Gabby Douglas needs a good team of advisors

Glad you posted this HL. My wife told me of it and I asked her to save the link (was busy) didn't get to see it. They can say what they want; to portray the wife of the US president as a slave is offensive. We all understand the effect of imagery and symbols.

Then again; this coming from Spain is worth a great laugh from Michelle.

What Gabby Said!

What claim did she make against the coaches ?
      I not only watched the interview on the Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN) on Sunday night, I recorded it on DVD.

Muadib, she did not say anything about negative any of her coaches. In fact, she obviously had a very high opinion of the coach who prepared her for the Olympics.

Also, Gabby was not “bawling” about racism, as was stated elsewhere in this thread (not by you, Muadib). She mentioned to Oprah that yes, she had experienced racism, and then she told Oprah that she would relate one instance only. According to Gabby, one of the girls at her gym had jokingly(?) stated that Gabby was their slave.

I’m sure you all agree that that remark was in unbelievably poor taste!

She Does Not Need Advisers!!

Based on the Oprah interview, I see no need for Gabby to get advisers, as she handled herself with obvious intelligence and class.

It would be nice sometimes if we actually watched or read something before we jump to conclusions on an issue and so make erroneous comments.

Wah yuh mean? ...innah a wah hearea?

Mi did ear seh dem start di same time shi win di haul-around medal wid a US multi-million dollar 4 year deal (?)

Read My Post Above

Wah yuh mean? ...innah a wah hearea?
            Read my comments above. I have that Oprah Winfrey interview on DVD (I recorded it last Sunday night), and what is being stated on this forum is a distortion of what Gabby said!

you may want to reconsider that. I usually give people the benefit of the doubt but nuh matter how much you paying me, respect go a far way.

Losing your dignity, pride and giving people the right to step on you will get you nowhere. You might be getting 90 now but their intention is to get you 0 mi friend.

Brethren, what she may have said is one thing, and what is "distorted" in the media has more impact and that is the bottom line.

<Well yuh can do a lot of good works fi charity behind the scenes. If yuh waan tek advantage of your star power and mek nuff $$$ then yuh haffi watch yuh mouth. Yuh think dem would hire Al Sharpton & Rev Jessie fi advertise corn flakes?>

A bit over the top in light of the facts..

Re: What she may have said is one thing

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                    Brethren, what she may have said is one thing, and what is "distorted" in the media has more impact and that is the bottom line.
                    Reference was made in the thread-starter about Gabby’s interview on Oprah Winfrey’s, followed by comments here that to some extent almost reflected media shenanigans rather than what was said.

Having watched and recorded the interview, I felt obliged to try and set the record straight. There were not two sets of interviews, so what I saw is what the sensationalism-oriented American tabloid writers saw as well. I do NOT think that Gabby needs advisers because, prompted by Oprah, she was candid in a subdued way. For instance, this talented, likeable teen did not show any bitterness or any such thing.

Where does honesty stand nowadays?

I am still angry at the focus that was given to her hairstyle even as she was creating Olympic history in London and so I tend to be sensitive to the barbs that will inevitably be thrown her way! Whether we like it or not, Gabby lives in a society that, despite the many good attributes, is in the final analysis a seabed of hypocrisy!

Since living here in fareen, I have not experienced much direct racism. I am at a disadvantage though because I came here as an adult so I may be naive to racism even when it's done subtlely. That's what happens when you grow up in a country where you are used to people of my colour holding high offices and being successful. Having grown up in a black country like Jamaica, racism has little effect on a person like me because I don't have any inferiority complexes which many black Americans suffer from, becuase of their past experiences. Many here, go out of their way to seek out perceived racist abuses.

I had/have a white client who uses jokes to cover his racist ways of thinking about blacks and Jamaicans. His assinine comments don't bother me one bit because I am in a better position than him for him to seek out my services. I conduct the business and take his money. Money is green. If I am making US$90m per year and have to endure some racism, then I'll take it. I am too old and confident in myself for any racist remarks to get under my skin. US$90m!!!!!
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You don't have to be conscious of it to be a victim of racism.

Yes, it may not really hurt you, but you are a victim just the same!

I'll be a victim for US$90m.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Me too! But you may not be so ok with it if you found out you could have been twice as wealthy were you not victimised.

greedy

You have different level. The ones who take the small jabs. The ones who work you and use you to get ahead and never give you credit and promote others above you just because of their background and nothing else and then you have those who want to get you out by "any means necessary".

The last two will get to you and you may have to be fighting daily to stay above water. It may not be worth the 90 grand and it may even affect your family (You know how the wife them stay already). That is why I save every email etc.