• IOC official: Jamaican sprinters should expect more drugs te

By Vincent Fribault | Reuters – 55 minutes ago

• View Gallery FILE - This Sept. 4, 2011 file photo shows Jamaica's Usain Bolt celebrating after winning the men's 4x100 relay final, and setting a world record, at the World Athletics Championships in Daegu, South Korea. …more Any talk of the Olympics has to start with the flashy Jamaican sprinter. His performance in Beijing four years ago was magical. (AP Photo/Lee Jin-man, FIle) less

.can_ad_slug {font-family:arial;font-size:11px;color:#999;text-decoration:none;background-image:url('http://l.yimg.com/d/lib/can_interstitial/icons/adchoice_1.4.png');background-repeat:no-repeat;background-position:right;padding:0px 15px 0px 1px;margin:1px 0px 1px 1px;cursor:hand;height:14px;display:block;line-height:14px;}.ad_slug_table a {text-decoration:none;}.ad_slug_table div.CAN_marker { display:none }AdChoices

LONDON (Reuters) - Jamaican athletes, who have dominated the sprint events at the London Olympics should now expect more visits by drugs testers, former anti-doping chief Dick Pound said on Saturday.
    Usain Bolt stormed to victory in both the 100 and 200 meters with Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce snatching gold in the women's 100 as the Caribbean island consolidated its domination of the blue riband events.
    "No, they are one of the groups that are hard to test, it is (hard) to get in and find them and so forth," former World Anti-Doping Agency chief Pound told Reuters Television when asked whether he was happy with the way Jamaica tested its athletes.
    "I think they can expect, with the extraordinary results that they have had, that they will be on everybody's radar," said Pound, an International Olympic Committee member.
    Jamaica won a clean sweep in the men's 200 with Yohan Blake and Warren Weir winning silver and bronze behind Bolt.
    Blake was also second to Bolt in the 100 and the duo also combined with Nesta Carter and Michael Frater to retain the 4x100 relay title in a world record time. It was Bolt's third gold for the second successive Games.
    Veronica Campbell-Brown of Jamaica also claimed bronze in the women's 100m behind Fraser-Pryce.
    Pound said the IOC was still a long way away from winning the fight against doping with 11 athletes being expelled from the Games since the start of the Olympic period on July 16.
    "I think it is too soon to say. I think we are gaining and getting better at science," said Pound, WADA's first president.
    "We are starting to get better at smart testing. But there is a long way to go yet. In Churchillian terms, it is not the beginning of the end, but the end of the beginning."
    Victor Conte, convicted owner of the now-defunct BALCO laboratory that was at the centre of a global doping scandal, had said earlier this week that 60 percent of athletes at the Games were on drugs.
    "He is probably more likely to know than we are. I hope it is not 60 per cent, but it is certainly a lot more than we are catching," Pound said.
    "The drug testing that will be done here is first class. I would not expect many cases at the Olympics because if you test positive here you fail not a drugs test but an IQ test."
    The IOC will run more than 5,000 tests at the Games that end on Sunday.
    More than 100 athletes were also caught using banned substances in the months leading up to the Games following increased testing by national and international anti-doping agencies, designed to root out cheats before they arrived in London.
    (Writing by Karolos Grohmann; Editing by Greg Stutchbury)
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"No, they are one of the groups that are hard to test, it is (hard) to get in and find them and so forth," former World Anti-Doping Agency chief Pound told Reuters Television when asked whether he was happy with the way Jamaica tested its athletes."

I wonder how often the WADA testers go into places like Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, China, Russia to do tests?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

China and Russia ...oh my

"it is (hard) to get in and find them and so forth"

wha him mean by that?

"it is (hard) to get in and find them and so forth"

wha him mean by that?
          Caribbean Airlines suck

Don't you think the IOC woud have started testing from last Olympics?
            I would like to see how many times Bolt has been tested.

Don't the IOC have to know their whereabouts? Haven't they suspended the Greece athletes and Rio Ferdinad for missing test?

Not something to take lightly

"No, they are one of the groups that are hard to test, it is (hard) to get in and find them and so forth," former World Anti-Doping Agency chief Pound told Reuters Television when asked whether he was happy with the way Jamaica tested its athletes."

I wonder how often the WADA testers go into places like Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, China, Russia to do tests?
              Jangle, I understand your point, my friend, but this is not something to be flippant about!

Since Beijing I had hoped that Jamaica’s drug testing procedures were more transparent during the off seasons. I do not know for sure if this is currently the case. This adoption of transparency is commonsense because with increased outstanding/remarkable results, more and more questions will be asked and there will be increased scrutiny of our athletes.

Dwain Chambers already made comments about the lack of drug testing during the time he was in Jamaica.

This is no time for our JAAA or the Jamaican governments to adopt a laid-back, Third World mentality or approach to doing things. We are producing First World results therefore we need to adopt a more professional approach to drug testing that is transparent. Frankly, our recent successes in sprinting are probably far ahead of the desirable responses from the Jamaican sports authorities.

Carl Lewis has started the ball rolling. I suspect that in short order, others will follow Lewis’ lead.

Re: Testing

Don't you think the IOC woud have started testing from last Olympics?
                I would like to see how many times Bolt has been tested.

Don't the IOC have to know their whereabouts? Haven't they suspended the Greece athletes and Rio Ferdinad for missing test?
                I suspect that athletes on the mainland are much easier to reach for the European and North American drug testers when compared with islanders.

But I also know that professional athletes have to make their whereabouts at all times known, if it is even only by an e-mailed note to the IAAF.

Jamaica cannot afford to have any loopholes that will result in embarrassing accusations! Very soon, Victor Conte’s views might find sympathetic ears.

I don't think we can blame the athletes, because "they are hard to find". More testing yes but as you say it is the IOC, tester and government have to take the blame as they should be able to reach the athlete.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                    I suspect that athletes on the mainland are much easier to reach for the European and North American drug testers when compared with islanders.

But I also know that professional athletes have to make their whereabouts at all times known, if it is even only by an e-mailed note to the IAAF.

Jamaica cannot afford to have any loopholes that will result in embarrassing accusations! Very soon, Victor Conte’s views might find sympathetic ears.
                    The only way to deal with the accussations is to be in full compliance with the authorities and to make sincere and constructive efforts towards openess and transparency. If we are viewed as being difficult, that only sheds a poor light on the amazing performances of our athletes. We all deeply believe their success is honest and above board. Personally, I would love nothing more than for our athletes to be tested clean every day of the week if necessary in order to prove to the world that we are indeed a phenomenal nation of people.

Sounds like a great opportunity for the Jamaican media to request a meeting with mr Pound so he can expound on his statement, I suspect what he will have to say specifically won't be worth a farthing! The Jamaican press is there in London they should request interviews so nothing is left unsaid or in the gray on this issue, we want it to be clear to the world that we are ready and willing to do all necessary to comply with all the requirements.

Nobody is blaming the athletes, but the athletes are the ones who will be seen as suspect if they are not tested as consistently and randomly as the first world athletes.

As I have said it is the favorite talking point made by everyone who suspects the Jamaican athletes, that they are not rigourously tested at home.

bolt was tested 15 times in 2008 and 2009.
                          Our star athletes are the MOST tested on the planet.

It seems that POUND is the one who failed the IQ test.

jamaica consistently busts athletes at our trials, mullings, dunkley, jarrett, etc

when last usa bust anyone at their trials?

duppy stories and lies