received after the 88 scandal he would not run for Canada if he had to do it over... hindsight.

He needed serious guidance which he either didn't get or foolishly ignored... don't know the facts on that.

We hang out our disgraced athletes (sometimes) too...

We are the MOST vicious nation to caught dopers.

As we should but one thing we don't do is deny that they are Jamaican. He was Canadian when he won gold and was breaking world records. When the drug thing hit the fan he became 'Jamaican born' Ben Johnson.

We accept all Jamaicans no matter what other nationality...lol..remember Donovan Bailey?

When asked if he considers himself Jakan or Cunuck, DB answered...

"Canada is home, Jamaica is YARD!"

..o true...I remember...a lot of people don't understand that though...

Right, him ah try look some air time yah now, wha did stop him from represent wi long time. In hindsight, him decision was right fi run fi Canada, can yuh imagine if it was Jamaica den all di speculation around Usain wouldah seem more like a fact yah now. Good ting him choose Canada, great job!!

good eye mi brethren.