• Alia Atkinson

Won her heat and now on to the semi-finals

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/...8IT1FX20120729

Wonderful News!

Originally posted by Za View Post
    Won her heat and now on to the semi-finals

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/...8IT1FX20120729
    Thanks for posting this, boss. I’m truly happy for Alia.

I’ll always remember another Atkinson -- Janelle -- at the Sydney Olympics and her fourth place finish in the finals of one of the swimming events. Fourth has to be the worst position for anyone to finish (that is, just outside of a medal). In addition, Janelle was the first (and to date only) Jamaican swimmer to reach an Olympic finals in swimming.

It really would be wonderful if Alia gets an Olympic medal in London, at the same time providing Jamaica with a medal outside of just track and field.

you sure andrew phillips did not make a finals?

I'm sure you are correct!

you sure andrew phillips did not make a finals?
        Gamma, I’m quite sure you’re correct in suggesting that Andrew Phillips reached an Olympic Games final! The truth is that I did not remember him when I was typing my post above.

In this case the error is mine in suggesting that Janelle was the first Jamaican to do so. Thanks for the correction!

Wish her all the luck. Are the Atkinson both related? She has certainly worked hard over the years.

Remember him coming seventh in A final deep in the recesses of the noggin.

same here

They are not related.

I believe Janelle missed the bronze by 100th of a second!

I think Phillips reached a final..

Them claim them not related

thanks, alway wondered but never seen anything definative on it. They both made us proud in the pool.

yep!!! Bwoy it must have haunted her many nights.

6th

http://www.sports-reference.com/olym...al-medley.html

lol