Thanks Asafa for your role in bringing in this golden

• Thanks Asafa for your role in bringing in this golden

era of Jamaican sprinting. Nuff respects to you sir.

Your body probably won't allow you to compete at the highest level for much longer, so make some more money while you can and manage it wisely.

Even if you never run another race in national colors I say thank you for what you have done over the last 10 years.

era of Jamaican sprinting. Nuff respects to you sir.

Your body probably won't allow you to compete at the highest level for much longer, so make some more money while you can and manage it wisely.

Even if you never run another race in national colors I say thank you for what you have done over the last 10 years.
    Amen Preacha

I concur. I blame Asafa and his handlers. Asafa should have taken a year off prior to the last Olympics and operated on the groin. He has been carrying that injury around like a knapsack for years. I still believe in him, and I think he has one more Olympics in him.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

One more Olympics?? maybe in the relay pool

Nuff yutes knockin' on the door... 2014 should bring more revelations

Maybe but why bother though, especially if he is battling injuries.

His window of opportunity for winning has past, that's the reality.

Agree Island. I think what is rapidly emerging, and will spread worlwide in rapid fashion, is a Jamaica Sprint Philosophy. This will change the game forever, in much the same way as Dick Fosbury did with high jumping. This will involve coaching technique etc. Mills and Francis will be at the center, and this philosophy will be adopted by all elite programs, including NCAA coaches, and national coaches worlwide. Athletes on scholarship to US universities will be given the same amount or rest and training as our athletes in Jamaica etc. and I predict that scholar-athletes will refuse to take up offers at schools that don't institute the Jamaican Sprint Phiolsophy. It's a shift in paradigm, and Jamaica will benefit financially if we can get coaches, and athletes to come to our shores to learn this philosophy and spread it worldwide. It will be good for the sport overall. Gone are the days when corrupt coaches can depend on illegal augmenting substances. In other words, the wold is now flat.

anything can happen in a finals. We are very quick to write off our athletes, especially Asafa. No one thought Kim Collins at his age could still win a medal, but he did. Asafa is still ranked in the top 5 of sprinting today. Why should he stop? Plus he can continue earning a good income.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No no no...

We naah tell dem nutten.

We nah mek what China do to the US happen to us. LoL

How cant it be stopped....just hv to show an Assistant coach sm $$$s

This is true! Like Merlene he set the trend

Not saying he SHOULD stop, if he is motivated to continue then by all means continue.

But the chances that he will medal at another Worlds or Olympics are extremely slim and the rounds will not get any easier, so I would have no problem with him if he just runs the circuit to finish off his career.

Lol

True, but we nuh fi guh outta our way...

That's exactly what happened with Aussie coaches training Chinese athletes.

For example, Ye's astounding world record in the 400 medley, when she swam the last 50 meters faster than American Ryan Lochte did in winning the equivalent men's race, isn't solely attributable to her large hands and feet. It also is at least partly because China, which has grown to become the world's second-largest economy, now throws big checks at some of swimming's sharpest minds. China has turned to foreign trainers to get their coaching programs, expertise and methods, not only to hone its swimming stars but to make them more rounded and relaxed, too. The idea is that happy swimmers are fast swimmers.

Ye has trained in Australia with two well-recognized coaches, Ken Wood and Denis Cotterell. Wood has had a contract with the Chinese Swimming Association since 2008, and 15 of China's swimmers in London, plus five of its relay swimmers, have trained at his academy north of Brisbane, rotating through in groups for a couple of months at a time, he told The Associated Press in a phone interview.

An opportunity to have a real sports industry. Carole Beckford (Bolts publicist) has been preaching this a lot recently.

Need more than athletes and coaches though,managers, agents, etc.

Asafa didn't have a groin injury, he has a brain injury. Very good sprinter but never had guts or heart at all. big him up still cause he really put our sprinting on the map but some ppl just dont have that champion gene in them.