Jamaica T&F looked to for carribbean solutions

• Jamaica T&F looked to for carribbean solutions

It was just the other day they demonstrated in Australia against Merlene,threatened to Kick MVP out of the olympics...wow times change.

Obadele Vents on Kim Collins
    From Facebook:

Upset but not surprised by the treatment of Kim Collins (former 100m World Champion from St. Kitts)!

My hat has long been tipped to Sir Kim Collins. He was not the fastest guy in the world in terms of raw speed, but he was one of our generations best Championship sprinters and a true warr
    ior. Regardless of the details, it is a SHAME how officials who are NOT the ones training and facing immense internal and external pressures to compete well, can make certain decisions.

How is barring Kim from competing in his 5th and final Olympic Games (OG) in the BEST interest of a small country like St. Kitts on the BIGGEST sporting stage in the world in the MARQUEE event (the 100m)? It is NOT!!! The government of St. Kitts NEEDS to investigate this matter, because the absence of Kim is a big blow for the promotion of the country internationally, it reeks of banana-republic-powerplay-foolery, and it cannot be good for the national pride of its citizens.

Kim has done far past enough to deserve a "free pass" to do WHATEVER he wants. And here's the thing... you don't have to worry about what he will do with that "free pass" because he's a serious competitor who has a real chance to make the OG Finals!!! You don't become World and Commonwealth Games Champion in a cutthroat event like the 100m without being absolutely serious and committed.

Anyone who knows me well, knows that I don't usually comment. But let's me state my deep belief. If I represented Jamaica during my career, I have NO DOUBT that I would have been the World and Olympic Champion! Let me repeat that - I have ZERO DOUBT that if I represented Jamaica, let alone one of the biggest countries, I would have been the World and Olympic Champion!

If only people knew how "easy" the Jamaican, US, British, Canadian, etc. athletes have it. Let Bolt or Gay run for one of our truly small [minded] countries and you would probably not know much about them. Why? I'll get to that in a few moments.

Sure, guys Bolt, Blake, Gay and Powell are phenomenal talents, but they are living the good life because others paved their paths. Bolt is BOLT because of the revolutionary and awesome Jamaican tradition which began 60 years BEFORE he emerged! He comes from country which produced the likes of Arthur Winter, George Rhoden, Herb McKinley, Lennox Miller, Don Quarrie, Bert Cameron, Ray Stewart, Merlene Ottey, etc., etc. He is a product of a system that allows his talents to be FULLY harness with minimal hiccups. He has NEVER had to go to Championships with inadequate gear or without medical staff. Or stand on a podium after winning and see the wrong color flag and not hear the Jamaican anthem! I can tell you all stories...believe me!

Surveying my career - what and who I had to fight from my own country, the poor equipment that I had for early in my career, walking into big stadiums of 100k people and seeing NO Barbados flag or colors except the lone official flag hanging high up in the stadium, having no teammates to talk to in my event as I was processed through the call rooms, etc. before I ran, and several (not all, but many) incompetent or unprepared or petty power-hungry officials.

Doubt me? Consider this: I had the same time as Ato Boldon in the 200m Finals at the Sydney Games in 2000, but the Barbados athletic officials DID NOT even file a protest within the 30 minute window after the event (athletes cannot file protests on their own behalf)!!!! Result: Boldon 3rd and I came 4th. Reason given: It would have cost $100 USD to do it! Wow, so all my hard work for years, all the national pride that we could have amassed if it was deemed that I was ahead of or tied with Boldon thereby giving our country it's second Olympic medal as an independent nation, was not even worth a walk to the official protest room and $100 USD. After the Allyson Felix/Jeneba Tarmoh situation this year at the US Olympic Trials, who know...and trust me, I've had photo finish results re-read on the circuit and been bumped up.

