A threat to the Gene & Geography theory ...Islandman step up

• A threat to the Gene & Geography theory ...Islandman step up

London 2012 Olympics: Adam Gemili cruises through to World Junior Championships semi-final
    Team GB sprinting sensation Adam Gemili eased through the first round of the World Junior Championships in Barcelona, clocking 10.37sec to win his 100 metres heat and progress smoothly through to the semi-final.

Next stop London: Adam Gemili will compete in the Olympics after the World Juniors Photo: ACTION IMAGES
    By Ben Bloom
    12:34PM BST 10 Jul 2012Comment
    The 18 year-old is bidding to become the fourth British man to be crowned junior world 100m champion after Christian Malcolm, Mark Lewis-Francis and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, and he is the overwhelming favourite to do so on paper.
    Gemili enjoyed a good start to his heat and picked up the lead after just 10 metres before extending his advantage with ease.
    Running into a 2.5m/s headwind - the strongest of any heat - Gemili eased down in the closing 15m to record the fastest time of the round and finish well clear of China's Zhenye Xie who clocked 10.68sec in second place.
    The Briton's main challenge is likely to come from the US where Aaron Ernest and Tyreek Hill have both recorded personal best times this season of 10.17sec and 10.19sec respectively.
    Hill used maximum effort to equal Gemili's time of 10.37sec for victory in his heat while Ernest recovered from a sloppy start to win his heat in 10.39sec.
    RELATED ARTICLES
    Gemili aims to emulate Christie 09 Jul 2012
    'Gemili must go to Games' 26 Jun 2012
    Edwards backs Gemili 25 Jun 2012
    Chambers wins 100m at trials 23 Jun 2012
    Footballer set for Olympic 100m 02 Jun 2012
    Britain’s other 100m representative Chijindu Ujah also progressed safely into Wednesday's semi-finals, finishing second behind Ernest with a time of 10.48sec.
    Speaking after his run, Gemili said: “Today I didn't give my best because I wanted to reserve it for tomorrow’s race. I hope to make it great tomorrow.”
    A professional footballer until he devoted himself full-time to athletics in January, Gemili burst onto the national and international scene when he ran a huge personal best of 10.08sec in a low-key race in Germany on June 2.
    That time made him the No 1-ranked junior and, despite losing to Dwain Chambers in the UK Olympic trials, Gemili's amazing rise to the top will see him line up alongside the likes of Usain Bolt and Tyson Gay at London 2012.
    Earlier in the day Britain's Jessica Judd and Emily Dudgeon won their heats in the women's 800m, while James Gladman took victory in his 110m hurdles heat to all book their places in Wednesday's semi-finals.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Gemili eyes pre-Olympic boost as sprinter gears up for World Junior Championships

By SPORTSMAIL REPORTER
    PUBLISHED: 13:12 EST, 9 July 2012 | UPDATED: 13:12 EST, 9 July 2012

Teenage sprinter Adam Gemili is hoping to emulate the success enjoyed by fellow Britons Christian Malcolm, Mark Lewis-Francis and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey when he continues his Olympic preparations at the World Junior Championships in Barcelona this week.

Gemili was last week named in the 71-strong Team GB squad for this summer's Games after finishing second to Dwain Chambers at the Olympic trials in June.

Raring to go: Gemili was talking ahead of the World Junior Championships

The former footballer has exploded on to the scene this year and leads the UK rankings with a time of 10.08 seconds, and he will be firm favourite for 100m gold at Barcelona's 1992 Olympic Stadium this week, with the heats taking place on Tuesday and the semi-final and final being held on Wednesday.

If he achieves that, he would become the fourth Briton to do it after Malcolm (1998), Lewis-Francis (2000) and Aikines-Aryeetey (2006).

'Obviously those three others are amazing in what they've done,' said Gemili.

Olympic dream: Gemili with former Olympic champion Wilson Kipketer of Denmark

'They've come to the junior champs and done so well. I look up to them. Hopefully I will follow in their footsteps.'

Gemili, who was on the books of Chelsea, Reading and Dagenham and Redbridge until he decided to concentrate on athletics in January, added on www.iaaf.org: 'At the start of the year the World Junior Championships was my main aim. The Olympics was just a massive bonus and I'm still focusing on the World Juniors now.

'I've come here to do as well as I can. Me and my coach (Michael Afilaka) have worked really really hard so that I can do the best I can and hopefully maintain it to the Olympic Games and do well there also.'

Switch in focus: Gemili (right) was playing professional football until January

Having run 10.08 already this year, the World Junior Championships 100m record of 10.09 set by Trinidad and Tobago's Darrel Brown in Jamaica in 2002 could be under threat, but Gemili preferred not to make any predictions.

'I'm not looking to talking times. I want to execute my race and perform well. If I do that I will be happy,' he said.

'The last month or so has been really hectic and manic but I've enjoyed every moment of it and enjoyed showing people what I can do and how I can run.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/oly...#ixzz20DlsZVi2

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Dem betta check if im ancestors live inna a certain area , and dem guh through some slave air...10.08 dem say...lol...or if dem run from gunshot, eat, yam and ave cock bottom....juss 18 ! dem lucky if football nuh tek im before im dip below 10 sec.

Him win anything yet? We talking bout world beaters here...

We talking about potential,world beaters is a black , green and gold ball game.

Good luck to him, maybe if all goes well he will join the elite 5% non-West African club of sub-10 sprinters.

You are a real joker to rhatid. LOL.

5% non-West African club of sub-10 sprinters.........lol..or maybe the 95 % of the West african club population can migrate to Britain, assimilate into the economic upper & middle class and still dominate the 100 m...lol

Claffy !

