After the Olympics: Where’s the humility?

• After the Olympics: Where’s the humility?

Exaggerated self-importance is not the same as greatness

Humility, it is sometimes said, doesn’t mean thinking less of yourself. It means thinking of yourself less.

For Carli Lloyd I’d guess that’s a distinction without a difference. After Lloyd scored the goals that lifted the US Olympic women’s soccer team to a 2-1 victory over Japan in the gold medal match last week, thinking of herself less was definitely not on the agenda.

“When someone tells me I can’t do something, I’m going to always prove them wrong,” Lloyd bragged to an NBC interviewer. “That’s what a champion is all about and that’s what I am — a champion!”
    Once upon a time it was considered low-class for athletes to be so smug and self-adoring. Winners of championships and gold medals were expected to be gracious, to show a little modesty — to enjoy the acclaim their splendid achievements had earned, without becoming boastful jerks in the process. At times the taboo extended even to the impression of arrogance: For merely failing to tip his cap to fans at Fenway Park, Ted Williams was thought by many to be haughty and too full of himself.
    Of course many gifted athletes are still models of grace and good manners. But as viewers of the Olympics were too often reminded, the egotists who aren’t not only pay no penalty, they are showered with attention.

“I’m now a legend,” crowed Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt, who won gold medals in the men’s 100- and 200-meter races. “I’m also the greatest athlete to live.” Humility? Never heard of it. Well before the Olympics opened, Bolt was telling reporters that the games would make him a “living legend.”

Michael Phelps steered clear of Bolt’s spotlight-seeking antics, but he too reached for singularly immodest language after winning his 22nd Olympic swimming medal. “You know what, I’ve been able to become the best swimmer of all time,” he said, describing his successful drive to become the Michael Jordan of swimming. “I did everything I wanted to.” Team USA basketball star Kobe Bryant, meanwhile, publicly insisted not only that he was “the best post player on this team, period,” but that there was nothing he could learn from his teammates.

In some quarters, this flood of self-worship is applauded as healthy and honest. “The most satisfying part of Bolt — even more than his brilliant runs — is how much he demolishes the myth that the world wants humble athletes,” writes sports columnist Jason Gay in The Wall Street Journal. Those who object to Bolt’s strutting braggadocio, he suggests, must be “the kind of people who hate pizza and scream at dogs.”

But even in a society fixated on fame and self-esteem, there is nothing admirable about anyone whose first instinct is to sing his own praises. To be sure, showboating narcissists can go far in the world. They may amass money or power or star in their own reality show. Yet an exaggerated sense of self-importance is not the same as greatness. No one can be great who can’t be humble, and humility begins with the understanding that it’s not all about you.

It is often remarked that recipients of the nation’s highest military decoration invariably insist that they don’t deserve the glory. Sargeant First Class Leroy Petry last summer became only the second living soldier since the Vietnam War to receive the Medal of Honor. During a harrowing firefight in Afghanistan, he saved the lives of at least two men in his unit by lunging for a grenade before it could kill them. It exploded in his hand.

Yet Petry doesn’t trumpet his heroism or brag about his courage. “It’s not courage,” he says. “It was love. I looked at the two men next to me that day and they were no different than my own children or my wife. I did what anyone would have done.” Usain Bolt and Carli Lloyd flaunt their Olympic gold and tell the world how great they are. Petry, humbly deflecting the spotlight, comes closer to greatness than they ever will.
    An old Jewish tradition teaches that God chose to reveal the Ten Commandments on lowly Mount Sinai, not a soaring peak, in order to link greatness with humility. None of us is so amazing that he couldn’t stand to be more humble. Self-esteem has its place, but it also has its limits. Even in the age of Facebook — even on the Olympic medal podium — swelled heads aren’t very attractive.

