• Vcb -

Taken from next door. Well said

jayjay
    WHAT SHOULD V.CB. DO
    Sun Aug 12, 2012 06:39

In her 4 th Olympic Games, V.C.B. looked a shadow of herself. While it could have been age that has slowed her down. It seems like she was betrayed by her coaching situation. She has never performed so poorly with the exception of 2005 at the Helsinki World Championship where she won the silver in the 100, was 4 th in the 200 and was a part of the silver medal sprint relay.

WOULDA SHOULDA, COULDA
    I don’t waste my time on what could have been however I will make an exception because V.C.B. is such a talented individual. The Veronica Campbell-Brown of 2008 or 2010 would have been an individual gold medalist over the 200 in London. Campbell’s form in 2010 would have challenged for the gold in the 100.

WHAT SHOULD V.C.B. DO?
    Conventional wisdom says it if aint broke do not fix it. While I understand the switch from her longtime coach Lance Brauman to Carpenter where she transitioned well. I cannot understand why in an Olympic year, she would allow someone who is not a coach to train her. It was a questionable decision which bordered on sabotage.

I have always thought while V.C.B. takes risks that she was a rational woman. However, if she does not remedy her coaching situation immediately she will struggle to gain an individual place on the Olympic or World Championship team. She is a very talented individual who is very diligent however, if one is not prudent then the previous traits will seem diminished.

She owes it to her fans, her country and most importantly herself to continue to represent well.

CONCLUSION
    She must return to Carpenter or Brauman for her new training sessions. We knew the outcome long before the Olympics. However, she has showed up in average form and has delivered on many occasions. On the occasion that was National Trials of 2012, it was obvious that she all but conceded her 200 title.

V.C.B. must remember that in the 100 she will have stiff competition in the form of
    T
    HE 100
    SHELLY ANN FRASER-PRYCE
    She is going nowhere soon and has shown consistent form.

CARMELITA JETER
    She has speed and power and they will have to take her off the track by force. She ain’t going nowhere soon.

TIANA MADISON
    She is getting better each year and could be a real threat next year.

ALLYSON FELIX
    She will get faster as she perfects the 100 meters. It is obvious she likes the event and will be a real force to reckon with soon.

SUPPORTING PLAYERS
    BLESSING OKAGBARE
    She will get better.

The U.S. has some junior and collegiate sprinters who will burst on to the scene in a few years.

THE 200
    Add to the mix

ANNEISHA MCLAUGHLIN
    SANYA RICHARDS-ROSS
    KIMBERLYN DUNCAN

And she has a real battle on her hands. I am an optimist but most importantly a realist. V.C.B. should have woken up at Trials after her horrible 200 performance. If she remains wrong and strong, it will see a premature end to her illustrious career. I continue to hold her in high regard and hope that she consults with her advisers and sponsors to find the best coaching situation. Please continue to pray for her.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

100% agree

Fully agree, writing was on the wall, she never broke 22.3 this year, she knows better than anyone that Felix was going to be ready to run 21.5 plus.

My criticism, because it is criticism is how can you run 10.81 and be in that type shape for the 100 and be so poorly prepared for the 200 it makes no sense at all. She should have been in a place to run 21.5-6, not sure what happened but she clearly took her eye off the 'immortal achievement' goal.
      Three 200 in a roll at the oly would probably be untouchable for 100 years!!

Anyway is her choice she did it her way!

Nothing is wrong with her. She ran faster than her silver medal time at Daegu in the hundred and she ran 20.32 in the 200, only .1 off of her 200 winning time.

At 30 years old, she doesn't have anything to be ashamed of.

22.32 is ok when your rival is running 22.33, not ok when they are running 21.69.

When she is running 10.81 she should have been in shape to run 21.8 at least that was not the case. Nah trouble no oe as she has achieved more than probably all of us, but at the same time seems very strange to be in 10.8 shape and then can't beat 22.3

Allyson Felix only run 21.88, suh mi nuh know how anyone would think VCB would be that or below.

She has done her best. How many sprinters after 4 Olympics and so many medals still have what VCB have?

Brethren unnu have to realise that Ver had done her bit and maybe going on the down side right now. Let us see what she is going to do. Ver is a warror and will alway be a warror. Remember that Felix did run left her in a World 200 metre a few years ago and she came back and beat them.

No runner will always be on top. It was sad to see Keron been a shadow of herself in this Olympics and she didn't change coach and is not 30. We may have seen the best of VCB, let us say thanks to her, but if she can put it back together then we more give thanks.

She has done her best. How many sprinters after 4 Olympics and so many medals still have what VCB have?

Brethren unnu have to realise that Ver had done her bit and maybe going on the down side right now. Let us see what she is going to do. Ver is a warror and will alway be a warror. Remember that Felix did run left her in a World 200 metre a few years ago and she came back and beat them.

No runner will always be on top. It was sad to see Keron been a shadow of herself in this Olympics and she didn't change coach and is not 30. We may have seen the best of VCB, let us say thanks to her, but if she can put it back together then we more give thanks.
                VCB is about 30, Kerron is about 28. Maybe Queen VCB should retire now and Kerron should do another World Champs or two then call it quits too. If they both get better with age like Jeter then they will become suspect.

Felix run that at us trials, can't get better warning than that. Bottom line she was not ready, nor prepared to put forth the effort to get to that level on the 200. Understand, we all make our choices!

Foolishness... how yuh fi advise di Queen fi retire... fi wha?? Yuh ave wuk fi har??

Renk

The coaching question for Veronica is extremely touchy for some reason

Last year I asked her in a press conference who her coach was...mi juss get one big cut yeye and a dismissal "I don't discuss that issue"

Afta di ting dun har management tun it up an nearly limb mi up to ********

Eugene times kinda suspect.

Next year dem aggo shock, based on what I know...

All soon get fixed.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                              VCB is about 30, Kerron is about 28. Maybe Queen VCB should retire now and Kerron should do another World Champs or two then call it quits too. If they both get better with age like Jeter then they will become suspect.
                              are you serious? she had one bad Oly and yuh want her to retire now !!! she will resolve her coaching issues and return, so let Felix enjoy it while it last !

she will be back at the WC next year in full force...watch the ride!!

guess u woulda retire Merlene to when she was 30!