A crash course in statistics is recommended.

Fast twitch genes a dweet!

The same topic was debated on CNN a couple days ago , using MJ as reference , they lambasted him to death, they then remarked the same thing was said about african americans and baseball, now its being dominated by hispanics, totally different sport, they also used basketball and said you will most likely find europeans competing in the NBA for a position, but you get the point by the guest.Pity they didnt use boxing.

Poverty , systems , exploitation, oppourtunity and little bit of a good gene , irrespective of it being fast twitch or west african will dominate a sport.It just so happens the west african gene dominate the poverty % in certain sports.

Boxing, Football, T&F, etc etc. thats the fact.Cant say the same for soccer though, seems to be a straight tussle.

More White people than Black people are on food stamps in America..

BTW the west african gene dominates the prison system % population wise , does that make us more violent as a people, guess which population is competing with the gene for prison population dominace ? hispanics and you cant argue they share the same genes like west africans which you can directly link to slavery.Hispanics are multinationals, puerto ricans, mexicans, colombinas etc etc.

The common denominator in prison is poverty! Same crap in the U.K where we are a minority % of the general population.The gene dominates that, for you or anyone to make an assesrtion based on stats without looking at other factors , leaves you looking ,well lets say not good.

One in 100 black adults now in jail
                      Home Office figures spark fears of American-style penal system
                      Share 6

Email
                      Martin Bright, home affairs editor
                      The Observer, Saturday 29 March 2003 19.44 EST
                      One in every 100 black British adults is now in prison, according to the latest Home Office figures.
                      A recent crackdown on guns, drugs and street crime has led to an explosion in the number of prisoners from an Afro-Caribbean background, who now account for one in six of all inmates.

The figures have sparked fears of an American-style penal system, where black men are 10 times more likely to go to prison than whites and one in 20 over the age of 18 is in jail.

The number of black prisoners in Britain's jails has risen 54% from 7,585 to 11,710 since Labour came to power.

The figures are likely to reopen the debate about violence and crime in black street culture. Prison reform organisations last night warned the police and the courts not to target young black men in the battle against street crime.

At 16% of all those in jail, the number of black prisoners is hugely disproportionate to the general population, where African and Caribbean people make up just 2% of the total.

Recent initiatives to tackle drugs and street crime are thought to have driven this rise.

Experts believe a shift in focus in the criminal justice system from domestic burglary to street crime has combined with targeted gun and drug crime policies to alter the ethnic balance of convictions.

Traditionally, white males carry out a far higher proportion of burglaries, whereas police often believe street crime to be the preserve of young black men.

The policy of releasing short-term prisoners on tags, which is thought to favour white prisoners, may also partly explain the figures.

The findings will raise fears of racial unrest in the prison system. The Prison Service has been sitting on a report from the Commission for Racial Equality on racism in prisons since last December and is yet to announce a date for its publication. The report is thought to uncover systematic prejudice in the system, where black prisoners from inner-city areas are often moved to parts of the country where there are no black prison officers.

Parliamentary answers to Liberal Democrat Home Affairs spokesman Simon Hughes showed that the black prison population had risen to more than 11,000 by last June, a rise of 1,800 on the previous year. Since then the rise has continued unabated and is likely to top 12,000 by the end of the year.

Hughes said: "This is a hugely worrying trend which should be ringing very loud alarm bells. Down this road lies the American failure where there are significant numbers of the black community spending lengthy periods in prison.

"In this country, higher numbers excluded from school and out of work are bad enough. A massively high proportion of black adults in prison and disconnected from mainstream society is both prejudicial and dangerous."

Oona King, Labour MP for Bethnal Green and Bow, said: "Given that my father is African American, I am very conscious of the fact that a quarter of all black men under the age of 26 are in jail. We are nowhere near that in Britain, but I hope these figures will force people to reflect on the effect of the level of school exclusions, low academic achievement and increasing drug abuse on black communities. At the same time we need to develop a penal system that rehabilitates rather than just punishes."

Last year's rise coincides with a street crime initiative launched in March by Home Secretary David Blunkett, which focused on the 10 police areas that accounted for more than 80% of street crime.

The Government claimed the initiative led to a 16% drop in offences in the target areas - but it also led to a 10% rise in the number of people remanded in custody.

Frances Crook, director of the Howard League for Penal Reform, said: "There is a growing perception that street crime is a black people's crime, when it may simply be that they are more visible to the police and the courts.

"The courts are picking up on low-level antisocial behaviour on the streets because young black men have nowhere else to go either because they are poor or because it's part of the culture to be on the streets.

"Direct racism has been replaced by code. 'Young men with their hoods up' often means young black men and 'street crime' simply means 'black crime'."

A Home Office spokeswoman said: "We are aware of this situation and while we have this data it doesn't tell us why this is happening and whether this is caused by prejudice or because ethnic minorities suffer from other factors which cause an increase in crime."

She said a new unit had been set up to work across the criminal justice system to identify why the rise has happened and develop a programme to tackle the disparity.
                      Last edited by Sir X; July 10, 2012, 10:25 AM.

Honestly I expect this nonsense from Ben but not you ...A must watch documentary ,interesting on what he says about immigration,race and the prison system..Genes..lol

http://billmoyers.com/segment/khalil...r-racial-past/

So white people muss poorer than black people den? Simple logics.

Sigh.

Digital Yard train really have a lot of ground to cover.

If you want to go look for a gene for criminality that is on you. Good luck.

I am sticking with sprinting.....fast twitch genes a dweet!

Based on your stats, you are officially a Benist ..lol...yuh know wha ,that fast twitch gene were once slaves that built empires, Based on certain stats they would make good ones again.