Portia Tells Alia Help Is On The Way!

• Portia Tells Alia Help Is On The Way!

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller has sought to assure national Olympic swimmer, Alia Atkinson, that the government is prepared to consider supporting her so that she can continue her career at the elite level.

Atkinson yesterday placed fourth with 1:06:93 in the 100 metre breaststroke in the London Olympics Aquatic Centre.

She was less than two seconds behind gold medallist Ruta Meilutyte from Lithuania, who won in 1:05.47.

American Rebecca Soni, placed second with 1:05.55, and Japan's Satomi Suzuki, was third with 1:06.46.

Following her performance, Atkinson appealed for financial support to help her to prepare for the 2016 Olympics.

READ: 'I need financial support'

Today, Simpson Miller commended Atkinson and told her that help is coming.

“She was outstanding! All Jamaicans here and in the Diaspora must be proud of her,” the Prime Minister said.

“I am going to speak to the Ministers of Finance; and Education and the Sports Development Foundation and I appeal to the private sector we have to partner to allow her to continue her training programme. I want to say to her, help is on the way.”

The Prime Minister was addressing the Jamaica 50 PetroCaribe scholars today in Kingston.

More Sharing ServicesShare | Share on facebook Share on myspace Share on google Share on twitter

As usual short-sighted and always ready with the quickfixes.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It is not the responsibility of any Jamaican government to fund athletes. Portia is not being short sighted...but opportunistic

what she means by "consider" ?

If you are considering then, do that, make a decision and then release the plan. CONSIDER !!!

There is no plan...her reaction is emotional... a mini version of the action of PJ who foolishly declared a national public holiday after Jamaica qualified for the 98 WC

....but there's nothing wrong in considering supporting the athlete....even though it is not really a government function to do so
          Last edited by Don1; July 31, 2012, 09:49 PM.

agreed. My point is if you are considering then why the public announcement? of a mere consideration? This is just some political BS again!

Originally posted by Twan View Post
              agreed. My point is if you are considering then why the public announcement? of a mere consideration? This is just some political BS again!
              Yep but it is harmless....she is a politician right?

Right on target - the utterances of politricians

As usual short-sighted and always ready with the quickfixes.
                  Sounds more like a day late and a heap of dollars short. Cho. Mi soon gwine join the Zeppo and HL team if JA don't get its act together...

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                    You get maximum points for observing the obvious!!!