IAAF World Relays: Why Bahamas & Not Jamaica?

• IAAF World Relays: Why Bahamas & Not Jamaica?

This is not to mock our Caribbean neighbour but to draw attention (again) to the fact that the country has failed to exploit its potential thus far and this may be affecting her confidence. Ironically, Jamaican confidence should be sky high after the London Games and the country should be able to ride this 'bump' for sometime. To attract such a high profile track competition would have been the ideal way to crown the recent achievements and extend the country's feel-good factor.

We need not be reminded that we turn 40 next year, but a look at Jamaica 10 years on must remind us that we must not end up where Jamaica is now. Continued investment in our infrastructure ('by hook or crook') will increase the likelihood that we can have the confidence to compete for such events going forward. However, we should look to the day when all Caribbean countries have the confidence to solicit major events, sporting and otherwise, because regional competition for the attention of the world does not have to be a zero-sum game.
    full @ http://www.weblogbahamas.com/blog_ba...-and-2015.html

Re: IAAF World Relays

This writer reeks of condescension! But isn’t that typical of how some of our neighbors in the region view us (see the e-mail from the Grenadian that I included in a post a few days ago)? In addition, some of this blogger’s country people see Jamaica as the major obstacle in their attempt at regional track and field superiority.

The inclusion in his blog of 50-year-old Jamaica’s economic scenario is not really necessary to this discussion of his country’s success in getting the rights to the World Relays. Also, was it necessary for him to drive in a comparison of his country’s more impressive economic performance with Jamaica’s glaring failures? The discussion could have proceeded smoothly without this not so subtle knock.

I am no defender of the useless JAAA or the equally unresponsive Jamaican ministry of sports, but we should be aware that Jamaica’s massive economic problems at the present time might make it a challenge to sponsor a major global meet like what the World Relays competition will no doubt be.

On the other hand, the writer has made a very important point about Jamaica (“….the country has failed to exploit its potential thus far”). Making a serious and successful effort to negotiate these inaugural relay meets, especially after our high profile successes in Beijing and London, would have been like the icing on the cake! Our present Jamaica Invitational, a somewhat overrated event (in my opinion) no way measures up in terms of visibility and international appeal when compared with an IAAF World Relay Championships.

Thumbs down for this blogger and more so for our JAAA.

On the other hand....

Now that I’ve pondered the article at greater length, I’m beginning to wonder if, in offering to host the inaugural competitions in 2014 and again in 2015, the Bahamas hasn’t taken on more than it can handle? To date, the biggest track and field meet that it has hosted is, as far as I’m aware, the CAC Games back in 2005. Aside from that, the Bahamas’ experience in non-local meets is limited to a couple of Carifta Games.

Also, seating facilities in the Bahamas’ new stadium accommodates a mere 15,000 spectators. And there are even more questions, but I will leave those alone at this time.

In the context of Jamaica hosting such a (likely) global event, the economic challenges we are facing right now might make the idea a very impractical, unwise one. The more I think about it, the more I just cannot see the wisdom in Jamaica taking on this mammoth task right now. In that case, if the JAAA had failed to make a bid in London, such a move would certainly be understandable.

I withdraw my thumbs down for the JAAA on this matter (although in their present state they are not likely to ever get a thumbs-up from me for anything).

So despite their so-called economic prowess, why did the writer forget to mention that the erstwhile stadium is a gift from the Chinese guvvament?

Plus if we did, I betchu we would have very little Caribbean support.

Re: Very little Caribbean support

Plus if we did, I betchu we would have very little Caribbean support.
            And I’m sure you are correct!

I didn’t think of that aspect but, for example, where would the various Caribbean relay teams come from? Already we see that Jamaica is the ONLY Caribbean country with four relay teams at global senior events -- no other Caribbean country, for instance, has a women’s 4x400-meter relay team.

In the case of the country hosting the relays in 2014 and 2015, in recent times they have had only two relay teams at global events: a men’s 4x400-meter and a women’s 4x100-meter relay team. They have not had a senior men’s 4x100-meter relay team at global events since around the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, and I’ve never heard of them having a senior women’s 4x400-meter relay team.

Most other Caribbean countries would find it very difficult to put together even one respectable relay team.

Historian: I bear no hard feelings against 'others' for citing Jamaica's many weaknesses including poor economic management.

Jamaica has 'hog-tied' itself into descendancy. We just have to suck-it- up when other more progressive countries fasss wid we.

I share your views on this. In fact I also believe Jamaicans would have the same kind of comments about those islands if the positions were reversed.

It is pizz poor diplomacy and sheer bad mannaz, no matter who does it.

Just guess what the likely reaction will be to people tekking steps....

I share your views on this. In fact I also believe Jamaicans would have the same kind of comments about those islands if the positions were reversed.
                    ...and they do I'man.

Ever hear a Jamaican talk about Haiti and Haitians...?

You know HL, I almost posted that example of how some Jamaicans speak about Haitians , but decided against it. So very true.

poor behavior, no matter who does it.

Are we supposed to condone that now?

I don't see someone saying they don't want their country to become like Jamaica as poor behaviour.Me love JA and think about what I can do to make it better almost every day, but we are a failing state at the monent and some individual brilliance by a few Jamaicans wont change that.

We had Jamaicn politicians talking bout the Haitianization of Jamsica and me nuh remember nobody finding that offensive, now when the shoe on the other foot we get all sensitive.

tell me our Zurich Diamond League relay line up?

Dunno