Jamaican Olympic team announced

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
    The flag belongs to the people and if she is just going to be another "has entered" then that is not in keeping with our long summer olympis tradition.
    this tradition is limited to the sprints ? joke ting !

Too colonial for comfort. LOL.

ReggaeDoc a de best!

Ok, I've come around on this issue, especially since we have brought ballers into our football team as mercenaries, eg Marcus Gayle. Gayle did not participate in any WC qualifyting matches and was brought into the team after they qualified for France '98.

What you guys fail to realize is that in order to represent the country, an athlete have to first make the qualifying standard. Why should the JOC deny a qualifying athlete from representing us - because we have no tradition in the event? If that was the case, then Wellington (if my memory serves me correctly) wouldn't have won us the medal in cycling. Why send a bobsled team to the Olympics? Why send our swimmers? Why not complain about the martial arts representative? Why send Maurice Smith to contest in the decathalon? Or Mason, Smikle and Scott to participate in the shot putt and discus? While we are at it, we should have given James Beckford's spot to a boxer. Deon Hemmings was also a waste of time, now that I think about it.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Cyclist - David Weller. Bronze medallist 1980.

You nuh memba the start of the song "One Wheel Wheelie" by Early B?

Next ting you will be advocating dancehall women to participate in syncronized swimming, but mi ago mek it pass.

ReggaePhD, I was thinking the same when i read the list. No Boxers!!?

I am sure Jamaica could put together a good Aquatics team....

Badminton, Table Tennis and weight lifting are other events that should be looked into for the next Olympics.

Jangle's Point....

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  Next ting you will be advocating dancehall women to participate in syncronized swimming, but mi ago mek it pass.
                  Hortical, I know you’re being sarcastic, but I’m also sure you realize that Jangle has an excellent point! Look also at his very relevant examples.

My (2009?) Sports Power Argument

ReggaePhD, I was thinking the same when i read the list. No Boxers!!?

I am sure Jamaica could put together a good Aquatics team....

Badminton, Table Tennis and weight lifting are other events that should be looked into for the next Olympics.
                    Remember that thread I started about two or three years ago in which I tried to show that Jamaica is NOT a “regional sports power”? I tried to show on that occasion that rather than being a Caribbean sports power (a title I reserve for Cuba), the reality is that Jamaica is a track (and field?) and netball (and to some extent, cricket) power.

Respect H. Boxing and cycling are sports that we have had modest success in, also boxing is a great avenue for poorer kids to get involved in, and even persue as a profession.

Yep. Leggo the yutes them with cycling and boxing. Forget the damn drassage and horse jumping horse crap.

Not at all. We have produced highly competitive boxers like Mike Mccallum, and cyclists like Xavier Mirander, and Wheller. Name me one drassage or horse jumping competitor that has done us proud in the olympics apart from the pride of participating?. Nothing agaist the young lady, or old lady for that matter(never heard of her), but I not saying that she shouldn't enter or be selected for the team, but what I am saying is that a country like Jamaica should place a priority on boxers and cyclists over horse jumping. We have a long tradition in those sports.

Boxing is no longer a lucrative sport for poor kids since rankings no longer have àn importance and also since the rise of MMA. They stand a better chance at t&f even outside of sprinting. Look atou
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I guess becaues I am a boxing fan...I always toy with the idea of investing in a boxing gym in Jamaica. i just think this could go a long way.

Boxing is no longer a lucrative sport for poor kids since rankings no longer have àn importance and also since the rise of MMA. They stand a better chance at t&f even outside of sprinting. Look atou
                                I maintain that boxing is still a great outlet for any community 'specially poor ones.

I have checked out MMA and I am not hooked. Not saying it is not entertaining. The 'sweet science' still pulls the biggest crowds.