Relay predictions.

• Relay predictions.

How do you see us doing in the men's and women's 4 X 100 and 4 X 400m relays.

If there is no baton change disaster we should win the M 4X100 without prob.

The W 4X100 should be in the top 2 finishes.

The M 4 X 400 could medal.

W 4 X 400 not sure.

Please let me know how you guys feel.

The M 4 X 400 could medal. -nah

The W 4X100 should be in the top 2 finishes. - about right

W 4 X 400 not sure.- USA, Russia, wi can maybe get 3rd

women way surer than the men mile relay
      Gold in the M 4x1
      Silver for the women
      Bronze fi the ladies mile rely
      ay
      Naah mek finals fi di men

Doc....My View

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
        How do you see us doing in the men's and women's 4 X 100 and 4 X 400m relays.

W 4 X 400 not sure.

Please let me know how you guys feel.
        Doc, our 4x400-meter women have probably been consistently more successful than our 4x100-meter women! Even right now in London I have greater faith in them medalling compared with our women’s 4x100-meter women!

If we check back the history of the women’s 4x400-meter relay since the turn of the century, it is obvious that the Jamaican ladies have ALWAYS risen to the occasion!! We are referring here now to (from) the days of Lorraine Graham-Fenton on anchor to the Shericka Williams era!

Our senior women’s mile relay teams do not win global gold medals, except for the 2001 IAAF World Championships in Edmonton when the USA dropped the baton at the final exchange. But despite being repeatedly held from the top position by either the USA or the Russians, our women have always won at least a bronze!

I’m not sure if the 4x400-meter women over the years have been given adequate recognition in Jamaica. (This, of course, is just an opinion.)

In the case of the women’s 4x100-meter relay team, I will always believe that we lost our big chance in 2008!! How often have we seen any team in an Olympic Games with every member being either a sprint gold or silver medalist in that particular Olympics!

I have no reason to be excited right now about our chances in the women’s 4x100-meter relay in London. Maybe it’s because I still recall how unimpressed I was with our ladies’ gold medal in Berlin in 2009. For heaven’s sake, the “weak” Bahamas team ran a close race to take the silver!

Like I said in another thread a short while ago, I have always maintained that it would be nice to see Jamaica’s women racing across the finish line with the USA women hot in pursuit! This has never ever happened, despite our women winning gold in Tokyo in 1991, in Athens in 2004 and in Berlin in 2009! The same situation applies to the men.

In addition....

Regarding the men, like most people I’m expecting the gold as long as clean, accurate baton passes are made.

Regarding a world record, although we set one in Beijing and turned around and shattered it last year (while running the third fastest relay time in history in Berlin 2009), I would be pleasantly surprised if this year’s team ran a sub-37 relay. (Maybe if Asafa Powell was healthy and on the team I would have greater confidence in us breaking world records this time around.)

A team of Carter-Frater-Bolt-Blake should, however, be unbeatable based on foot speed! Any team that is made up of two 9.9, a 9.7 and a 9.6 man cannot be a joke!!

For example, the weakest link, Nesta Carter didn’t end up in an impressive position at our June Olympic qualifiers, but his season’s best shows that he continues to be a sub-10 man (9.89 in Sept. 2011 and 9.95 in June 2012).

Jamaica for 4x100-meter gold and maybe Olympic record.

Agree with you Storian. The W 4X1 always seem to find a way to lose, while we can always seem to put a W 4x4 team that performs above expectation. I hope this year the 4x1 team will rise to the occasion. Scared about the stick passes though.

FROM SHELLYANN FRASER-PRYCE PAGE:

If you plant faith in God you will reap a harvest! We have faith in the 4 women that will represent us in the 4x100 relay heats. We all remember what happened in Beijing but that's in the past! Let's stay in the present and continue to support all the athletes on Team Jamaica. Samantha Henry, replaces Sheerifa Lloyd and joins Sherone Simpson, Schillonie Calvert & Kerron Stewart for the heats which will be @ 2:20pm Jamaica time. Today Rosemarie Whyte turns 26! So Nuff "shellings" for her, Happy Birthday girl!

That's her IT sistren who runs her fb page.

Shereefa Lloyd?

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                  FROM SHELLYANN FRASER-PRYCE PAGE:

If you plant faith in God you will reap a harvest! We have faith in the 4 women that will represent us in the 4x100 relay heats. We all remember what happened in Beijing but that's in the past! Let's stay in the present and continue to support all the athletes on Team Jamaica. Samantha Henry, replaces Sheerifa Lloyd and joins Sherone Simpson, Schillonie Calvert & Kerron Stewart for the heats which will be @ 2:20pm Jamaica time. Today Rosemarie Whyte turns 26! So Nuff "shellings" for her, Happy Birthday girl!
                  Shereefa Lloyd was being considered for the 4x100-meter relay semi-final heat?!

Interesting. This probably either shows how desperate our women’s 4x100-meter relay team is or else how “deep” we are in the women’s 4x400-meter relay.

Yes, Calvert was battling injuries.