• Ramdin fined

Ramdin fined for scrawled jibe at legend Richards in Edgbaston Test

By SPORTSMAIL REPORTER
    PUBLISHED: 16:46, 11 June 2012 | UPDATED: 16:46, 11 June 2012

West Indies wicketkeeper-batsman Denesh Ramdin has been fined 20 per cent of his match fee by the International Cricket Council for the way he celebrated his century on day four of the third Test against England.

On completing just his second hundred at Edgbaston in 44 five-day matches, Ramdin held up a sheet of paper, which read: 'Yeah Viv, Talk Nah'.

The move, thought to be a reaction to criticism Sir Viv Richards levelled at Ramdin last month, has found little favour with the ICC, who found the 27-year-old guilty of breaching their code of conduct.

Disrespectful: Denesh Ramdin responded to criticism from West Indies legend Viv Richards

He was charged on Monday morning with a Level 1 offence, contrary to clause 2.1.8 (a), which relates to 'conduct contrary to the spirit of the game'.

There was no need for a formal hearing, however, with Ramdin pleading guilty to the charge and accepting the punishment.

Richards took a dim view of the Trinidad man's actions, telling the BBC's Test Match Special: 'It's like in a football match ... if you are losing 5-0 and you score a goal in the 90th minute, you shouldn't be running around jumping for joy.

Legend: Richards (middle left) seems to be held with high regard by most of the West Indies players

'I wouldn't be happy with that. I set my standards a bit higher. It's been a long time coming. If you are good enough, the chances certainly are you are going to get it done.

'Let's not forget it's in a losing cause. Scoring a hundred when you are the team winning, that's excellent stuff.'

Richards' former fast-bowling team-mate in West Indies' all-conquering team of the 1970s and 1980s Michael Holding also made clear his disdain for the hand-written note.

'If I was the manager of the team I would be having a word with that player, and he would be getting a fine,' Holding added on Sky.

'I am not saying this because he [Richards] was my former captain - that is simply unbecoming behaviour from a player.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/cri...#ixzz1xWEFRXBJ

The fine seems to be fair punishment. He didn't do anything offensive enough to earn a suspension in my opinion.

Shldn't fine him...he just need a b- - c - slap...

Him did need dat from before him did hold up the paper, Lol.

As I said he should have held up a paper saying "Thanks Viv"... (for setting me straight)... now he will have to make sure he makes a decent score every time he walks out there...

and as a next man said, Sammy shouda have nuff paper fi hol up when him mek him century last match! LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPO88...eature=g-all-u

well, I wouldn't go as far as all of that as punishment as he suggests but if the WICB were to demand a public apology from anyone to anyone else, this act certainly would be one that requires such IMO. It is the least he should do if he hasn't done so already.

Dat might bi di psychological mind game di influential past playahs of di past haffi play wid wi current failing batsmen fi get dem fi respond. Nutten wrong wid di message, di good ting him get di hundred, I hope now him continue fi produce di said way. At least him a listen, although dis happen inna a meaningless test match so to speak.

If I were Ramdin I would claim that is in fact what I did...who is anybody to tell me what I mean by "Yea Viv...talk nah"?

You is Trini? Allyuh dont know nuttin bout how Trini talk .

That would be my defence...you are going to tell me what I meant to say? I was thanking Viv for his utterances which helped me lift my performance

The problem with that defence is his facial expression and gesticulation towards the press box did NOT look like a man who was appreciative of constructive criticism; did man did look well vex!

Maybe all the former greats should choose one member of the current team to pick on. LOL.