Bob Costas say as great as we know Bolt is, its hard to

Exactly. I also get tired of Pele defending his and his Brazillian teams record every time somebody mentions another player or team alongside as well.

And it's not that I disagree with him that he is the still best footballer ever. just let the fans defend it.

But again,reporters are always asking these people what they think about these things.

Ali?

Ali was certainly like that as well and although he put it into his routine of rhyming, etc he was NOT loved by everyone the way people suggest today. When Frazier pouched him down many people were happy. Yes a lot of it was wrrapped up in politics/racism but some of it was they were glad to see a big mouth shut up.

Everybody loves Ali NOW, when he is old, doesn't speak much and they look at the tapes now that the world has changed.

also saying naymar better than messi...........him soun like carl lewis

And everyone would laugh at Bolt if he got beat...that's just the nature of being outspoken...if he doesn't get beaten then there is nothing wrong with it...beat me and i will shut up...

Im sure thats how they see it. Just saying we (collectively) are inconsistent as per usual.

Felix say she a go kick some butt, AND kick it twice, and nuff a we tek it personal. If she did say "kick some Jamaican butt" now.

That was after she got smoked in the hundred...yuh can't talk after you just lost...

Well no, it was after she won the 200m.

But either way, she defended it and I think that's what's more important.

The 200 was after the 100...yuh can't talk after you came 5th or whatever she came...and in the manner she ran...denying the girl a place in the 100 then dogging it pretty much...yuh have no chat in that situation...

BBC and Eurosport did!

True. Him never did think much of Bolt beating up him chest in Beijing so me can imagine what him really thinking now. LOL
                        Wait a minute! I was vex Bolt beat him ches' in Beijing to'...he celebrated too early and could have had an even better time.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                          To be fair to Bob Costas, after Bolt’s triumph in the 200-meter race, he (Costas) listed Bolt’s achievements and ended by stating that in strictly athletic terms Bolt is a legend, no argument about that.

In Tom Hammond’s case, he pointed out that, in his opinion, the only athlete in Bolt’s class is Muhammad Ali.

Later I’ll play my recording and give you Costas’ exact words.

Two things here:

1. Bolt needs to start cooling this legend talk. It would be nice to leave it to others to state that!

2. Bolt needs to acknowledge his teammates and also the competitors who finish behind him! I felt bad for Carter and Frater last night, just as I felt for Warren Weir and Yohan Blake before that!

NBC were the only ones that didn't interview all 4 of them. BBC gave both Carter and Frater first crack at the mike and that interview to me was far better than the effery American one. The big difference you see between the NBC coverage and the BBC one is that while both are nationalistic, the BBC has less commercials so they can devote more time to a more complete picture of what is going on. NBC too choppy choppy and American-centric for me.

BBC and Eurosport did!
                            Sorry - didn't see this when I posted below; I said the same thing.

Costas trying to take little chips out of the Bolt armor in order to continue to push his Phelps greatest Olympian theory. Mark my words that is the underlying motivation.

Oly is a free meet. No money fi WR, so if you smash it too much, you kill a future payday.