So was Beijing/Berlin the peak!

• So was Beijing/Berlin the peak!

Are we coming down on the other side of the mountain top into the valley of pre 2008 performance; or have we really built the necessary infrastructure for the medium to long run (beyond Mills and Franno) which will bring in excess of 10 medals and at least three gold at major champs for the foreseeable future.

That level in mind is still a high level expectation going forward with a peak world or oly performance once every ten years possibly matching a Bej/Ber level performance.

Or with the retirement of mills and Franno coming do we fall back to earth!

Nobody not touching this one, hunh! It is a reality we must deal with, how have we institutionalized what Franno and Mills have put together, all that knowedge and knowhow and application in the real world, i bet not one thing has been written dwn and it is all in the head of those two and a few of their personnel, so instead of having momentary success based on fortuitous circumstance We build institutions with real Process infrastructure that lasts beyond the effort of a few.

Well, dem say Bert Cameron leaving Racers, so maybe he will take some of the techniques with him, just maybe!

Mills an Franno have dem assistants derefore di transfer ah knowledge should
        tek place within di club/s seamlessly. Wi wi always produce athletes of high calibre suh dere is di combination fi continued success. Plus Franno an Mills nah guh huh weh jus yet.

Wi working on it...

After Mills & Franno retire, the next generation of coaches must continue to innovate with new ideas & training techniques.

my greatest concern is that many of the good high school coaches are leaving to the pros. this is good and bad because are we replacing them with decent coaches?

Right now we have to enjoy the ride because a nuh everyday a Blake and Shelly is born. We had potential for more medals so hopefully even if we don't get 10 we can get at least 5 on our down years.

Great point, never thought of that, there will be soe drain to the pro ranks but hopefully it opens opportunity for others in the school ranks.

I think it will. It's a good" problem" to have.

I would like to see one or two more pro clubs. I wonder how many more athletes MVP and Racers can efficiently manage and coach.

It will be interesting to see how much success Bert will have.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                    Are we coming down on the other side of the mountain top into the valley of pre 2008 performance; or have we really built the necessary infrastructure for the medium to long run (beyond Mills and Franno) which will bring in excess of 10 medals and at least three gold at major champs for the foreseeable future.

That level in mind is still a high level expectation going forward with a peak world or oly performance once every ten years possibly matching a Bej/Ber level performance.

Or with the retirement of mills and Franno coming do we fall back to earth!
                    Talent abounds!
                    ...and Mills and Franno are just first among our many excellent coaches to hit the big time as professionals.
                    Last edited by Karl; August 12, 2012, 03:58 PM.

Karl talent has always been there I can name about 15 super athletes during my time at Calabar Across all the schools that dry rotted on the lack of any structure beyond high school. Man like bally Reid, wainwright small, bionic Wilson, inches Palmer, piggy lee, a bunch of camper down guys that I can't even remember them names now who were just awesome sprinters. Thomson from Calabar, jan jones from knox those guys weRe running low 21 in class 2. Not to mention my man from status can't remember him name right now. I am sure Willi can call another 30 names. The key again is to stay on top you must work even harder and I am not sure we even fully understand what we have in Franno and mills?

What is good is that it seems those two programs are aligned somewhat with the two universities, not sure how real that connection is but it is that kind of institutionalization that is needed to entrench the long term continued success.

I am sure Kenya is abuzz trying to understand what just happened, what happened is that they started believing they had some god given advantage and the competition also turned up a notch, the ethiopians came ready for them and so did everyone else.

Look at Galen rupp, many would have said what the hell is he pushing himself for to just come down the feld but no the man pushed real hard, knew he had to run with the pace and look what happened his hard training and working with Farrah paid off.

Not to mention my man from status can't remember him name right now
                        That would be the great Everard Samuels from STATHS I believe... simply the best schoolboy short sprinter I've seen

Science is not the same as technology.

Talent without application is what?

Good rum bar talk but not much else.

You ever deh round some old timer who love talk bout how good a baller Dago and Sweetie Smith was, how fast Sammy was, how this yute run lef Quarrie a primary school (I made that one up but you get my point), etc etc?

If things had not changed there is a good chance that was what this golden era of Jamaican sprinting would have been reduced to. Those of us who a watch this thing from 19 how long know that talent is not nearly enough.

and that is the problem with football, not a lack of talent but a lack of resources (on every level ... from personnel to infrastructure) to develope that talent, which btw, ABOUNDS!