congrats marlon... century well deserved...

How can he be much better when Sammy has a better bowling record than he has. Mussi the cold weather over there a mad you.

If you talking about playing someone at number 6, then yes Bravo is more suitable. At number 8, he hasn't done anything to warrant a place over Sammy

Originally posted by Me View Post
      The man is playing at number 8 and has been bowling well enough to merit his place. Not to mention we getting more runs than we get from a player there. When him play at number 6, then you and the other British can make up noise bout how him nuh make any runs.

Furthermore him just finish average 30 with the bat in the Australia series and you same one call him liability. better you run way with that.
      Sammy average 30 because he IS better technicallyt thna a number 8... you keep harping on this bowler position... HE IS THE ALL ROUNDER in the team! no two ways about it ...wha him do? seek to pad him average (the cynic in me speaking) by batting with the REAL bowlers and come not out... Sammy nuh fool... but no way with his BATTING ability (once he corrects the batting deficiencies between the ears) he should be at 8.. no way...

When Taylor made a 100 a few years back in NZ that was a bowler doing the unusual (Sammy IS NOT in that category)... Sammy CAN make better scores than his average A . IF he (as I said before) begins to understand what batting in TESTS entails and B. bats higher up the order...

"Technically".

Darren Sammy's FIRST CLASS batting average is 23. His first class bowling average is 27. From there you can figure why him make the team. Not because he is a batsman who can do some bowling (eg. Bravo). It is because he is a bowler who can do a little thing with the bat.

We have an expensive non wicket taking bowler opening our bowling yet people have the nerve to say is Sammy messing up the balance playing at #8.

i thought baugh deserved an oppty... he was making runs in the regional... ramdin wasnt making any runs... regional or senior side... baugh got his oppty and did as ramdin did with the bat... nothing... kept decent but didnt contribute with bat... now ramdin get his job back... same ole same ole...

what did you want me to say about sammy runs... he got them, west indies needed them... i thing sammy was lucky with his approach... 9 out of 10 times with that approach, he wouldnt last 5 overs... good for him and i want him to achieve his maiden century... mi nah hate...

So what are you saying.. Sammy averaging 30 v the Aussies was a buck up? While I gave an explanation of where he batted ( admittedly tongue in cheek)...it demonstrates that what he can do and it is NOT " just a little thing". If he is strictly a bowler, why did they put him to bat at number three vs the Aussies in the POS test? when we had a (remote) chance to chase the score? and since you want to point at his average in that series his BOWLING average was 40!... no one, only Sammy, will convince me that he is strictly there as a bowler who can bat a little... I repeat technically Sammy is a batsman too, who, once he reins in his natural instincts could do well with the bat.

Here is what he said about his own performance today: " A lot of balls that could've been hit for the boundary I left them alone." So , we know his mindset which he controlled today... i guarantee if he had followed his instinct he would be back in the pavilion long time...he is not Viv Richards by any means but he is no rabbit... his bowling is adequate and he has now raised his average from 17.9 at the first Aussie test to 21.5 in this one.. not bad going at all ... for simply a bowler...

How can he be much better when Sammy has a better bowling record than he has. Mussi the cold weather over there a mad you.

If you talking about playing someone at number 6, then yes Bravo is more suitable. At number 8, he hasn't done anything to warrant a place over Sammy
              No need to be disrespectful boss, Sammy is holding down the allrounder spot in the team he is averaging 21 in test cricket with the bat and 31 with the ball, anyone who know much about cricket will tell you that Sammy is just an average bowler and is just taking up one of the bowling slots The balance of the team would be better if Bravo came in batted at 6 then we could bring in another strike bowler to get us winning games again. Bravo is averaging 32 with the bat with 3 test 100's and multiple 50's he also has the knack of taking wickets and would be ideal as our allrounder.

avg. drop to 19.5 with the out...

Correction.... That quote regarding balls being hit to the boundary was Samuels... my apologies Mr Sammy... see the article here: Quote of the day no. 2

http://www.espncricinfo.com/england-...ry/566219.html

And his bowling average was still better than some others.

Him is a better batsman than most number 8. However, he is a big man and his first class average shows that he is not much more than a slogger. Him into his prime now, so him average should jump up a few runs.

I notice you conveniently leave out Bravo's bowling average because Sammy is the BETTER PERFORMER in that department. I don't even know if we can even afford to have Bravos. His batting has been absent at the one day level and he hasn't done anything of note in ages.

Sammy has been performing BETTER than Fidel Edwards, so I am not sure he is taking up a bowling slot. If the West Indies had bowlers who actually performed, then I would say yes, Sammy can only make the side as a fourth seamer. Unfortunately that is not the case.

I notice you conveniently leave out Bravo's bowling average because Sammy is the BETTER PERFORMER in that department. I don't even know if we can even afford to have Bravos. His batting has been absent at the one day level and he hasn't done anything of note in ages.

Sammy has been performing BETTER than Fidel Edwards, so I am not sure he is taking up a bowling slot. If the West Indies had bowlers who actually performed, then I would say yes, Sammy can only make the side as a fourth seamer. Unfortunately that is not the case.
                        One thing i am sure of if a batsman is doing is job properly then there is no way Sammy should get his wicket with those lolipop delivery's, there is no way anyone can tell me West Indies cant find a better bowler than Sammy and Edwards. These selectors are incompetent that is why we cant win test matches.

Have you been watching West Indies recently? Tino Best was a nightmare. Ravi been injured half his life. Taylor stop play cricket, Richardson and the board are at odds. Gabriel gone back home, Cotterel has talent but has taken many wickets regionally. Is where you plan to pick the bowlers from. Most "fast " bowlers in the region are pathetic. That is why we have been struggle to bowl out teams for the past ten years.

Andre Russell will hopefully be very productive at the 4 day tournament (if he makes Jamaica's team) and hopefully force his way into the team.

" A lot of balls that could've been hit for the boundary I left them alone."
                            actuall, it was marlon who said that... here is the entire quote,
                            "James Anderson should know I am batting for the team. A lot of balls that could've been hit for the boundary I left them alone. But when I get a double tomorrow, I would like James Anderson to say something to me," he said afterwards with a big smile, as the England Player of the Year stood in the background.