Ironically, days later when I was asked by top Jamaican officials at those Games about my protest and I told them that none was made, they were completely dumbfounded and angry. They told me that that would never happen if I ran for them (re: their protest for Merlene Ottey v. Gail Devers in the 100m at the 1996 OG in Atlanta). Where were MY NATIONAL TEAM OFFICIALS when I needed them most??! You tell me Bolt or Gay will ever face this in their career? You know how difficult it is to find the emotional energy to fight your own people then go out and line up and take on the world in events measured in thousandths?

Just consider these things when you all watch the races.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

quotes from collins bbc interview today

A furious Collins said he would never again run for his country, a small Caribbean nation, and complained he had been shown a lack of respect.

"I could be wrong but I don't see why it should be such a problem," Collins said.

"I would have better luck if I went out with some chick and came back and there wouldn't be a bit of a problem.

"I honestly don't see what is the big deal.

"I'm a grown man with kids, about to have grandkids."

Collins will not be hanging around in London for the 200m and sprint relay, having had the chance to race in the 100m wrenched away from him.

"I'm about to go and change my flight and go home," he told BBC Radio Five Live, "and see my kids who I haven't seen for a while.

"For me it's a done deal.

"I've been disrespected for too long for too many years."

The opening ceremony flag-bearer for his country was apparently expected by his national federation not to leave the Olympic Village.

"I can't stay here," he added. "I did not come to London to watch the 100m final on TV.

"I've got to go home. What am I supposed to do here? Act like a tourist? No.

"Do you know how many mornings I wake up, I could be in bed with my wife but I'm off training and winning, whenever, wherever, for this?

"I earned my right to be here.

"They're asking me to abandon my wife for my team. It's not going to happen."

Collins revealed he could not even access the Olympic Village today.

"I'm not walking away. When I came to the Village I could not get into the Village," he said.

"My pass, my accreditation, was cancelled

"I'm not walking away, I've been pushed out."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"Do you know how many mornings I wake up, I could be in bed with my wife but I'm off training and winning, whenever, wherever, for this?

"I earned my right to be here.

"They're asking me to abandon my wife for my team. It's not going to happen."

Collins revealed he could not even access the Olympic Village today.

"I'm not walking away. When I came to the Village I could not get into the Village," he said.

"My pass, my accreditation, was cancelled

"I'm not walking away, I've been pushed out."
      Seems like a prima donna attitude to me. Reaction by the SKNOC was probably over the top, but...

Kudos to them for sticking to rules and regs, tho. Our Oly c'tee? Bay chat!

They had 6 athletes and 9 management, was not too hard to stick to rules eh.

Kim un-retired to help the 4x100 team, they beat out T&T at World Champs to medal, and their youngsters were improving to the point where they could have made Oly finals...so much for the rest of the team now...power consumes..

Them a fools. Plain and simple. All athletes are not created equal. Can you imagine the benefits that would have befallen on little St. Kit ts if by some miracle Kim was to become the 100m Olympic champion. St. KITTS economy can't generate enough income to pay for that free international exposure. A simple indiscretion like that shouldn't have made the news
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

So would u say the same for Marlon King and Humphrey then

No because we had achievements before and will achieve after them.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You would think he would relish the time AWAY from his wife...wah do dem gyal clown yah man

The punishment seems harsh though. Fine the man or something nuh. And them already know how the 6 athletes, 9 officials thing look.

But yes we always have an attitude that rules are not to be applied to stars, because without them the world would end.

You would think he would relish the time AWAY from his wife...wah do dem gyal clown yah man

Are you venting for youself?

The punishment seems harsh though. Fine the man or something nuh. And them already know how the 6 athletes, 9 officials thing look.

But yes we always have an attitude that rules are not to be applied to stars, because without them the world would end.

Sam Sharpe should hve conform to the rule too...St Kitts had abigger stage than Barbados in this Olympics...good luck to the 9.

Interesting comparison.....slavery vs "do not break camp"

Oops...

You inspire me...

That is the most telling stat...No need to hear more.