London 2012: Is track & field dying in the US?

• London 2012: Is track & field dying in the US?

If a sporting event takes place, but ESPN SportsCenter does not see it, did the event really happen?
    That is a philosophical conundrum many US Olympians find themselves pondering as they wait for their fortnight in the spotlight to come around again.
    Their apparent invisibility was a topic that kept coming up at Team USA's "media summit" in Dallas this week.
    Swimmer Jessica Hardy described it best when she told me "most Americans think we only race once every four years, which is frustrating given how hard we work".
    But nowhere is that frustration more keenly felt that within the mighty US athletics team.
    Continue reading the main story

I wouldn't say it's dying but it's always been one of the smaller sports

Sanya Richards-Ross
    At least the swimmers can lay claim to the undisputed daddy of the US Olympic scene, Michael Phelps. And it is not as if swimming gets huge coverage anywhere else in the world, apart from Australia perhaps.
    But athletics, or track and field, does get media attention elsewhere. It is also quick to remind every other sport that it is the most important, popular and purest of the Olympic disciplines.
    So why is it so hard to find any athletics news in the world's athletics superpower?
    The day before Allyson Felix arrived in Texas for a marathon of interviews and photo shoots, she had recorded the fastest 100m of the season in Qatar, beating the reigning Olympic champions at 100m and 200m in the process.
    Worth a story, you might have thought, particularly when you consider that Felix's compatriot Justin Gatlin - a double Olympic champion - had done the same thing in the men's race.
    But when the eight-time world champion took the stage with seven other track and field stars at the Dallas summit, it seemed as if it was up to her to break the news as well.
    This is probably what prompted 400m hurdles world champion Lashinda Demus to provide the most memorable soundbite of the entire gathering.
    "When we get on the track we know we are taking part in a dying sport," she said to the visible alarm of every listening employee of the sport's governing body USA Track and Field (USATF).
    But with the "dying sport" cat out of the bag and running free, Demus's team-mates were asked for their views on the matter when eight media "huddles" formed after the main press conference.
    Wallace Spearmon, another world champion and 200m specialist, clearly did not get the urgent USATF memo because he picked up where Demus left off, explaining how whole tiers of American track and field athletes were giving up, unable to make it pay, or even get the meets.
    The dust had settled somewhat, however, by the time I got a chance to put this to Sanya Richards-Ross.
    cont @http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/olympics/18083154

But even when they were totally dominant they did not get much coverage.

I don think it will die as a sport in the US, but I think it will not thrive on the national level either. The good news is that the US sports market is not the only game in town.

The truth is the yanks could dominate if they wanted to...

it is just that they care barely more for t&f than they do for cricket!

there was a time when the men's 100M Olympic champion and the heavyweight champion of the world were the two most important figures in world sport.

when that was so...they were both invariably americans.

t&f athletes in america are their third or forth tier.....waaaaay behind football and basketball and baseball.

The 100M Olympic Champion is the most important figure in world sport...

True. And unless you are a top 10 star in an event there is really not much money to be made.

Marathon runners do OK because but otherwise it is a tough career sport.

For about 4 weeks every 4 years.

Interesting articles....now what is your point?

Look at the dates...4 weeks every 4 years? Try again...whenever Usain Bolt (the 100M Oly Champ) runs it is big news...when he picks up a Cheetah it is big news...when he drives a Ferrari it is big news...did all of this occur in an Olympic year?

And in your mind this makes Usain Bolt the most important man in sports worldwide today?

And you also believe Usain Bolt is a typical Olympic 100m champion?

Ah well.....I guess my Critical Thinking series can't work miracles.

Is Usain Bolt the current 100M Olympic Champion? Who is the most important man in sports worldwide today?

Its debatable but its not Usain. He might be for a while after this Olympics if he does something really special again this year.

If I was trying to determine the most important figure in sports I would look at the athletes with the :

- Most endorsements earnings (Usain does not factor)

- Largest Social media presence (Usain does not factor)

- Most recognizable (in the league but not at the top)

- Highest income (Usain does not factor)

- Most valuable brand (Usain not a top player)

Usain is a phenomenal athlete but Track and Field is in the minor leagues as far as professional sports is concerned

And again, we are talking about Usain who is special. The typical 100M Olympic Champion is not.

Its debatable but its not Usain. He might be for a while after this Olympics if he does something really special again this year.

If I was trying to determine the most important figure in sports I would look at the athletes with the :

- Most endorsements earnings (Usain does not factor)

- Largest Social media presence (Usain does not factor)

- Most recognizable (in the league but not at the top)

- Highest income (Usain does not factor)

- Most valuable brand (Usain not a top player)

Usain is a phenomenal athlete but Track and Field is in the minor leagues as far as professional sports is concerned

And again, we are talking about Usain who is special. The typical 100M Olympic Champion is not.
                        Nobody at the top of their sport is the "typical" anything...so dat nuh mek it...in 2009 the most searched for athlete on Google was David Beckham with Tiger Woods second and Usain Bolt third...what order do you think they come in today? Give you one guess...was Tiger Woods the "typical" golfer in 2009?
                        Last edited by Bricktop; May 18, 2012, 01:22 PM.

Tiger is/was not the typical golfer and thats why he took the sport to a new level in terms of earning power.

Usain is not a typical track star, he is one of the greatest EVER. Yet he still struggles to make any kind of list of top earning athletes for any year since he has been dominant. There is no major industry surrounding the Usain Bolt brand. No fault of his, maybe no fault of anybody.

So again, the original statement that the 100m Olympic champion is by some definition the most important athlete in the world, that is nonsense. That person is typically on top of the sports world during the Olympics and about a month after, and that is about it.

Go back to the articles posted...none were during an Olympic year...you still can't tell me who is the most important athlete in the world...obviously the most important athlete in the world will not be the "typical" athlete in his sport...all I hear you talking about is money...so according to you Floyd Mayweather is the most important athlete in the world