Btw I do this for fun, but truly I want to see change and I feel performance culture is one fundamental and easily achievable and non costly improvement we can make to the football culture, I really want to see the Rspl have al those stats published at the end of each weeks round for every player on every team on a website. So matches played, cumulative minutes played, average mins per match, yc, rc, goals. Assists, shots taken, sog gf, ga, goal differential ratio for team, wins losses and draws, would love more, but that is a start, every round at the end of each round cumulative to that round, we talk to it, know who is doing what etc, they talk about it, we see a youth come in to a country side and start dripping a bunch of assists we say wait, a wha ah Gowan, right now we don't even publish assists data.
Top 25 batsmen all time - ranked!
Performance measurement?
First see as many interesting (performance wise) players as possible
Select those who appear to fit into your system
Play them as often as possible in different tactical situations simulating your intended competition A game opponents and their betters
Iterate based on your observed feedback of outcomes
Again...Play them as often as possible in different tactical situations matching your intended opponents
Select your best team
Individual player statistics ala baseball play a role...but the SYSTEM RULES..... mi haffi si how the unit operates...that's the bottom line
The combination of the statistically so called "best" players is most often not the "best" team.... that is a situational construct ie.. "best" or "most optimal" varies by circumstanceTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Alright i like that, but the first part is key, how do you identify and isolate the best, this is the massive issue we are having right now, we probably have 100-200 worthy players to look upon, how do we narrow that funnel wise so the best are sleected based on some performance criteria, now guys are getting a shot at the team and there is no rhythm or rhyme on how some were selected. Set up the criteria and select based on that criteria, so everybody know where them stand.
Man like Tuffy anderson scoring 14 goals, feel like well, he is number one but has no idea of what else he can do to get called, set the criteria if they meet the criteria then they get called and get a shot at a little game and build up from there based on performance with the guys called and how they perform when called for national duty.
This is one of the best things you can do anywhere, especially where humans are working hard to perfect their craft, so that is similar whether in a factory, among Janitors, a football team road construction workers whatever, what are the rules of engagement relative to work, performance and reward.
Set the standard and you will find guys working harder than ever, everybody need a little carrot, but when the carrot is only given to special connections or somehow it is unclear how they got the carrot you are sowing the seeds of dissent and malcontent and your system will not grow.
So agree with all you say but it is the first part of identification of talent based on performance and then the rest as you say.Last edited by Stonigut; June 3, 2012, 11:42 AM.
Actually stoni, as long as there is no carrot there is no apparent objective criteria. If age is an issue say so BUT they know that would be nonsense. If it is disciplinary issues, again say so. But I agree, players need to know how they are to be assessed.
On that note there are several football related programmes which can provide some empirical data on more tangible and measurable information related to things like tackles passes and success within those disciplines. JFF should invest in that as it may also be used for continuous assessment. Simoes had someone doing that back in the day but the quality of those programmed have rapidly evolved
Yes gamma, that is what I am talking bout, however we have to creep before we walk and consistently and cumulatively and using averages measure those things tat are pretty easy to measure, games played, minutes played, goals, assists, shots taken, shots on goal, yc, rc, goal difference ratio etc, I can do that by myself in oe match, passes per player, tackles per play require more resources and is tough to keep up consistently across a poorly funded league, but the other stuff is cheese, as you also say, discipline is a key one and you can really use that to eliminate many Contenders without raising an eyebrow and focus on the fundamentals, much of these nonsense discussions we have about who better, the guy with 10 assists and five goals or the guy With the wicked defense splitting pass he has unleashed once every year. The players know the deal, and it is up to them to improve, argument done!
But just tracking those simple ones consistently is the first and most important step and then we can start measuring apples to apples , I can't even find assists anywhere in any Jamaican stats, the most critical stat for our midfielders, seeing how every body bows down and worships at the altar of the defense splittting pass which is a one in many possibilities, I prefer to stretch the defense With a pass using speed and
Placement you can do that one every two attempts with the fast player and skilled player, the fancy stuff is for the circus or the truly skilled, we don't have too many of the latter, maybe that is why we see hue and Daley as being so good but when they go out there they are not good enough.Last edited by Stonigut; June 3, 2012, 01:47 PM.