Phelps, the greatest Olympian of all times?

Seb Coe says no

While President Barack Obama was sending a congratulatory message to Michael Phelps for making America proud with his record 19th career medal Tuesday night, Locog chairman Sebastian Coe took a different approach.

"I think you can say it is self-evident that he is the most successful. I am not sure he is the greatest,” Coe told reporters while winking, nodding, and reminding everyone that his two 1500m golds were pretty impressive, too, if you think about it in context. "[Phelps won] a pretty good haul, but who is the greatest? In my opinion he is probably not."

Coe didn't say who the greatest Olympian was, but he's previously opined that friend Daley Thompson, a back-to-back decathlon champ, is the greatest British athlete, so we'd guess he gets the vote.

We'll agree it's easier to rack up medals in a sport where you can swim eight events in a single Games, as opposed to one or two, but it's also pretty tough to swim in prelims, semis, and finals for all those events... and then to do that in three straight Olympics... and then win 15 of those events. What we're essentially saying is maybe Coe should stop talking for a while.

Good points...maybe we should have the 50m, 60m, 70, 100, 150, 200, 250m....and the 50m backward run..

Sorry..didn't see ur post.

Didn't Ali declare himself 'the greatest' even before he was considered great?

Wha happn yu bex wid mi or what? Yu no ansa mi message...

Both Bolt and Carl Lewis bigger dan him.

Does Phelps still have any records left, world or Oly???

yup

I see he set 39 (29 indiv) an only 7 left.
                  "Phelps is the long course world recordholder in the 100 metres butterfly, 200 metres butterfly and 400 metres individual medley as well as the former long course world recordholder in the 200 metres freestyle and 200 metres individual medley."

As one man seh, if yuh want to compare this to track, we would need one leg race, running backwards race, skipping race, etc, etc.

Bolt 3 records still stand and he also has the sea-level world best of 30.97s at 300m.
                  Last edited by Willi; August 2, 2012, 08:16 AM.

Currently, he holds seven world records

Some ah dem is for relay...

3 individuals...out of 29. Shows the lifespan of swim records.

yeah................but yuh brush it off like its ez...........if it did easy, many others would....but thats not the case

3 individuals

how many him suppose to hav?

him only do 400 m Individual medley,200 m Butterfly,100 m Butterfly , 200 m freestyleand(sometimes) and the 200 m Individual medley

3/4

No, Phelps is baaad. Best swimmer ever, BUT...

Point is, swim WRs dont last long....

Plus him shave dem, Bolt smashed his to smithereens.