Bolt a great athlete... Not a great man

Father, I wondah why yuh seh di yout is not a great man. For all him accolades mi nevah si nuh smaddy sell jamaica likkah dis, him carry all ah wi expectations pan him shouldah an nevah flinch yet, him mek all ah wi proudah dan proud an nevah shirk him responsibilities to Yard but endorse it in every way at every juncture. Jus pray fi di yout's guidance inna di gideon das all wi ask, an nuh add nuh fiyah to di fury kah di yout ah carry more dan him fair share.

Portia aka Jamaica Spice... long time etc. Hope all is well. How is Winsome another long absentee..

This article was posted and commented on... Fr H.L. is a man whose words carry a lot of weight... while we might not all agree with him, his wisdom (whether we are religious or not) is to be respected.

Bolt is definitely a great athlete, to say he is a great man is premature... the unfortunate example of O.J. comes to mind. He has a whole life to live and prove his greatness as a human being. History will ultimately be his judge.

Much respect.

the thing is, at heart he is a good person, from a good upbringing and so in my mind, over time, that can make the difference. not saying this is required, i just mean that he is likely to be more grounded at critical times.

if his greatest transgression is crashing his car without causing injury to a third party, celebrating his victories or being controversial in stating his lack of respect for carl lewis, I can live with that.

i don't see people talking as much about him and farah showing mutual respect for each other, or him gving his cap to di yute behind his starting block in the 200 .... and all of his other charitable work ....
        Last edited by Gamma; August 16, 2012, 05:35 PM.

It cannot be easy to have to consider how the world is going to respond every time you open your mouth, especially at 25 y.o.

For one who achieved fame and fortune early in life he has for the most part handled it well. He seems to have a solid group of people in his inner circle so I think he will be OK once he continues to listen to them.

He has a lifetime ahead of him to be a great man. Don't buy into the hype. There will be a lot of good causes to be involved once he is out of the sport. Right now all he has to be is a decent and honest person. I don't know that Bolt can live to many of the expectatation at age 25 but he has certainly put some effort into it and I hope he will grow more as a person, but he has retirement for that.
            Time waits for no MAN !! not even the fastest man on Earth.

suh mi seh tuh!

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                If I could only find those photos.
                Kmt!

I know Fr HoLung better than most here, as he was my teacher at StGC in the 6th form.

I think both the columnist Burke and he are a bit too harsh on Bolt, but I also agree that Bolt needs constant vigilance not to get derailed.

Ms P. where have you been? It has been a while. Last time was in Jamaica when we went to the JA TT game.
                    "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

Wow hi Portia, You may not remember me with this handle but we used to talk back in the day.