Yohan Blake

• Yohan Blake

Blake Lord's it up as Jamaican sprint star is given honour of ringing bell at home of cricket

By Sportsmail Reporter
    PUBLISHED:11:41, 16 August 2012| UPDATED:11:48, 16 August 2012
    Olympic gold medalist Yohan 'The Beast' Blake was the given the honour of ringing the bell to signal the start of play in the third and final Test match between England and South Africa at Lord's.
    The ringing of the bell at the Home of Cricket is considered a huge honour and Blake - part of Jamaica's world record-breaking 4x100m relay team - is revelled in the limelight in the pavilion, sporting freakishly overgrown nails.

The Beast and the bell: Blake rings the bell in the Lord's pavillion

Both Blake and countryman, close friend and training partner Usain Bolt are big cricket fans.

The 22-year-old World Champion finished second to Bolt in both the 100m and 200m finals at London 2012 and he should be in for a real treat at Lord's, where the winner of the match will decide who is ranked as the No 1 Test team in the world.

Stick to the day job, Vaughany: Former England captain Michael Vaughan (left) joins Blake out in the middle at Lord's

Meanwhile, Blake believes his time will come to take over from Bolt as the world's fastest man. He told Sky Sports News: 'When I beat him at the Jamaican trials that gave me a lot of confidence.'

On top of the world: Blake (bottom left) with the rest of the Jamaican 4x100m relay team

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/cri...#ixzz23huxJSeH

speaking of cricket how can you have a 3rd umpire review system and STILL get it so wrong?!!! kallis was not out if one is to abide by the rules of cricket.

Cricket gets more and more confusing each day.

That "Beast" Gesture

This is a wonderful symbolic move by the cricket authorities in England, and it must surely shore up the confidence of young Blake even more! This talented sprinter deserves all the accolades and rewards that he can get!

Now, if only Blakey could become a little less obsessed with that original “beast” gesture of his! I mean, the young man has become so obsessed with adopting that persona at seemingly ALL TIMES that he even missed the shaking of hands with the gentleman who was handing out the 4x100-meter relay Olympic medals at the podium.

Blake just strikes me as immensely immature and follow-fashin.

It could be a push by his sponsors for him to build on the moniker, The Beast. I hate the fingernails.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You need to speak to his 'Marketing Manager', Muadib. My how the cricket purists have come full circle....cricket must indeed be a dying game...a track and field athlete named 'the beast'? lol.

Blake visited the Sky Sports studio this morning before is trip to Lords.

http://www1.skysports.com/olympics/story/21717/7995608

Oh Jeezazz Crise!!!!! Smaddy collar him faas......PLEEZEE!!!!

"As I said recently, I think us guys are from space. We're like Johnny English or Mr Bean, we drop from the sky."

He added: "I'd say the secret is genetics - and the food that we eat. I (also) think it's in our background. We weren't born rich and we have to work for what we want.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Interesting comments...but him a give way the man 'weakness'.lol. Get his shoulders tight....wooeeeiiiii...

The people is good.

(squirm)

Dem coulda edit it...or a misquote dem a misquote?

Blake is a big cricket enthusiast, so this make sense.

I too wish he would drastically reduce the Beast thing and cut the dyam nails! LoL

On Eurosport Yohan made up a new word that the commentators used repeatedly at the Olys...FOCUSNESS! LoL

Heh, heh..

Partying and womanizing and such.. also picked up Bolts 'lazy' attitude..