Was going well until the last parag..whats the source and who is the writer? Yeah, Bolt was a little over the top, not with his antics but actually crowning himself king.

muhammed ali ......

nothing wrong with talking about what you have achieved from your hard work. people who want you to be humble (read quiet) are not there when they are doing 3 a days and puking from pushing their bodies to the limit to achieve exactly what they have achieved.

in that regard, the immodesty of the champions and the sensibilities they offend, are the sensibilities of those who are either not accostomed to such hard work, those who realise that even with hard work they might still fall short, or has been who want to remain relevant.

having said that, it is true that it can get over the top. but there is nothing wrong in a man saying "i want to be a legend" sets the target and then achieves it....

Jeff Jacoby - An Op-Ed columnist and nationally recognized conservative voice. The entire article is available via a subscription.

DAMN, a voice of reason, "i want to be a legend" sets the target and then achieves it....

Bolt is game changer..T&F is dull except for die hard Fans...Basketball, USA Football ramp up, time for T&F...sad to see how Boxing regress world wide..

People a act like them nuh expect a little bit a ego. Make me get a Bronze medal and you see. LOL.

Without that drive, Bolt and others will not achieve what they have. For me the problem comes after the olympics and whether they are good people or not, respect their follow athlete, fans and the games, and yes Bolt respected them all so a little chat nah go kill them.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              Exaggerated self-importance is not the same as greatness

Humility, it is sometimes said, doesn’t mean thinking less of yourself. It means thinking of yourself less.

For Carli Lloyd I’d guess that’s a distinction without a difference. After Lloyd scored the goals that lifted the US Olympic women’s soccer team to a 2-1 victory over Japan in the gold medal match last week, thinking of herself less was definitely not on the agenda.

“When someone tells me I can’t do something, I’m going to always prove them wrong,” Lloyd bragged to an NBC interviewer. “That’s what a champion is all about and that’s what I am — a champion!”
              Once upon a time it was considered low-class for athletes to be so smug and self-adoring. Winners of championships and gold medals were expected to be gracious, to show a little modesty — to enjoy the acclaim their splendid achievements had earned, without becoming boastful jerks in the process. At times the taboo extended even to the impression of arrogance: For merely failing to tip his cap to fans at Fenway Park, Ted Williams was thought by many to be haughty and too full of himself.
              Of course many gifted athletes are still models of grace and good manners. But as viewers of the Olympics were too often reminded, the egotists who aren’t not only pay no penalty, they are showered with attention.

“I’m now a legend,” crowed Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt, who won gold medals in the men’s 100- and 200-meter races. “I’m also the greatest athlete to live.” Humility? Never heard of it. Well before the Olympics opened, Bolt was telling reporters that the games would make him a “living legend.”

Michael Phelps steered clear of Bolt’s spotlight-seeking antics, but he too reached for singularly immodest language after winning his 22nd Olympic swimming medal. “You know what, I’ve been able to become the best swimmer of all time,” he said, describing his successful drive to become the Michael Jordan of swimming. “I did everything I wanted to.” Team USA basketball star Kobe Bryant, meanwhile, publicly insisted not only that he was “the best post player on this team, period,” but that there was nothing he could learn from his teammates.

In some quarters, this flood of self-worship is applauded as healthy and honest. “The most satisfying part of Bolt — even more than his brilliant runs — is how much he demolishes the myth that the world wants humble athletes,” writes sports columnist Jason Gay in The Wall Street Journal. Those who object to Bolt’s strutting braggadocio, he suggests, must be “the kind of people who hate pizza and scream at dogs.”

But even in a society fixated on fame and self-esteem, there is nothing admirable about anyone whose first instinct is to sing his own praises. To be sure, showboating narcissists can go far in the world. They may amass money or power or star in their own reality show. Yet an exaggerated sense of self-importance is not the same as greatness. No one can be great who can’t be humble, and humility begins with the understanding that it’s not all about you.

It is often remarked that recipients of the nation’s highest military decoration invariably insist that they don’t deserve the glory. Sargeant First Class Leroy Petry last summer became only the second living soldier since the Vietnam War to receive the Medal of Honor. During a harrowing firefight in Afghanistan, he saved the lives of at least two men in his unit by lunging for a grenade before it could kill them. It exploded in his hand.

