This is a non-story!

At this point, I would like to see Bolt give up the 100m and start training for the 400m and of course the 200m. If he make the switch and go on to win the 400m, let alone breaks the record, then he would become a .....erm.....LEGEND?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

At this point, I would like to see Bolt give up the 100m and start training for the 400m and of course the 200m. If he make the switch and go on to win the 400m, let alone breaks the record, then he would become a .....erm.....LEGEND?
        That would be an interesting switch. Wonder what Kirani James thinks of that idea? - NOT!

Yes it is desperation. It was to be expected though.

Heard an idiot on XM radio this morning saying that if Bolt did his antics in the NFL or NBA everyone would hate him, but he gets a free pass because "nobody in the US really cares enough".

What these people still don't get is that there are 5.7 billion people in the world outside of the US, and they are not all poor either! Whether they care or not about Bolt is far less significant than they think.

Y'know, sometimes I look at what Bolt does and say to myself - what if it were an American doing the exact same thing?

Lord knows I would hate it! But somehow, it is not the same when Usain does it! Some things just don't make sense, I guess!

Of course, there are some things that Bolt does that are over the top! But overall, hey, he's just a likeable guy! And it a bun dem!

And yes, sometimes we think if America don't like it then time to worry. Not so. Big up Blackberry!

If Bolt were American we probably would think he is cocky. Well actually he is kinda cocky!

But i am not sure if we would hate him. There is something about Bolt that takes the edge off it. For example when he says something or bump fists with the volunteers just before the race. Most times they just light up with a big smile! Ever seen Mo Green or Dennis Mitchell do anything like that? Then there is the taking photos of the crowd and things like that. All antics but not all self-aggrandising antics.

If Blake did it, people grumble.

Bolt gets a pass because of the charisma. We assume he is just joking around in a charming way.

All this talk about arrogance is disingenous. Bolt is more clown than conceit!

Y'know, sometimes I look at what Bolt does and say to myself - what if it were an American doing the exact same thing?

Lord knows I would hate it! But somehow, it is not the same when Usain does it! Some things just don't make sense, I guess!

Of course, there are some things that Bolt does that are over the top! But overall, hey, he's just a likeable guy! And it a bun dem!

And yes, sometimes we think if America don't like it then time to worry. Not so. Big up Blackberry!
                  If you didn't hate Ali, then you wouldn't hate it. Bolt like the great champion Ali is able to get away with it because he is likeable (in spite of his antics). They are both able to carry on as everyone knows they are being light hearted. Other athletes who don't have that natural "chill" on the inside about them can't pull it off.

The thing with Bolt is he knows when to pull back. He will say a cocky things or two but right through his interviews he is thinking and calculating how to give back to the fan, how to come off as the best but respect his fellow athletes.

I tell you that is a winning formula for advertisers and sponsors.

As a little boy I thought Ali was the most arrogant person in the world. I now realise that he was having a great laugh doing his routine.

And maybe that's the thing with Bolt. He does his show on the track and never takes it into the press conference. Ali did, tho, and got away with it.

True! And he leaves it out there. He is not arrogant in press conferences or interviews.

As a little boy I thought Ali was the most arrogant person in the world. I now realise that he was having a great laugh doing his routine.

And maybe that's the thing with Bolt. He does his show on the track and never takes it into the press conference. Ali did, tho, and got away with it.
                          Well - boxing and track are two very different sports when it comes to "taking it into the press conference". On one hand, in boxing, the press conference has always been the place to psyche out your opponent who is usually in the same press conference with you, in track, that's not the case. Bolt is also having a great "laugh" and like Ali, also does his "talking" on the track/ring.

The thing with Bolt is he knows when to pull back. He will say a cocky things or two but right through his interviews he is thinking and calculating how to give back to the fan, how to come off as the best but respect his fellow athletes.

I tell you that is a winning formula for advertisers and sponsors.
                            No question the youth knows what he's doing and knows how to work the media to his advantage. I worry about how he will stay focused over the next 4 years; if it was me, me'd a retire tomorrow and go enjoy mi big money!

Bwoy mi think bout him retiring but he seems like he has the fire in his belly to do more. Him only a go retire when a catty hold him or when him feel him is not superman anymore.

Him need to clean up some dollars over the next year or two cause anything can happen. Him need to get on a tour with US Track in the states cause nuff money inna dat. Then one a China and Brazil etc.

I agree with you Paul. Next year is Worlds and me know seh a pure bashment when Bolt touch down a JamRock after the Olympics. When the season ends next month it is going to be hard for him to re-commit himself to training for the Worlds. It's going to be a sponsorship blitz between now and next year.
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015