• Asafa Frustrated

Andre Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

LONDON, England:
    Former 100m world record holder Asafa Powell, is said to be left frustrated by what his agent described as ‘excessive drug testing’ inside the Olympic Village, after the sprinter was awaken from his sleep at 10:15pm tonight, by doping officials for his third test in five days.

Powell will line up in the 100m heats on Saturday and Paul Doyle criticized the officials for targeting the athlete and shared that his client was not pleased about the entire situation and that it has also affected his preparation going into the event.

“We are all for doping control and for catching cheats, but we just wish that they were more sensitive to the athletes,” said Doyle, who explained that Powell was asleep in his room when the officials came knocking.

“Its just frustrating, his body will of course regenerate the blood they took in a matter of hours, but it of course weighs in his mind,” said Doyle. “He felt the other day after giving blood that he was too weak to train, but he will be fine come the day of competition.”

“I just think its terrible the way they are targeting the Jamaican athletes possibly and certainly Asafa Powell,” Doyle added before sharing that of his 35 other athletes at the Olympic Games, only one except Powell has mentioned being tested, while the Jamaican has been visited three times already.

andre.lowe@gleanerjm.com

hope this is not an excuse

I hear if he were in camp with the other athletes from long time the drug testers would not have to be playing catch-up with him.

Is MVP Fault!

Another excuse?

Too weak to train?? how much blood do they take? tought it was just like an ounce or two?

is not the amount ...but the frequency

He was tested just before going to the village.

He was in Toronto for weeks rehabbing his groin and all the testers knew where he was because he had to give them his detailed schedule weeks in advance.

There is no such thing as "catching up" with testing. Testing 3 times in one week is NOT the same as properly spread out testing designed to curtail drug use in the pre-season.

Yuh listen to every foolishness as gospel. That idiot Doc that made that remark should be ashamed of himself.

Even the IOC agreed it was excessive to draw blood 3 times in 5 days just before the Oly games and he was tested a week before that too.

These are BLOOD tests, not urine tests

How much test convicted cheat Gatlin get over the same period? Steeeuuups. Learn fi defend yuh own!

Yuh nuh know seh some people faint when dem see neegle? Steeeuuups.

On the other fora, the fans mostly defend Asafa and over hear I read cynicism. Hmmmm

For what?

Unno nuh expect anything from him, so how is it an excuse???

Hahahahahaha

Unno good baba!

yup..........Dr Paul Wright said it on hitz92 fm this morning

And it still makes no sense.... but yuh new to the sport so yuh will buy any foolishness him a sell.

Yuh listen to every foolishness as gospel. That idiot Doc that made that remark should be ashamed of himself.

Even the IOC agreed it was excessive to draw blood 3 times in 5 days just before the Oly games and he was tested a week before that too.

These are BLOOD tests, not urine tests

How much test convicted cheat Gatlin get over the same period? Steeeuuups. Learn fi defend yuh own!
                        Egads! Just reporting what I heard! Low mi nuh man!!!!

Okay, yuh wanna know what I really think about it - dem glad, cause now Asafa have yet another excuse to screw up!

Yuh wuss dan Maudib!

SuperByrnes
                            Posted: Aug 3 2012, 02:57 AM

Unregistered

QUOTE (toyracer @ Aug 2 2012, 02:36 PM)It seems that Asafa is being targeted in London.

He reported to camp last Tuesday, the last athlete to do so.

Since then he has been blood tested three times, with a fourth test having been done prior to his arrival at camp. The most recent, as just reported by Bruce James head of MVP on TVJ, was at 10pm London time August 2nd. It was also pointed out that Asafa runs for the first time in less than two days.

This is deja vu; Asafa had complained about similar treatment prior to the start of racing in Beijing, but even then they hadn't taken blood so close to his actual competition.

I don't know how other folks feel after blood is taken, but I know that I feel weak. I can't imagine how it feels to have blood taken three times in seven days.

Excessive? It certainly seems that way to me, but then again I'm an ardent Asafa fan. If we hear reports of Gay and Gatlin being tested in similar manner then I'll accept what is being done to Asafa but without hearing of such treatment this certainly seems excessive to me.
                            Three blood tests in the 7-10 prior to the races sure seems excessive to me. In most cases, it seems like the agents that would really help the athletes would've had to have been taken a long time before the Games, so three tests instead of one seems like overkill.

I'm not sure how much blood is taken, but I think I've read before that the amounts are small enough that it really isn't performance hampering. Someone else here probably knows better though. -jb

TrackLover
                            Posted: Aug 3 2012, 03:48 AM

Consigliare

Group: Members
                            Member No.: 279

They spoke to a sports doctor in Jamaica (well known) who said that he does not really see much wrong with the tests as WADA might be trying to catch up, Why? He said at our national trials Asafa went away for an injection and came back and ran 9.8x. He then said Asafa was not in the training camp in Birminham where the others were tested so they are making up for lost tests.

I am sure Bruce and Franno will blast the goodly doctor in one...................

SuperByrnes
                            Posted: Aug 3 2012, 04:14 AM

Unregistered

QUOTE (TrackLover @ Aug 2 2012, 06:48 PM)Why? He said at our national trials Asafa went away for an injection and came back and ran 9.8x.
                            Well I suppose the showing up late camp and having to make up tests might make sense, but as far as the above, wouldn't the solution simply lie in testing him after his races? -jb

toyracer
                            Posted: Aug 3 2012, 04:48 AM

Capo

Group: Members
                            Member No.: 315

QUOTE (TrackLover @ Aug 2 2012, 09:48 PM)They spoke to a sports doctor in Jamaica (well known) who said that he does not really see much wrong with the tests as WADA might be trying to catch up
                            Catch up? Taking blood three times in five days? What do they expect to see on the fifth day that they didn't see on the third, or first day? This is blood, not urine. And he was visited by testers before he reported to training camp so there is no excuse there either. Remember, he has to declare a window of availability every day no matter where he is, so it is not as if he was in hiding somewhere WADA couldn't find him. I suspect the good doctor is expounding on sheer speculation.

Didnt U say IS MVP fault? That seems like editorializing not reporting.

What if Asafa medals, what will be YOUR excuse?

The point is, U must pick sense from nonsense.

Catch up? Big man like U whey run at Champs fi know better dan dat.