Yet Petry doesn’t trumpet his heroism or brag about his courage. “It’s not courage,” he says. “It was love. I looked at the two men next to me that day and they were no different than my own children or my wife. I did what anyone would have done.” Usain Bolt and Carli Lloyd flaunt their Olympic gold and tell the world how great they are. Petry, humbly deflecting the spotlight, comes closer to greatness than they ever will.
              An old Jewish tradition teaches that God chose to reveal the Ten Commandments on lowly Mount Sinai, not a soaring peak, in order to link greatness with humility. None of us is so amazing that he couldn’t stand to be more humble. Self-esteem has its place, but it also has its limits. Even in the age of Facebook — even on the Olympic medal podium — swelled heads aren’t very attractive.
              Mek Babylon guhwhey!
              Last edited by Don1; August 15, 2012, 12:25 PM.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                Was going well until the last parag..whats the source and who is the writer? Yeah, Bolt was a little over the top, not with his antics but actually crowning himself king.
                The world is different from Ted Williams' era. Now, there is so much information flying about so rapidly that to set yourself apart and to get attention you have to do something that is not only worthy of attention, but also attention-grabbing. Because of longer news cycles, fewer outlets, more concentrated attention, in days gone by, being worthy of attention was all it took, no need for antics. To compare the behaviour of today's athletes with yesterday's also ignores the vast material stakes on the line today that did not exist in days gone by.

excerpt from an article by ed smith on cricinfo:

Being yourself is the most underrated virtue in sport, as we've learnt once again during the London Olympics. Some sports psychologists have argued that athletes could unlock hidden potential if they adopted the same uber-relaxed, super-confident pre-race routine as Usain Bolt.
                  I take the opposite view. The lesson of Usain Bolt (apart from the obvious one: be more talented than everyone else) is the profound value of being yourself. Watch again the few seconds before the 200 metre final, as the sprinters are introduced to the crowd. Bolt, of course, does his usual showman act - clowning and gesturing, looking at once intimidating and relaxed.
                  The revealing thing is that all the other sprinters awkwardly followed his example, trying to project the aura of Bolt without the underlying conviction. The American sprinter Wallace Spearmon stared into the camera lens as he shouted with bristling machismo, "My time, my time!" - all of which did nothing to persuade anyone that it was his time, but merely reinforced the truth that it was Bolt's.

I can accept that argument once we are CONSISTENT with it.

I will even go out on a limb and say if Bolt was American I believe most of you would have a different view of his ego. You need to ask yourselves why.

islandman, if anything it is the same reason why we are reading what we are reading mostly from the americans.

should we as jamaicans hold bolt at arms length because of these allegations? if someone accused your child of something and you had no evidence of it and your child denied it, who would you believe?

Not saying that at all Gamma, do better than that! The US media is saying a lot of things about Bolt and all the JA athletes, and a lot of it is unfair and untrue. We should defend them all against that.

My argument is only with those who BLASTED US athletes for years when they show some arrogance, and then when one of our own is fingered for the same we find a way to explain why it is OK , well except when a US athlete does it.

We don't need much motivation to write off a US athlete or those who hang around with them as jerks. Again, my question is why? Is it really the athletes or is it some deeper feeling of anti-US sentiment. I now believe it is the latter.

Once we are honest about that I have no problem. Its the hypocrisy I am calling out.

why is the US making those allegations? anti jamaican sentiment? well wi nuh like dem and dem nuh like we! i can live with that!

Why is the US making those allegations? anti jamaican sentiment?
                            Ugly American sentiment!

As me say, if we say we nuh like dem because dem is American at least that is consistent. But nuh hide behind some other reason.

So then I take it that you agree that if Bolt was American and doing exactly the same thing, the reaction on this forum would be totally different?

And I don't mean we wouldn't love him the same, of course we wouldn't. I mean we would say his ARROGANCE is not called for.